We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely calm oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a lovely calm oasis on the edge of the mad noisy city of Iquitos. Very friendly and attentive staff and owner, made us feel welcome and satisfied every request quickly and efficiently. Excellent food at the hotel at good prices and breakfasts to big to finish. Probably the best hotel pool in Iquitos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollerskateUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Not clean; expensive; and the place is out of the way and we grew tired of flagging the cycle taxis every time we wanted to run into town. Left a book and was told they would send it - never did. The New York guy was annoying and all in all, not a good experience at all. Stay closer to town - it's cheaper and safe to walk around at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wolfmertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed in Mick Jagger's room, which was quite nice except for the bathroom, that hasn't been updated in more than 30 years and was not too clean. The outside part (pool and treehouse) are nice and invite visitors to kick back and relax. Overall I did find that we payed too much - around 250 soles when 100-150 soles would be a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Fitzcarraldo for 1 night with another family in December 2012. We booked the Fitzcarraldo because the pool and treehouse looked great, and there didn't seem to be many great options in Iquitos. What a bad decision. This place is absolutely nasty! The bathroom ceiling was covered in mildew, the steps to the bathroom were treacherous, it smelled, it was dirty, etc. The pillows were so disgusting that I slept on a rolled up bath towel. I don't think the place has been cleaned or updated since Mick Jagger supposedly stayed here in the early 1980's.

As beautiful as the swimming pool was, we wouldn't allow our children to swim in it because we doubted that it was properly maintained based on the maintenance of the rest of the property. We certainly didn't want to pick up anything before heading into the Amazon.

The only positive is that the kids loved the treehouse.

BTW...I am not a prima donna. I've stayed in all sorts of places: hostels, guest houses, palapas in the jungle, etc., but I've never seen a place this dirty.

My advice, skip Iquitos altogether! Book an early flight to Iquitos and head straight to the Amazon.

Room Tip: Go straight to the Amazon, do not stop in Iquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4WornPassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Walter owns and runs the place. This is not for everyone. It is simple, rustic, but also the place to relax for an afternoon of reading a book, taking a swim (the pool is incredible), sipping cocktails, smelling the flowers. If you are going on an Amazon trip or to one of the lodges, this place is a perfect place to go to stay overnight and have the tour operator pick you up in the morning. Food is all prepared in their outside kitchen and is really good. They don't have a set menu, they will ask you what you would like to have prepared. He also has a 5 story tree house next to the pool

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Casa Fitzcarraldo and if it were not for the staff, I would have rated this hotel as only average. The gardens are beautiful and our rooms were very charming and clean, but there is awful construction going around that is noisy and disarming when first arriving. There is also a lumberyard across the street which smells very bad during the day.

However, the staff and food really make this hotel into a wonderful place to stay! The owner is very accommodating and friendly, although you will likely not see him much. The women who work at the front desk are really great! They are so friendly and helpful - they even had a pet baby ocelot which they let us pet! The food is amazing! We ate like kings and we found the prices very good for the quality of food we got.

Room Tip: We got the green small room - it came with two rooms and two beds and a bathroom. It was a suite! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a construction zone (July 2013). I had to close all curtains for any privacy from guests and workers passing by my windows in my ground floor room . Mahogany floors ? Mine were tiles with the so-called bathroom down a flight of stairs and no hot water to the hand-basin . The "dining room " was outside and consisted of two tables with bench seating and a jury-rigged light to eat by . The kitchen and bar were also outside and not very inviting although the food was quite good - the only saving grace !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlhballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#11 of 29 in Iquitos
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 29 in Iquitos
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#14 of 29 in Iquitos
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 29 in Iquitos
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 29 in Iquitos
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: £37 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing