We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“maybe overpriced for the buffet?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Verde

Costa Verde
Ranked #509 of 2,437 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The weekend brunch buffet is so extensive that it's featured in the Guinness World Records book.
dubai
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“maybe overpriced for the buffet?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The general feeling in the group was that the Costa Verde has seen better days - and the buffet, although huge and varied - did not offer that extra something special - for a pricy restaurant. Yes - there are coupon deals around - but this is the kind of restaurant you expect quality from - not just 'good' in terms of the buffet. My recommendation, unless things change in the kitchen - would be to order less from the menu, and give the buffet a miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    164
    113
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must Go While in Lima, Peru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

All was great, no complains!
Went on Sunday as they have a show from 2-4 PM of local Peruvian dances.
Buffet is huge, and read they have Guinness record as the one with most varieties in the world.
We order a la carte - Vegetable Rissotto and Corvina; corvina fiorentina, corvina Raul....all great
Service was top class

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“OK Buffet - Great ala Carta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is typical tourist restaurant at Costa Verde (Green Coast). I ate twice here: the first time I had buffet. It was OK but not great - a lot of food with average taste and quality; quite oily and heavy.
The second time I was invited by client so I could not refuse. This time I ordered salad and grilled corvina from menu and it was fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I recommend Sunday lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I went to Costa Verde last year for a dinner buffet on a Monday. It was good but not excellent and definitely not good enough for the price. I used a coupon for it so it wasn't such a big problem. Today I gave it another try for the Sunday lunch buffet. It was really good and I would return. There were many things to choose from. I liked everything I ate, there was food made with fish, shellfish, pasta, sushi, maki and of course traditional food (comida criolla). Try the baby pig and the tiraditos. I liked very much the dessert area, there were many fruits and desserts to choose from. Don't miss the picarones. Another great thing about this buffet is that they have a live show with Peruvian music and dances.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria del Carme... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The location is the key to this restaurant. On the beach with a large white tent structure and cool ocean breezes make for great ambiance. I have gone to this restaurant a year ago and had better food and waiters so maybe just event.

The food is average quality and when pointed out to the waiter nothing was done. This is one of the more costly restaurants in Lima but the food has never equaled the value proposition or justified the view.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Verde also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing