We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine!”
Review of Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorado Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
china
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just fine!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night between staying at an Amazon lodge and waiting for our return flight to Lima. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a suite room on the 3 rd floor and they added 2 single beds for our children in the lounge area. These were bought up to the room without any hassles and extra towels were supplied without being requested. breakfast was a little basic, but we found this to be the case throughout Peru, and breakfast here was so much better than at some other places we stayed in Peru. Tip: request a room towards the back.. Our room was at the front and the otel is across the road from a casino which was noisy until 4 am.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    47
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
19
33
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lima
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed 4 days in Iquitos and liked it. Very close to the main square, kind staff. If you are looking for a 3 stars good hotel, this might be the right place.

Room Tip: Ask for big windows (Iquitos weather is usually hot all over the year)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swjiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

To start with the good things: Rooms are clean, but ours had a window only into the hotel corridor, which is firstly rather dark and secondly not very quiet. Also, our room was already a bit worn-off; some simple maintenance work should be done. Location is very central, just some meters off the Plaza de Armas. And the free internet is easily accessible.
That's it with the good aspects. Now the bad ones: From the first minute of our stay, the staff at the front desk left a very bad impression. And yes, I mean: VERY bad. We were treated rather as somebody preventing the staff from resting than geusts who are respected and treated in a friendly way. Examples: Arriving after a ong journey at the hotel some time in the afternoon, we wanted to take a shower, but there were no towels. We asked for towels - nothing happend for half an hour. We asked a second time - and got towels, but accompanied by unfriendly remarks of the front desk staff. We had no drinking glass in the room. We asked for two, got at first none, secondly one and finally, asking once more, the second one - again not without unfriendly treatment. At breakfast, the same impression: Waiters stand around; being greeted by us, they even didn't answer the greeting (not to think of them greeting first!); we were served, yes, but again with this "Why do you bother me?"-attitude, unfriendly, slowly and without politeness. Checking out, the treatment by front desk staff was again unfriendly and, in addition to that, totally incompetent: The man handling our check-out procedure took at least five phone calls during that time, just letting us stand around waiting. Coming to payment, he wanted to make us believe that credit cards don't work, though we agreed with the same man on this form of payment one day before. Finally, we made it to pay by credit card, but this was handled completely unprofessionally, took us lots of time and gave us a last impression of the unfriendlyness of the staff that accompanied our whole stay in this hotel.
Given all these impressions, the hotel is overpriced. Though it decorates itself with three stars, it deserves none - the behaviour of the staff destroyed each of them!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBlaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Iquitos hotels

Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here (room 309) enroute to Ceiba Tops Lodge on the night of 28th February 2010. It was clean and functional, but not brilliant. It is well located 5 minuted from the square, I'd stay again. Good Value, but not flash.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Excellent location near the main square. Very small swimming pool in the courtyard, but nowhere to lay down to enjoy the sun (around noon). Friendly and helpfull staff. Don't take their advise though on restaurants to visit. Very simple breakfast. Officially till 10am, but around 9am most baskets are empty. Please note that currently (August 2009) the hotel is under construction. Lots of noise between 9am and 8pm. If you like to sleep in, avoid this hotel until they finish (september 2009?).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

5 star my butt. 3 star at the most. the rooms are not bad but, over priced. the food is bad and very overpriced. the door man (Jaime) is a con man and a crook. he stole money from me. in one word---BEWARE

  • Liked — the front desk workers
  • Disliked — the door man (Jaime is a crook and con man)
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank easy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We stayed in Iquitos for a week, 4 nights at the El Dorado Hotel.

I must say I was very disappointed. Room was ok, but service was weak , staff very impersonal and breakfast is a shame.

A very strange and original point is that they organized a birthday party on saturday night, and therefore it was almost imposible to sleep.

But the worst was the fact that the price they finally charged was higher than the price appointed the first day.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bourbaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Palau Amazonas Hotel
Palau Amazonas Hotel
#6 of 27 in Iquitos
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amazon Apart Hotel
Amazon Apart Hotel
#20 of 27 in Iquitos
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#12 of 27 in Iquitos
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golden Star
Hotel Golden Star
#27 of 27 in Iquitos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Hotel

Property: Dorado Hotel
Address: Jr. Napo 362, Iquitos, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Isabel Hotel Iquitos
El Dorado Isabel Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing