We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Amazon Rescue Center
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ecotourism; Rescue, rehabilitation and release of andangered animals; Environmental education.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Incredible little day trip. Getting there was a little tricky as not many drivers knew where it was hut I'm glad we pursued and made it there. The manatees are very well looked after and all integrated back into the wild. The guides and knowledgable and passionate. We were shown around by an English speaking Peruvian called Leo and he was awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katielovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    162
    43
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to see the endangered manatees”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a quick private tour with a very knowledgeable guide who spoke great English. We saw a rescued otter, monkeys, and endangered turtles, but the highlight of the place is definitely the endangered manatees. We saw the baby ones as well as the adult ones, and were informed about the importance of these animals in the ecosystem as well as the threats they face. The rescue center has in place measures to gradually reintroduce the manatees into the wild, and their efforts should be applauded.

We took a mototaxi for 15 sol to the rescue center, and it took us about 20 minutes from downtown Iquitos. Entry fee was 10 sol per person, and for an additional 5 sol we got to feed water lettuce and bananas to the manatees while petting them. They are very gentle herbivores and we are very happy that there is an organization doing all it can to protect this species while educating the people of their significance. Definitely a must-see if you are in Iquitos.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazonian Manatee Rescue”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our Aqua Expedition brought us here prior to going to the airport and back to Lima. A small location where rare animals are brought for rescue. The main attraction is the endangered Amazon manatee. Almost extinct, this rescue center finds injured manatees and brings them back to health before releasing them back into the Amazon. You can touch and feed young manatees. The Dallas Acquarium provides major funding for CREA

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim11502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a ton of fun with the quick tour and feeding baby manatees! Our guide was great and spoke English which was super nice to be able to ask questions! They are quite a small operation, so the tour doesn't take long but it's definitely worth it to see the baby manatees!

To get there:

You take the number 49 bus from Plaza de Armas (it runs on Arica street) for about 45 minutes. You go past the airport and ride the bus for another 15 minutes, tell the bus driver that you're going to the animal rescue center or manatee center and they should know to drop you off. The bus ride costs 1.50 soles one way, and it costs 5 soles for the tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing wildlife”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

So amazing how you can have birds (like toucans) and animals actually sitting on your arm or shoulder. These people are doing a marvellous job - well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon Rescue Center also viewed

 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Amazon Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing