We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kick back place for a day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kick back place for a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Walter owns and runs the place. This is not for everyone. It is simple, rustic, but also the place to relax for an afternoon of reading a book, taking a swim (the pool is incredible), sipping cocktails, smelling the flowers. If you are going on an Amazon trip or to one of the lodges, this place is a perfect place to go to stay overnight and have the tour operator pick you up in the morning. Food is all prepared in their outside kitchen and is really good. They don't have a set menu, they will ask you what you would like to have prepared. He also has a 5 story tree house next to the pool

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Casa Fitzcarraldo and if it were not for the staff, I would have rated this hotel as only average. The gardens are beautiful and our rooms were very charming and clean, but there is awful construction going around that is noisy and disarming when first arriving. There is also a lumberyard across the street which smells very bad during the day.

However, the staff and food really make this hotel into a wonderful place to stay! The owner is very accommodating and friendly, although you will likely not see him much. The women who work at the front desk are really great! They are so friendly and helpful - they even had a pet baby ocelot which they let us pet! The food is amazing! We ate like kings and we found the prices very good for the quality of food we got.

Room Tip: We got the green small room - it came with two rooms and two beds and a bathroom. It was a suite! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a construction zone (July 2013). I had to close all curtains for any privacy from guests and workers passing by my windows in my ground floor room . Mahogany floors ? Mine were tiles with the so-called bathroom down a flight of stairs and no hot water to the hand-basin . The "dining room " was outside and consisted of two tables with bench seating and a jury-rigged light to eat by . The kitchen and bar were also outside and not very inviting although the food was quite good - the only saving grace !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlhballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Were it not for the exotic connection with Werner Herzog, Mick Jagger and the 1982 film, this review would be less positive. The food was great and the staff very good, but the rooms are not well maintained - the floor was filthy and the bed sheets appeared not to have been changed between guests!! In addition, our pre-paid stay was added to the account in what looked like a clumsy attempt to double bill, which left a bad feeling all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at the Casa Fitzcarraldo for one night in May 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and garden were very nice. They have a great treehouse in the garden, and when climbing in the treehouse I had a very close encounter with a sloth – fantastic! We stayed in the suite in the lower floor. It was comfortable, although a bit warm for sleeping – it would be nice to have air conditioning. The included breakfast was good. The location is a couple of kms from the center of Iquitos, but close to the port if you’re heading down the Amazon. The neighborhood around the hotel is quite poor. A moto taxi to the Plaza de Armas takes about 10 minutes and costs 3 soles. I also spent a night at a hotel in central Iquitos, which was less than half the price, had air conditioning, and was much more convenient for exploring. While I enjoyed the Casa Fitzcarraldo, especially the beautiful garden, I think I the next time I’m in Iquitos I will just stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerna, Luzern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice & quiet, with history & Fitz Carraldo Movie shown by the owner & producer Walter Saxer.

Unfortunatelly it looks like the casa has seen better days already - but still nice place, neat rooms and friendly staff.

Offered privat guided, 2-days 1 night jungle stay was - in my opinion - with about 300 US$ for 2 persons a little overpriced. I've seen better jungle by far.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

it's a little expensive, but the pool is clean and the hammocks and beautiful garden are great. unfortunately, the neighbors seem to burn a lot of trash, because a few times that i have been there, the smell of burning trash bothered me. this is probably not something that Fitzcarraldo can do anything about

Helpful?
Thank brightstar1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Property: La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing