We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

a very odd experience....greeed by staff that didn't speak english, shown directly too our room which was clean enough but there was no air conditioning. the property was very dirty...we didn't attempt to climb up into treehouse we were too afraid it may fall apart.....after the inital greeting we never again saw another employee and had no idea how to check out when we were ready to leave. this "hotel" leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: I would pick some place closer to the square and avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kells299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Though I've seen the word used in other reviews, "oasis" is really the best way to describe this charming place with a quirky history, lovely pool and delicious food.

Iquitos is a hectic place. The largest city in the world that cannot be reached by roads, it's a bustle of loud moto-taxis, shanty neighborhoods, dusty streets, and pushy salespeople-- all under intense equatorial heat.

Fitzcarraldo is (thankfully!) out of the way of the main town center and much of the noise and traffic pollution. The rooms are light and airy, and the beds comfortable. The showers had hot and cold water and were fairly clean (we saw a few ants, but it is the jungle...)

Best of all: the pool! Nearly the best: the food! Runner up: the hammocks and well-tended, plant-covered grounds! We enjoyed floating in the pools while ordered tasty fresh fish dishes from the hotel's restaurant and later sipping cool beers in our hammocks. The gardens are filled with dozens of varieties of flowers and trees. There's also an amazing treehouse to explore.

The owner, producer from Herzog's film "Fitzcarraldo" (also note: copies of the movie are in most rooms) was helpful and accommodating. He let us leave a bag of our items in his office while we took off for the jungle, and was friendly in answering our questions.

We prefer places that have character and are relaxing, as opposed to big chains (even if they do have air conditioning.) This place delivered and we were happy with the three days we spent in this oasis of calm and beauty in an otherwise crazy city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green and blue rooms. We preferred the blue but green was just fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

'Treated' ourselves to a night here and it was shocking for what you pay. First impressions are a building site with no staff who come and welcome you/tell you about the area etc.. When we were shown to our room it does look nice, but when you look closely we started to feel ripped off. The curtains don't shut properly and are practically see through anyway, there was a thick layer of dust everywhere and most importantly - no air con. For this money we had just assumed there was air con, but it was just a fan and Iquitos is far too hot and humid for this. The swimming pool becomes a public pool as for 8 Soles anyone can use it, so it doesn't feel like your own area to relax as it was over crowded and loud. Lastly, it's quite far out of town - a definite taxi ride (about 2/3 soles) but no one knew where the hotel was which was a nightmare getting home after dinner. Much better saving your money and staying nearer to town and somewhere with aircon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 120HattieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a lovely calm oasis on the edge of the mad noisy city of Iquitos. Very friendly and attentive staff and owner, made us feel welcome and satisfied every request quickly and efficiently. Excellent food at the hotel at good prices and breakfasts to big to finish. Probably the best hotel pool in Iquitos.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollerskateUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Not clean; expensive; and the place is out of the way and we grew tired of flagging the cycle taxis every time we wanted to run into town. Left a book and was told they would send it - never did. The New York guy was annoying and all in all, not a good experience at all. Stay closer to town - it's cheaper and safe to walk around at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfmertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed in Mick Jagger's room, which was quite nice except for the bathroom, that hasn't been updated in more than 30 years and was not too clean. The outside part (pool and treehouse) are nice and invite visitors to kick back and relax. Overall I did find that we payed too much - around 250 soles when 100-150 soles would be a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Fitzcarraldo for 1 night with another family in December 2012. We booked the Fitzcarraldo because the pool and treehouse looked great, and there didn't seem to be many great options in Iquitos. What a bad decision. This place is absolutely nasty! The bathroom ceiling was covered in mildew, the steps to the bathroom were treacherous, it smelled, it was dirty, etc. The pillows were so disgusting that I slept on a rolled up bath towel. I don't think the place has been cleaned or updated since Mick Jagger supposedly stayed here in the early 1980's.

As beautiful as the swimming pool was, we wouldn't allow our children to swim in it because we doubted that it was properly maintained based on the maintenance of the rest of the property. We certainly didn't want to pick up anything before heading into the Amazon.

The only positive is that the kids loved the treehouse.

BTW...I am not a prima donna. I've stayed in all sorts of places: hostels, guest houses, palapas in the jungle, etc., but I've never seen a place this dirty.

My advice, skip Iquitos altogether! Book an early flight to Iquitos and head straight to the Amazon.

Room Tip: Go straight to the Amazon, do not stop in Iquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4WornPassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
256 reviews
1.3 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Property: La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing