We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crying over spilt milk”
Review of Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorado Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My father broke a glass at breakfast, and el dorado staff proceeded to harass him and cause a scene (including bringing in 2-3 staff at once) to tell him he must pay for the glass. What a horrible experience and my father was made to feel like a criminal and also pay for the glass. I have never been to a hotel where such poor treatment of a guest is acceptable.

Do not stay here, moldy ceilings, leaking bathroom, felt very unsafe leaving anything in the room (locked our bags when out), and dirty.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank LkKaczkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

old hotel, it's maintanance needs some renovation.
old furnitures
complimentary shuttle from/to the airport
the wireles internet is quite slow, but complimentary and working
the location is close to the main square

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here for one night before heading to Ceiba Tops, room carpet very dirty and no hot water, plus no elevator and we were on the 4th floor - was acceptable for one night and staff was generally OK, breakfast was one of the better ones, but for any length of stay there have to be better choices

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It has two attributes: 1) location and 2) an excellent restaurant. However, it you are not able to converse with the front desk in Spanish, GOOD LUCK! I try my best with my "tourist Spanish", but while travelling, I have always relied on the staff at a first rate hotel to speak English. Not so here. Checking out took over an hour.Then we were sent to the airport five hours before our flight. Trying to interact with the front desk staff was hopeless. In addition, they claimed that "Mastercard was slow" when trying to process our credit card. Our ship in the harbor had no such problems.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the square are noisier, but more interesting for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been travelling to Iquitos for the last 3 years and this is the hotel that my company books for us. Pros: There is a free shuttle to and from the airport. It is centrally located. Cons: If you get a room facing the street you will have to wear earplugs. Hot water (remember to try both taps in Peru because hot can be on the left or right) is hit and miss along with the A/C, the pool, towels and wifi (which is the case anywhere in Iquitos). The rooms are carpeted which is not a good idea in such a humid climate.
Skip the breakfast and go to the Yellow Rose of Texas. The coffee isn't instant and it's a good menu with lots of characters around. (Patch Adams showed up for breakfast the other day.)
Lastly, several of us have had money stolen from our bags because there are no room safes.
I suspect that that the people that rated it 3 and up got lucky and everything worked, which sometimes can happen, but I am actually fed up with the place and am encouraging the company to find other accommodations.

Room Tip: This can change, but these are the rooms that I look for 111, 411, 201, 305, 211, 205. 301 and 302 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Okay so this wasn't the el dorado but we surely couldn't afford that. The service here is excellent. The staff is very attentive to your needs and very nice. Ask for Victor Ramos and he will help with anything you need. Scheduling a tour isn't necessary. You can do things at your own pace with a Moto taxi owned and driven by Raul. He will personally take you wherever to find whatever you need. The rooms are clean but the mold and mildew concerned me. You can see they try hard to Maintain this place for the price you pay. The pool was not the cleanest for our standards but the breakfast was decent and the rooms had A/C which was a must for us. I would stay here again but would like to see the mildew gone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night between staying at an Amazon lodge and waiting for our return flight to Lima. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a suite room on the 3 rd floor and they added 2 single beds for our children in the lounge area. These were bought up to the room without any hassles and extra towels were supplied without being requested. breakfast was a little basic, but we found this to be the case throughout Peru, and breakfast here was so much better than at some other places we stayed in Peru. Tip: request a room towards the back.. Our room was at the front and the otel is across the road from a casino which was noisy until 4 am.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lalac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 29 in Iquitos
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#11 of 29 in Iquitos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 29 in Iquitos
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amazon Apart Hotel
Amazon Apart Hotel
#23 of 29 in Iquitos
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Hotel

Address: Jr. Napo 362, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Isabel Hotel Iquitos
El Dorado Isabel Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing