We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Hostels
Ranked #4 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

cool place.very clean, nce rooms, great atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, Jose, Maria and Oscar helped us all the way try Oscar´s pisco sours n the roof´s bar. if you go to Lma, make sure you stay in this lttle gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicciopirrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    148
    48
    11
    3
See reviews for
12
101
137
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in the family and friends room for 10 nights at 75 soles per night. Double bed, single bed and twin bunks as well as a nice comfy lounge chair and good Internet in the room. Plenty of space to spread out and the double bed gave a comfortable sleep. Staff very helpful and arranged cheaper ticket than I could find to Cusco and also parasailing. Def take the US$20 transfer from the airport...it is a fair hike and nice to go door to door on arrival. Great location a short stroll to Park Kenbedy and local restaurants in one direction and the Larco shops on the cliffs in the other. Cafe underneath hostel was handy for a cafe and snack. ATM and laundry right next door. Supermarket a short stroll away and in house kitchen a handy feature. Water and beers also on site. Breakfast of rolls, jam, juice, cafe / tea did the trick and you also have use of fridge as needed. Shared bathroom (which I don't usually like) worked well with access to two clean toilets and 1 shower (slightly small but water always hot). Basic upstairs deck to relax on with chairs and couches. Wifi not so strong up there but workable. Lima is a bit of a party town and the worlds capital for faulty car alarms so lots of late night noises and you do hear people coming in late but that goes with the territory. You also pick up anyone speaking in the lobby or kitchen area. If you want a guaranteed quiet nights sleep than the Radisson across the road is probably best but if you are not in a hurry and like a sleep in then def nothing wrong with this place. Room was on second floor where lobby is so can't really comment on how you might go for noise on the third floor which has the outdoor deck...guess it depends on what type of crowd you had in at the time. Miraflores def the area to stay and Dragonfly worked for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. They made a mistake on our reservation, we reserved months ago asking for a 1 bed couple room, but they gave us a two beds room instead. And our "private" bathroom is connected to the public bathroom in the hallway (the wall was detached halfway from the ceiling which permits tranfer of sound and SMELL). There is absolutely no sense of privacy. The room itself is worn out, the pictures probably showed what Dragonfly use to be but it needs a remodel nowadays.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltyseaeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your comments, your opinion is always important for us.

About the room type: we gave a you room with a standard double bed (matrimonial) and extra single bed. Please notice that in Peru (and others countries in south america) the bed size for double bed is standard and usually smaller than in US where you may have more often king or queen size.

About the bathroom privacy: the main entrance door of your room (the one with a separation with the ceiling) open on a private hallway who give you access to your private bathroom trough a door and and you room trough another door. Closing both doors allow our guest to find the privacy they need. So far we never had any complain about this feature.

All our photos are updated, and all the hostel was remodeled and regularly maintained.
Our building is a traditional house from Miraflores and we've adapted the room distribution to the character of the place, it's part of our identity.

We encourage our guests to share their comments and request directly to the staff, we'll always try to please our guest and would gladly have change your room for another one (all our room are different so we would have found something).

We hope your could come back and renew your experience with us.

Sincerely,

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Dragonfly Hostels in Miraflores in Lima. First we stayed in the dorm. You have enough place, lockers and the beds are very comfortable. They serve a nice breakfast, what is included in the price! They have also a really nice terrace to hang around. In the second night we slept in a private room with a bathroom. Was also really cool, clean and comfortable.
The location is also good. You have restaurants and shops in walking distance. Only for the metrobus you have to walk like about 20 minutes.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We liked it a lot and we can only recommend this nice place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Google Translation
Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed having you here. We wait for you to come back soon.
Saludos de todo el equipo de Dragonfly Hostels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. As a family of 5 - parents and three adult children we stayed in the family room. Apart from the very hard bed our son slept in - on the second night he used his blowup camping mattress on top- everything was fantastic. We had moved from a hotel in the old town and this was significantly better and cheaper. Our room here was much nicer with lots of colour and lovely daylight. While breakfast was very basic it was the same as at the more expensive hotel. The upstairs balcony was a lovely place to both have a drink and meet people.
Dragonfly was in a safe area, close to the water and Kennedy Park and all the shops and restaurants nearby.
Best of all was the lovely staff. Friendly and incredibly helpful. They assisted us by booking accommodation up North, booking flights, making recommendations about sightseeing and stored some of our luggage for our return in two weeks. While it can be difficult to impress all 5 of us we were each individually and collectively impressed by this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaandDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October and were dissapointed at the standard of the room we had. The bathroom sink was blocked and therefore difficult to use, and one of our towels were not very clean. Having said that, the hostel was in a very good location and the staff were very helpful.
Overall, it was okay for two nights but any longer may have been hard work.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_McG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for your comments, it's always help us to improve.

About the room standard: we are an hostel, and so we always manage to offer the best relation quality and price so you could stay on private room ensuite for a very low budget in Miraflores (as you notice our location is an advantage).
Therefore we doesn't lower our quality standard in cleanliness or services.

About the towel: we are truly sorry that it escape to our attention, of course we suggest in those case to request a new towel at the reception.

About the sink: this kind of problem are unfortunately unpredictable even with a regular maintenance. We suggest to had comment it during your stay to the staff and we would have send a plumber or change you for another room.

As you nicely comment, our staff always do his best so you can leave with an outstanding experience of the hostel. We try everyday to be pro-active, to avoid any inconvenience during your stay and encourage our guest to share their comments or problems at the moment so we can solve it.

We hope you would have the opportunity to renew your experience with us and leave with a better feeling.

Sincerely.
The manager and The Dragonfly Hostels staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! The room on the roof was basic as is the whole hostel but it was perfect for us! We had the roof terrace, little kitchen area and bathroom up there too! The staff were cool and all in all I really enjoyed my stay! It was really cheap! The breakfast was decent!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for your nice comment.
We just renew the furnitures on the roof terrace, so it's even better now.
Come back see us and don't forget to try our new microbrewery once sitted on our sofa!

The Dragonfly Hostels staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Lima Backpackers
#1 of 312 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 312 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 312 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
LOKI Lima
#5 of 312 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels

Property: Dragonfly Hostels
Address: Avenida 28 de Julio, 190, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 312 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hostel in the safe neighborhood of Miraflores district, in Lima. Great cafeteria with kitchen recently renovated, we offer spacious dorms and comfortable private rooms with quality bedding. We are the only hostel in Lima with surf facilities in the beach, 10 min walking distance. A great roof terrace for chill-out at the bar or BBQ. NEW: find our micro-brewery beers at our bar! Around here you will find restaurants, bars and all kind of attractions. Close access to the beach of Makaha, with surf rental facilities. We will be happy to accommodate you during your stay in Lima. We offer : Free linen, free internet, WiFi, TV Cable, surf board rental, bus and tours booking, free baggage storage, lockers, chill-out lobby, movies, DVD & books, kitchen facilities, hot water 24/7, all kinds of good traveling advices and a selection of tours and treks in Peru. Open 24 hours. Airport shuttle service on request 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing