We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More confusion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quistacocha Zoo

Quistacocha Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.33*
and up
Full-Day Iquitos City Tour
Glen Davis, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More confusion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place and Quistacocha are the same and should not be listed separately. It is worth noting that Quistacocha Zoo is only about a kilometre from the must see ACOBIA manatee rescue centre so both can be fitted into a single excursion.
I enjoyed seeing some of the animals I had not seen in the jungle. And the grounds are beautiful. The lake looks pretty good also.
Some of the cages are distinctly on the small side, especially for the pumas. But there is another, larger, puma enclosure and it may be that they get to spend there nights in that. Those I saw in the small cage were sound asleep.
Even much better zoos than this one seem to have a blind spot when it comes to photography. Many of the cages have wire that gets in the way - the camera wants to focus on the wire and not on the animal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    242
    160
    41
    45
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Plenty to see and do as far as animal displays. The conditions were not up to US standards but it was apparent they were well taken care of. Bring your bathing suit also...there is a nice beach there to hang out and picnic. Take a motocaro from downtown..about a 20 minute ride.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Be warned this place does not care for its animals. They are in tiny, bare little cages. We felt horrible after visiting here. If you want to see animals well cared for visit pilpintuwasi butterfly farm and animal orphanage in padre cocha.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katielovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“facilities could use some upgrading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was warned that this would be a zoo and a little depressing, but hearing other travelers reviews we decided to still give it a try. well? yes some of the cages for the animals could use some maintenance or be bigger. but nothing too shocking either,
the botanical gardens were a nice stroll, and the beach at the end with the food was what made this day trip worth it. very relaxing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victorine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chachapoyas, Peru
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible conditions for animals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Well, I didn't think to go to the zoo, because I had heard it was bad, but like others here, I went because I had time after visiting the Manatee rescue center, and wanted to see these animals I missed in the jungle (otorongos and sachavaca won't be seen there!). That was a very bad idea! I'd rather see some documentals about wild life, because what I saw was just sad and depressing. First, as a foreigner I paid 9 soles, and I'm sorry to have given some money to the 'administrators' of the zoo who, said the staff itself when I told them I was chocked about the conditions of captivity of the animals, are sadly only interested in money and not in the animals or visitors. I saw some little animals without water and suffocating. Pumas, and many other species, are in tiny pure concrete rooms, disgusting... There is a lot of space around, why did they close them in so little space? It's pure mean. Well, this zoo should be closed and it should be forbiden to treat animals like that. The sandy beach is beautiful, but there are many other places to go for a swim around Iquitos without participating to this. Just don't go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank P0ugne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quistacocha Zoo also viewed

 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Quistacocha Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing