We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Miraflores House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miraflores House
Ranked #32 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Positive things:
- Francis, who owns the hostel is fantastic. He has a real presence in the hostel and will give you great help in terms of eating out, where to visit etc. He even has DVD in each rooms explaining the map.
- The eateries and places Francis recommended visiting were well worthwhile.
- A variety of bread,including wholemeal, was a nice change from the white bread served everywhere else in Peru at the hostels
- Nightly pisco sour was lovely
- cable TV and DVD player in the rooms
- great common area with a huge selection of movies to watch
Negative things
- our room seemed like a makeshift room. It had windows into the owner's house and into the store room, but none to outside so the room was very stuffy
- lack of powerplugs in the room
- hard to sleep with the lights on in the storeroom with the window to the room
- really poor lighting in the room. Too difficult to read at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodiesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
50
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We initially stayed at Miraflores House when we first arrived in Peru and then returned at the end of our trip because of the first-rate service we received from Francis and his staff. We paid $36 for a double room with private bathroom and balcony, which is slightly more than we would normally pay, but worth every penny.

The service Francis gives is outstanding and above and beyond what is expected in any accommodation. He personally took an interest in making sure we were as comfortable as possible, had everything we needed, provided thorough information on Lima and the rest of Peru, and even offered me medicine when i felt unwell.

Each room has a TV and DVD player with a large selection of DVDs in the common area. There are also musical instruments to play and surf boards to borrow free of charge.

There is a well-equipped kitchen for guests to cook in and the facilities were the best we had seen in South America. There is even a free Pisco Sour every night at 8pm. There is a generous breakfast with selection of bread, real coffee, and unlike in most places, copious amounts of butter and jam. Tea, coffee and filtered water are also available for free all day.

There are two PCs and a laptop with free internet in addition to wi-fi. The staff are very friendly and work hard all day to ensure that the hostel is spotless. It also has the best security I have seen in a hostel. There is a good selection of local amenities with supermarkets, restaurants, shops, bars, and a cinema nearby.

It was one of the best hostels we stayed at during our nine months round the world trip - I really can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

We only had one night in Lima, and did very well to end up with Francis and team at Albergue Miraflores House.
Francis took the time to explain the interesting places to visit and eat around the city, and nothing was too much trouble. And when something about our onward bus journey didn't sound right to him, he got on the phone, got to the bottom of it, and saved us a wasted trip to the bus station. All with a smile and a laugh.

Most other things about the hostel were similar to most others I've been to, but Francis' service and attitude really made the difference. I would return if heading back to Lima.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriskyDingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miryang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We just got back from visiting family in Peru. On our way out of Peru, we had the pleasure of staying at Albergue Miraflores House for 3 nights. My wife and I were accompanied my my mother who is 65 and my son who is 1.

Upon entering the guesthouse, we were greeted with the same smiles and service that we saw for our entire stay.

The owner/manager went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. He offered to go out and buy any supplies we might need for my son or to have one of the girls working there cook something special for him. He also went to the Indian market to find my mother a game that she had been looking for.

The rooms are big and the bathrooms are decent considering the age of the house. We always had water pressure and the water was nice and hot.

My mother looked forward to her nightly Pisco sour that the hotel/hostel provides.

There are quite a few restaurants near the house. The walk to Larcomar took us about 20 minutes. But, it is a pleasant walk and in a great area. No need to worry about safety.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russellsfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

No one should start or end there adventure through Peru without Miraflores House and Francis! Francis is the owner and he is the MAN! He sat down with my friends and I for over two hours and went way out of his way to help organize and streamline our trip. We wouldn't have had such an amazing trip without him. He and his friendly staff make you feel right at home. He is a wealth of knowledge about the area and all of Peru. The rooms are good, the beds comfortable, everything is clean, the water is hot, there is WiFi and two computers for your use, cable TV in the rooms....everything anyone could need. The common area is awesome, with every musical instrument for anyone to play, a nice big flat screen with a ton of DVDs (if you really wants to watch movies while in Peru?????) full kitchen for use, close to everything in Miraflores. Just a great place and even better owners. Don't hesitate in staying here. I have backpacked all over the world and this place rocks!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolyShytBigFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

A great place where I will come back again and again. It is a backpacker hostel but you feel at home. The reason is Francis, the host, who will help you with anything any time. The hostel is safe and clean, a good location in Miraflores, breakfast (loads of fresh buns with jam and coffee) is included and the great pisco sour every night is included. It is the perfect place to relax or to plan the rest of your journey and Francis will give you all the information you need.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

Great place to stay in Miraflores, Lima with close access to the best bars, restaurants and shopping in Peru. Extremely friendly staff and owner and make sure you don't miss morning briefing!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro inn
#167 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#2 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#1 of 324 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miraflores House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miraflores House

Property: Miraflores House
Address: Av Cmdte Espinar 611, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Miraflores House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for stopping by the Miraflores House!We have a higher than average rating because we have higher than average standards. Besides our great location in Lima's top neighborhood of Miraflores, we offer comfort, hospitality and - most of all - a friendly staff that's always ready to help, whenever you need it. The prices for rooms are often quoted in dollars but we accept only soles, please made your booking in Peruvian soles in these web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miraflores House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing