We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice in Mira Flores”
Review of Hostal Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buena Vista
Ranked #48 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great choice in Mira Flores”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Mira flores is the place to stay in Lima, and the Buena Vista is a good choice. Clean, secure, nice location and at a good price. Other reviewers complain of noise and undependable hot water - unless you stay at a resort hotel that's Peru!

Room Tip: get one of the two rooms on the first floor off the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsplay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    28
    19
    2
See reviews for
7
44
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end and I would advise anyone considering it to look elsewhere.

When we first arrived the smell of urine in the lobby was overpowering. I was later told by an engineer that it is actually the smell of rising damp but regardless it was not pleasant!!

It was by far the noisest hotel I have ever stayed in. People were coming and going at all hours and buzzing reception to get in. Plus the man in reception was playing music all night (maybe to keep himself awake!). This is in addition to the constant sounds of horns honking from the outside. Earplugs probably need to be issued with every arrival!!

The rooms themselves were filthy - I put my book in the nightstand and the cover stuck to it due to something sticky and gross that was on there.

On our return they put us in a garden room which was tiny. There was no room to even lay our packs out and they only supplied 1 towel (I am presuming they normally rent this to a solo).

Finally, be warned that there is often no hot water at this hotel.


Positives are its location and the cool parrot who lives there and talks to you at breakfast time.

I strongly encourage to look for an alternative hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natgazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

In Miraflores - a relatively 'good' area of Lima. Rooms were adequate only and hot water was spasmodic but the worst part of this Hotel was the NOISE. Not only from the traffic but the whole place just echoes with people coming and going at all hours of the day and night. We stayed there for 2 nights at the beginning of our tour and a night at the end and never again. Whether you have a room upstairs or down the din is the same, the night supervisor makes no effort to minimise the loud voices in Reception area and the thumping of baggage in the hallways. Breakfast is OK. Suggest Intrepid strike this Hotel off their list for Lima as complaints were flying from most of the tour Group

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiewendylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our experience was quite satisfactory in this hostel located in the Miraflores district of Lima, one of 2 or 3 tourist-friendly and secure areas in this capital city, where we landed to start our Peruvian journey.

While Miraflores is a 15 minute cab ride from the heart of Lima (Plaza de Armas) and I usually prefer staying in city center lodgings, my wife & I thoroughly enjoyed this part of town nevertheless. The hostal is located by a busy avenue (Calle Schell) which became a daily walk way for us from our hotel over to a lovely Parque Central de Miraflores known locally as Parque Kennedy in honor of my favorite US president. We found shops and eateries of various kinds on Calle Schell (and along Calle Larco) and so this section of the city served as our headquarters quite well. Cabs are inexpensive in Lima (and throughout Peru) and so we rode a lot of taxis into downtown always asking what the tarifa would be before boarding.

The hostal itself served as a small mansion a hundred years ago (you can see many other old casonas in Miraflores), now turned into a small, friendly and secure hotel operated by a descendant of the original owners. Rooms seem to have been added on the wings and we were given one of these, room #3, which felt smallish at first but clean and functional, good beds, clean sheets, hot shower water encouraging us to overlook the diminished room size by the 2d day. Our room and the house itself lacked central heating, as do most homes in Peru apparently, but we dressed warmly and got used to the Lima coolness. We also appreciated the hotel owner sending a driver (a good guy too) to pick us up at the airport; this was very comforting coming into Peru at first.

We were also introduced to Peruvian "breakfasts included" here on our first morning when we expected a fuller table filled with breakfast eats discovering the limited fare that became customary elsewhere too: coffee, tea, hot milk, fruit, toast, and freshly prepared eggs anyway you liked them--no oatmeal, no bacon. In the end, these desayunos served us just fine and the young staff always responded nicely to our inquiries.

We had decided on economy lodging from the start and so this place filled the bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really loved this place, it really felt like a home away from home and was a great place to start off my trip. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and had all mod-cons, and it was a nice place to relax. There is also a pet parrot which also makes for great entertainment.

The hotel is located in Miraflores, about 5 minutes walk from Kennedy park and the main strip which is good as you don't want to be on the main strip (it is quite noisy all night, especially at weekends).

This place is recommended if you want somewhere hassle-free, clean and friendly. Thanks again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice at the start and end of our trip. Both rooms had comfortable beds and clean showers and toilets. Breakfast was fine although because it is served in an open area it can be chilly and damp. We found the reception staff helpful. They sorted our check-in for a LAN flight. The rooms are rather gloomy and our first one had stone floors, chilly on the feet! It is well situated for restaurants and there is a laundry opposite.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silverbike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is great a oasis in the middle of noisey lima,we had the outside rooms they were clean and comfortable.Very central to the central city with cheap restaurants very close by.Would recommend this as a tranzit through lima

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hospedaje Tinkus
#109 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel La Castellana
Hotel La Castellana
#79 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Miraflores
Hostal El Patio
Hostal El Patio
#11 of 308 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Lucky Lodge
Lucky Lodge
#27 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Miraflores
Lion Backpackers
Lion Backpackers
#88 of 334 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buena Vista

Property: Hostal Buena Vista
Address: Av. Grimaldo del Solar, 202, Lima ., Peru (Formerly Buena Vista Guesthouse ***)
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Buena Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing