We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in Miraflores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Family House
Ranked #52 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived with a reservation ridiculously early on the night bus from Huaraz and were able to dump our backpacks and relax on the couches using the wifi till some cafes opened. When we checked in they couldn't seem to find us in their system and gave us a room in their hostel across the street.., Family Club House in a crazy pink building.

We came back over to Family House a few times to use the wifi which was marginally better than over the road... generally speaking though... worst wifi in ten weeks travelling in Ecuador and Peru... and this is a capital city!

Despite mediocre wifi it was a very positive stay... Family House and Family Club House were both in a great location... a safe 15 minute walk to the Miraflores action and in a quiet street... staff at both were super helpful. And i can't vouch for Family House but the showers at Family Club House were the best i have had in South America... hot, constant and good pressure. We also got two pillows each... the little things really count :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarleeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was one of the best hostels of my South America trip. The staff were extremely friendly and happy to explain the area and help with things to do. The rooms were nice and suprisingly quiet for a hostel. The breakfast was basic but fine and the location was close enough to Miraflores centre, and good for restaurants, bars, and laundry. The airport transfer was a good price and very safe. Would definately reccommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TDix111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this lovely backpacker. We had a privado, which was like a little appartement. It was very clean, staff was very friendky and helpful, and it is close to the famous la mar restaurant.

a bit away from kennedy park, but we still would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank matthias_hobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here after a long 60 day trip through South America starting in Rio that finished in Miraflores LIMA. We were greeted by very friendly staff who took the time to explain the local area and offer suggestions on what to do. After staying in a lot of hostels over the last couple of months I would say that this is my favourite so far. Kitchen was clean along with the bathrooms and bedrooms. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clintstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First time I came to Lima, they had no beds free, but the guy at the reception would give me a map, show me all could places in Lima to go on it, recommended a hostel around the corner and ecen rang them up to ask if they have a bed for me. Seconds time, I came with my boyfriend, we had a really nice double room. Then I had to leave again because they were ful againl, so make sure you make a reservation before coming! Nice living room with good internet, good breakfast, close to the coast in Miraflores, a bit far from Miraflores center.

Room Tip: I found dorms as well as double room in good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Xenia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff and residents of this hostel were extremely friendly and helpful. This hostel is in Miraflores very near the beach which was great for surfing. The dorm beds were plain but quite comfy and the bathroom was clean although the showers were quite weak. The wifi was average compared with other places in Peru but they did serve free breakfast and had a well equipped kitchen. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who isnt bothered by average living condition and who loves meeting new people and surfing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annacombe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We didn't have a reservation and just came by, and with no problems got a room. The room was very basic but clean, the shared bathroom was also clean. For the second night we had to move to the sister hostel just over the street, that just opened a few days before, because ours just had vacancy for one night. The sister hostel is called backpackers family club and is also very good, the rooms were very big and not as basic, although a bit more expensive. Especially Pablo made our stay really nice. He is one of the receptionists and is always there for help. What was amazing, he took us for free for a surfing course! We just had to rent the equipment for S30 and off we went! He was super friendly and it was great. Afterwards he even took us out to a place for eating ceviche and we ate with him. He was really a great help, so if you stay there and need anything go for Pablo :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 372 in Lima
463 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 372 in Lima
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#9 of 372 in Lima
375 reviews
Condor`s House
#28 of 372 in Lima
311 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 372 in Lima
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Family House

Address: Juan Moore 304 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Family House Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing