We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Nostalgic Mansion in Iquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed 29 July 2010

La Casa Fitzcarraldo is a step back in time. It is a charming and spacious mansion with beautiful, lush grounds, a stunning pool, and a multi-level tree house that spirals above most of Iquitos..

As soon as we walked through the entry to the large property, the moto-taxis and traffic noise faded away. The property was peaceful and quiet except for an occasional barking dog and ringing cell phone. Ceiling fans and large windows kept the rooms comfortable.

The staff was friendly, and Walter was very helpful. We really appreciated his hospitality. Also, we enjoyed the breakfasts of eggs, juice, fresh-baked bread and a large bowl of fresh mixed fruit.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the center of Iquitos. It’s not an area for walking, but had we stayed near the Plaza de Armas we would have given up the lush surroundings and the nostalgia that is part of La Casa Fitzcarraldo.

We stayed four nights, one night in a comfortable room on the second floor, and three nights in a very large room on the first floor. Both rooms needed some bathroom repairs and general updating/remodeling.

There was plenty of hot water, but water pressure was very weak. Our reservation was for the bungalow, but it needed some plumbing repairs and was not available during our visit.

La Casa Fitzcarraldo is a one-of-a-kind property in a town that most tourists probably only visit once. It is a good place to stay for that visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank te2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

This hotel is set aback from the busy road and is therefore a quiet, tranquil, and beautiful retreat from the chaos of Iquitos' streets. The pool and tree house are beautiful. The staff were friendly and breakfast was simple, but fine.

The hotel is located about a 5 min. motokar ride from the Plaza de Armas... it's not very far, but you really can't walk anywhere from the hotel and have to rely on taking the motokars. I would have liked to stay closer to the center of town.

More on the expensive side compared to other places in Iquitos, but it's clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortstakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Very rough around the edges, but had a charm. Its nice that it is outside of Iquitos enough to have a little peace and quiet. For a little more money, I would get a room at the El Dorado Plaza (you can bargain a lot there) and visit La Casa Fitzcarraldo for a few hours (there is a small entry fee for visitors). The treehouse is cool, and there are lots of hammocks. My main complaints would be that the bathroom was dirty and the pillows reeked of old sweat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickymikeabono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Stroll through the tropical, jungle gardens of this amazing inn and you will never want to leave! The owner, Walter Saxer, was executive producer of the movie "Fitzcarraldo," and has been adding intriguing features to the grounds and hotel which lodged the stars ever since. The hotels in Iquitos are not fancy outside, but as you step through the gate of this gem, you are transformed from the city. In the entry courtyard, to the left are 2 ocelots (small spotted leopard-looking animals) and to the right is an Amazonian style garden, which encompasses every bit of space on the enormous grounds.
Once inside, the building reveals the grandeur of the historic era. Amazing colors coat the walls, fabulous wooden furniture abounds. Breakfast is shared with the few other intriguing guests lucky enough to find this spot -- French press coffee, various scrumptious breads (picked up by Walter from the local street market each morning), fruit, freshly squeezed juice, eggs any style.
We stayed in the green room which is a suite of 2 gigantic rooms, overlooking the gardens. Hot showers were a welcome plus, as many hotels in town only have cold or lukewarm. The bedding was splendid and the gigantic windows embraced the jungle beyond. The computer free for guests in the great room downstairs and the free wi-fi brings this grand dame into the 21st century.
Outside, the bar is filled with photos and interesting jungle items and art. Walter has to be the best griller in town, and the accompanying sauces are to die for! I regret taking our first meal in town, as after that we ate every meal on the premises, after seeing the fresh displays.
The 5-story palm-roofed tree-house is only one of several thatched cabanas available in the lushness which surrounds the pool. Free range chickens strut on the back of the property, and at least one macaw roams freely.
Being outside of the downtown was a big plus, as you can travel there for less than 1 US dollar on the adventurous little motocars, and you are away from all the noise. The beds were firm and comfy. The numerous staff (about a 1:1 ratio), were delighted to fulfill any wish at any time.
I toured the other hotels in town, including the expensive El Dorado Plaza (like a 3 star Best Western, albeit, a conventional hotel, if that is what you are looking for), and I would not stay in any other place than La Casa Fitzcarrado.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriHuntigntonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Casa Fitzcarraldo is a very nice place with reasonable prices. When you enter, its like entering the jungle. Vegetation and palmtrees everywhere. They have a parrot, a monkey, a jaguar, a dog and a cat. For people like me who loves animals, this is definitely the place to go. The owner is very friendly, and very very honest. If you make a conversation with him and ask him about the area, you will be surprised about the things he tells you. These are things you would never expect from a hotel owner. He is just being honest about the area and the history of the place. Other than that the food is good, and the garden has a swimmingpool and a very impressive tree house maybe about 30 meters tall with a nice view to all sides of Iquitos. A mototaxi to the centre of town is only 2 soles (little under dollar). The rooms also have cable tv with lots of soccer on:-D The only thing I did not like was that my room smelled a little old. This is of course because the house itself it old. But I would still recommend it any day!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinfromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

When the taxi pulled up to the door supposedly leading to Casa Fitzcarraldo, it seemed very unimpressive. The outside of this place is very unassuming. Once inside, however, I could see that it was very private and comfortable. The grounds were covered in lush greenery and had plenty of diversions for adults and kids alike.

I scurried up the 6-story tree house first. There was a toucan in a cage halfway up and, once at the top, I could see the neighbors' houses beyond the unassuming hedges that greeted me at the front. There's a garden out back and ocelots in front. Several dogs and cats roamed about as well. Citronella rings burned near the bar to keep mosquitos at bay.

We ate our dinner at the bar and the food was quite good. We spent the rest of the evening by the pool drinking pisco sours.

We stayed in the blue room which was very spacious and had a great view of the pool and bar. I thought the room would be too hot to sleep in without A/C, but the ceiling fan was all we needed even in October.

Breakfast consisted of eggs, juice, tea/coffee, and toast. We ate in a hurry because we were meeting our tour that morning--before breakfast was scheduled to start--but we were offered food regardless.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mijkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

La Casa Fitzacarraldo is the best place to stay in Iquitos ... house trees, great food , swiming pool, fresh coconuts, wi-fi ... just 5 minutes on motocarro from Plaza de Armas (main square) ... and plus is the place where was born the classic/cult movie "Fitzcarraldo" directed by W.Herzog ... Managed by Walter Saxer, great man and producer of the moovie!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank PabloShablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 28 in Iquitos
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#11 of 28 in Iquitos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 28 in Iquitos
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#15 of 28 in Iquitos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: £38 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing