We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor”
Review of LOKI Lima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Lima
Ranked #5 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 1 December 2011

One of the worst hostels we have stayed in during our 8 month trip in South America. It wasn't particularly clean, there was no communal area, except the bar and the TV room was like a closet. There is no rule against bringing in your own alcohol, so we did and brought it up to the 'room terrace', at 8 in the evening we were told that we were making too much noise (there were 5 of us and no music) and that we had to come downstairs, we went to our room to get changed to head out, which we had to ourselves, the night man then came and took away the bottle of rum we had.... he was really rude. The music in the bar will stay on until 3 in the morning, however god forbid you make some noise by talking on the roof before 9!Really bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bar, preferably at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

PROS:
-Free internet
-Room was cleaned and beds were made everyday.
-Safe neighborhood
-Really tasty ceviche restaurant next door and grocery store just around the corner
-This is a party hostel but the noise didn't keep us up at night.

CONS:
-Worst beds we slept in during a month of hostels.
-We found a weird small bug crawling on a bed, squashed it and it squirted blood everywhere. We found another of the same bug in one of our books after we left the hostel. We all assumed these were bedbugs but it was all of our first experiences with them.
-The laundromat next door is super affordable but they take 16 hours to do a load!? We offered to pay extra to have our clothes done in 12 so we could have clean clothes for our flight but they refused.. super bummer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The beds were made daily, the bathroom cleaned daily and trash dumped, the bar had decent prices especially during happy hour, and the omelettes on the breakfast menu were delicious. The tour desk was very helpful and convenient and the front desk was friendly and approachable. This place has serious potential to be a GREAT hostel, but first they need a few improvements.

To improve, first they need a communal kitchen so you aren't forced to buy expensive restaurant food. There is an awesome grocery store nearby, but unfortunately you can´t buy anything that needs refrigeration because the kitchen staff at the hostel aren't too keen on you using up THEIR fridge space for your own personal items. They give you hassle every time you walk in there.The hostel has a “Snack Menu“ but unfortunately, the prices are not exactly budget and there isn't many vegetarian options other than fries and salad. Secondly, their movie room needs major technical support. Its great that they have one, but barely any of the DVDs worked and they were really sticky with something someone had previously spilled. The dorm room shared bathroom seriously needs a fan or a window for ventilation because everything gets soaked by one shower, and the whole room sticks if someone goes poo. Lastly, they need a sign next to the sign saying they accept MasterCard indicating that they charge an extra 6% to use a card. Otherwise, checking out last minute inhibits a surprise charge that sucks.

All in all, for what we paid there a night per bed, there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabonders8779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in a private room at Loki in July 2011. I opted for a private room as it was the end of my trip and I wanted some rest before my 36 hours worth of flying and traveling home. Mistake! The private room I had backed on to the downstairs bar and the noise was absolutely ridiculous every night. The bar seems to have windows in the roof which are left fully open to allow all noise to filter up to the rooms in the vicinity. This is pretty poorly thought out in my opinion. There are signs downstairs saying that the area is a 'quiet zone' after 10pm, which I saw no evidence of being enforced. I understand Loki wants to draw a young crowd, but some effort must really be made to isolate the ridiculous bar noise! I'm young and love a party but sometimes I need to sleep too!

In addition to the noise, the private room was a big disappointment. It was damp (damp patches on sills and roof and the air and sheets felt damp) and the bathroom hadn't been cleaned when I checked in-dirty towels hanging on the back of the door and old soap and shampoo left in the shower. Also, the bedsheet was too small to cover the dingy mattress and it kept slipping off.

I'm aware this is a hostel rather than hotel bit for the price I paid for a private room-I've stayed in basic hotels that were 100% better than this.

Also the room wasn't cleaned for the entire time I stayed there.

Stay elsewhere for your money!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumblecore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I've stayed in both Loki mancora and Lima and though they are both great hostels, both times we have confirmed bookings over the phone only to show up and they lost the booking. In mancora they managed to find us a room but here in Lima the guy at the desk decided instead it was all our fault and found it necessary to give us a lecture for 20 minutes. The staff there are incredibly unhelpful and rude and I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tills-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

after travelling all over south america for about 3 months we finally arrived at the famous Loki hostel in Lima.. with great expectations!
everything was going great up until the moment a friend of ours that was not a loki resident needed to come up to our room to get something..

as we started climbing the stairs one of the managers named DAVE started raising his voice with sentences such as "i dont care who the [--] he is.. i dont care if he´s family.. he´s not going up"

after a short arguement we decided to let it go and told the friend to stay on the lobby floor..

while climbing the stairs DAVE shouted - "it´s always the same problem with u Israelies!" as if we were trouble makers that were wreaking the hostel.. (on the contrary.. that same night we contributed a real nice amount of money to the hostel´s bar)

in my opinion.. a hostel manager that has RACIST statements like that.. should not even be in contact with travellers..

it a shame that these are the people who are in charge of a lovely traveller´s place like that..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My gf and I stayed at the Loki for the last night in Lima. Before heading to Cusco and the sacred valley, we stayed in Lima for 3 nights at a $70/night hotel. Boy did we mess up. The Loki had a double bedroom with private bathroom for $30/night and it was just as nice. There were also dinners, events, sightseeing, and a bar scene that did not exist at the other hotel. It was fun and friendly although the Australians that made up a majority of the guests were a bit cliquey (but that is expected). It appears that Liam is the social chair and he does a great job- always something going on. There is a party atmosphere but they do a great job of keeping the noise down. The bar tends to be too smokey though.

The reception is the strong point of this hostel- friendly and accommodating.

This hostel rivals some of the best ones in Europe. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 366 in Lima
783 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 366 in Lima
431 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 366 in Lima
213 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#12 of 366 in Lima
182 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 366 in Lima
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Lima

Address: Calle Jose Galvez 576, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £8 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Lima 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the brand new addition to the family, boasting all the great features you would expect from a Loki Hostel, the place for budget travellers to stop, relax, meet people have fun and party in Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your LOKI Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing