We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short visit before continuing to jungle lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazon Rescue Center

Amazon Rescue Center
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ecotourism; Rescue, rehabilitation and release of andangered animals; Environmental education.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short visit before continuing to jungle lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our jungle lodge guide recommended to visit the place. You can see many animals in rehab and treatment. The guided tour was informative (altough only available in spanish when we were there)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElFede86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    151
    42
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Davis, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Confusion by reviewers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Some of the photos for this place on Tripadvisor are actually taken at ACOBIA. This one does not have manitees but it did allow me to handle a toucan, a macaw, a sloth and an anaconda - I have photos with them all. There are also freely roaming monkeys and I could have had my photo taken with those as well.
This place seems to require some form of water transport to reach. It is actually on the bank of the amazon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I thought this would be a good place to visit based on the glowing reviews here, but our experience was quite different. The centre is small, there are just a few animals to see - a couple of monkeys, one otter, some turtles, a couple of macaws and the manatees (which were well worth seeing). The tour was quick, the explanation brief. The guide told us nothing about the educative work done by the centre. (Of course the tour was in Spanish, but we had someone translating for us). We were not given sufficient time to watch the animals; and it was not possible to walk around alone. We were allowed to feed/touch the manatees but the group was large - possibly due to the fact that it was pouring with rain, and tours had been halted in a vain attempt to wait for the rain to stop. Disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We got to hold lots of exotic animals. It's a very small facility, costs very little to visit, but well worth the trip. When will you get the opportunity to hold a HUGE snake, have a parrot on your head, and hug a sloth?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sloths were awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

get up close and personal with jungle wildlife. Got to hold and the monkeys. Great experience. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon Rescue Center also viewed

 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Amazon Rescue Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing