We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting colonial surroundings”
Review of Hostal Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buena Vista
Ranked #69 of 392 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here twice at the start and end of our trip. Both rooms had comfortable beds and clean showers and toilets. Breakfast was fine although because it is served in an open area it can be chilly and damp. We found the reception staff helpful. They sorted our check-in for a LAN flight. The rooms are rather gloomy and our first one had stone floors, chilly on the feet! It is well situated for restaurants and there is a laundry opposite.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank silverbike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is great a oasis in the middle of noisey lima,we had the outside rooms they were clean and comfortable.Very central to the central city with cheap restaurants very close by.Would recommend this as a tranzit through lima

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for several days at this centrally located hotel. in the heart of Miraflores. It is a very popular spot for backpackers and a stop over for many people on organized tours. The hotel is small and quaint. The rooms vary in size, and come with either single(s), double or matrimonial bed(s) but all are quite noisy due to constant traffic and old windows. Very few small hotels in Lima have Air conditioning so windows are almost always open. Lima is a very noisy city, where drivers honk their horns as they approach every intersection and the Buena Vista Hostal is on the corner of two fairly busy streets. Several rooms have a terrace, but neither of the two rooms we occupied on our 12-day stay had one. The price of the rooms is very reasonable and includes a breakfast of fruit, cereal, yogurt, bread, juice and tea and coffee. Eggs are available, but they only come scrambled or sunny-side up! Our first impression of the staff was not very positive, but we found that it was probably more a matter of languages as they became friendlier with time. Leopoldo, the evening front desk person was particularly helpful and friendly. Although the grounds are well maintained and staff mop and polish the tiled terraces and walkways, we found the floor in both our rooms were not very clean. The bathrooms were ok, but very damp. There is free internet and a phone and TV in all rooms. It is not a bad place to stay if you know what to expect and the price is more than competitive.

Room Tip: Probably no quiet rooms at the Buena Vista, but Nos. 9 and 10 on the ground floor share a lovely ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We only stayed for one night in July 2013 but impressions were: nice looking hotel, nice looking room and good location, BUT staff were unfriendly, housekeeping poor - toilet paper bin full on arrival to our room! rooms very noisy due to busy road and poorly fitting windows. There will be better places to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaminreviewer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was a great hotel to start off our tour of Peru. The rooms are simple but spacious with lovely big beds, the breakfast area and library are beautifully decorated as well as the other communal areas and we had a lovely patio where we could sit outside. It was a bit noisy being on a corner with constant traffic and no window to shut the sound out - somehow this added to the charm of the place. I would advise earplugs if you're a light sleeper! The (english speaking) staff were friendly and helpful, breakfasts were good although we often had to wait a while for them to refill the fruitbowls or bring bread to the table. The hotel is well-situated in Miraflores and its an easy walk to Kennedy Park or around the neighbourhood with its quirky little shops.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room where the windows can close or not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I really liked this hotel ,it is almost in the centre of Miraflores , which is a lovely neighbourhood of Lima. Its a quirky place with rooms on all different levels, nice breakfast room and a small garden area at the front. The rooms are nothing special but perfectly adequate. It is an easy walk to the ocean cliffs and very close to Park Kennedy , which has lots of shops and restaurants and is very lively at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Friendly "English speaking" staff, great location in Miraflores, good sized room, clean with an adequate shower plus shampoo and soap accessories, lovely garden area. Conveniently situated for exploring Miraflores, and for transport links into Lima.

Room Tip: Good safe location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#42 of 236 in Lima
581 reviews
Hostel Playa Ola Grande
#130 of 345 in Lima
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buena Vista

Address: Av. Grimaldo del Solar, 202, Lima ., Peru (Formerly Buena Vista Guesthouse ***)
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 392 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £32 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Buena Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing