We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to overpromise and underdeliver”
Review of Amazon Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amazon Apart Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How to overpromise and underdeliver”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Como se dice "hotel fail?"

We had high expectations coming to this hotel, based on some friends' positive experience and the hotel's beautiful website. Most expectations were destroyed in short order.

The hotel is in a rougher part of town, on top of a casino. "Ladies of the night" frequented our hotel with alarming regularity, and not just at night. The included breakfast was mostly last night's leftovers. Pool was murky, though it did finally get cleaned. Service was spotty; upon arrival they told us we didn't have a reservation. Only when we pulled out our printed reservation did they acquiesce and find us a room. To their credit, the room was clean and air conditioned. Not to their credit, the power and A/C went out one night during our stay.

The hotel website told us they could arrange several tours for us. When we arrived, their selection suddenly shrunk to two. Then it turns out I spent S/50 instead of $50 for the exact same tour they offered when I walked down to the Plaza de Armas.

Hotel van (with non-working AC) took us out to the zoo one day and we arranged for a pickup 2 hours later. When our ride didn't show up, I called the hotel and they said he wasn't coming, cuz he's ocupado. No apology, nothing. He's just not coming. And thus, my recommendation to you...if you're coming to Iquitos, don't be coming to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    86
    43
    19
    17
See reviews for
64
74
21
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed there twice, either side of a trip into the jungle. First time we had a room on the 3rd floor which was okay. Second time we had a room on the 5th floor and frankly neither of us slept much. Without aircon the room was hot and humid and it had no opening window, but he aircon was so noisy that it was keeping us awake.

Breakfasts are not great - but they were included in our room rate so we persisted in case it got better. They didn't

On the plus side though.... It has a pool, the staff are very polite and attentive, they let us store the bulk of our "stuff" with them whilst we went to the jungle at no cost and its pretty close to Belen for the "floating market".

Room Tip: Not 5th floor as we could hear other rooms' air conditioning when ours was off meaning theirs mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed there twice and I was disappointed. The rooms are clean but boxy, especially the 2nd time. It's very noisy with staff constantly moving furniture. The aircon is welcome in iquitos but it is so loud that its difficult to sleep with it and its too hot without. Our room was not ready for check in at 4 pm so we were given a free welcome drink but it could only be pisco sour and nothing else. Wifi signal is frustratingly poor and slow. To top it all, the breakfast is awful - looks like the leftovers from dinner.
On the plus side, staff are very helpful, polite and friendly

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Staying at this hotel is like playing russian roulette (and ironically there is a small casino on the bottom floor).
When we checked in we were given a room (206) that stank like a public toilet and which walls and cupboards were stained with mildew. When we complained about it and asked to change the room they sent someone up to clean the mildew off the wall with a cloth (or at least as much as he could manage) - not that really had any effect on the awful smell. We were also told that we could change rooms tomorrow but today everything was booked out. After trying and failing to get any sleep in the 'toilet room' we complained again at the reception (the receptionist had changed by that time) and immediately received a new room - suddenly it didn't even seem an issue to change. The second room (402) was really nice (apart from a window that just faced a stone wall) with a huge comfortable bed and a nice clean bathroom.

After two nights we left for a week in the Amazon to return the next week. Had a small trouble at check-out when they tried to over-charge us (they couldn’t find our Hotels.com booking receipt), but turned out fine after complaining.

We returned after a week in the rainforest looking forward to a hot shower and a nice room (I had reserved a specific one with the hotel manager) just to find they had overbooked the hotel and had no space for us (even though we had a booking over Booking.com).

After much waiting they transported us to another Hotel (Camu Camu) which was a cheap, no hot-water place, run-down place and were told that we’d be picked up the next day to get our room at AAH. Of course no one picked us up the next day and so we dragged our luggage back to the AAH where we were informed by the hotel manager that there had been a mistake and our room had actually been available the night before. We were speechless. After spending the night in some dingy hotel it turns out that the girl at the front desk was just too thick to find our room.

After that we decided to cut our stay short, rebooked our flight back to Lima and only spent one more night in the AAH. And to be fair at least they didn't charge us the night at the other hotel. However they did to charge us 130 Soles/43 USD (!!!) for our laundry – even the guy at the reception was baffled and offered to only charge 90 Soles. This is still about 5 times what you normally pay in Peru, so be warned.

Long story short: The Amazon Apart Hotel has some very good rooms (and some really horrible ones) for a reasonable price (if you only consider the rooms). But don't expect you'll get one without trouble and don’t expect a smooth stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (otherwise your window will lead into a wall) and get a room on a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Publizischt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The facility is very good, the price is affordable, I will say the best option when you go to visit the city of Iquitos. Great food, good amenities and the location is near the center block of the city. Staff is professional and friendly. A good option when you visit this area.

Room Tip: AC in higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

good ameneties, AC, near malecon and belem, staff is frendly, and they can recommend local restarutan, in hotel restaurant its ok but are better out there, the service tours U can take in this hotel, si safe an cheaper thant on the amazon king AC (froud) the city it self i did not like, but the amazonas and 3 rivers are amaising

Room Tip: take the tour service in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyr
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This clean realatively central hotel provides good ameneties --- WI-FI (a little unreliable) in room, satellite TV, clean comfortable beds, three blocks from Belen market, 10 minute walk to central square, in-hotel restaurant, several other restaurant choices close by. Several buses pass by door, shuttle service to/from airport, and never-ending stream of moto-taxis at the door ready to take you anywhere for a very reasonable price. Rooms (we had 2 bdrm suite) were VERY large. They were working on Iquito's first sewage system while we were there, so no water was drinkable if it didn't come out of a bottle (but this was true everywhere in Iquitos, not just at this hotel). There was some loud music and construction, but generally very pleasant hotel. We spent 4 nights in March/April 2012 at the hotel and are going back for 4 nights this June -- staff was very helpful and most spoke some English, although I would recommend learning some Spanish to enhance your experience in Iquitos. An excellent choice in Iquitos (remember you are 2000mi. up the Amazon in a city only accessible by boat or air, do not expect Dubai style hotels)

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the music --- higher floor. And if there is still construction ask which rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank key_man_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palau Amazonas Hotel
Palau Amazonas Hotel
#6 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Apart Hotel

Property: Amazon Apart Hotel
Address: Av. Aguirre 1151, Iquitos 232, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazon Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Our modern and friendly hotel is situated within a few minutes walk from the centre of Iquitos, the shopping street Prospero and the heart of the town, close to the tourist, commercial, financial and entertainment district.Description Hotel We offer 50 Suites and new fully equipped, one and two bedrooms Apartments very quiets, accommodating, spacious and charming, with all the modern comforts you may need for your Business or Tourism trip.Our hotel is decorated with Amazonia - Art and beautiful paintings of local artists, around the whole of the hotel and suites.You will find a sun terrace where you can enjoy the plentiful sunshine. It’s a great place to relax and unwind any time of day, as well we have a sparkling and refreshing outdoor swimming pool nicely surrounded by beautiful exotic palms and plants and the welcoming Restaurant “Amazon RestoBar” that serves typical menus for breakfast, lunch in diner and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amazon Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing