We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of LOKI Lima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LOKI Lima
Ranked #5 of 339 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed in Loki La Paz before, so when I came here I knew what to expect.
The hostel is not even remotely close to the atmosphere in La Paz. It is also trying to be a party hostel but.. just can't make it:)
It is however nice place with good facilities- the rooms are nice, the showers and restrooms are also fine and the bar is a nice place. It has a relaxed atmosphere and some nice people staying and if you're looking for it- you can definitley make some new friends and go partying in Lima with them.
The staff are nice and helpful most of the time, and if you'll stay here for a couple of nights in a raw they'll make an effort to get to know you.
It's a bit far from the center in Miraflores but only a bit: instead of walking 5 minutes like from the rest of the hostels you'll need to walk 8.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    149
    60
    19
    14
See reviews for
4
45
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We had a really good time here, the people we met were friendly and up for a laugh.
There's a good spirit in the bar and plenty of activities arranged to get everyone together.
The room was also very bright and comfortable.
Unfortunately, the only thing letting this place down is the girls on the desk who were not very helpful and a bit rude.
They messed up our booking and weren't at all concerned until we spoke to the owner, who was sound, couldn't apologise more and quickly sorted the issue out for us.
However, don't let this put you off, this hostel was really good fun and easy to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SianYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loki_Hostels, Manager at LOKI Lima, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi SianYvonne,
Thanks for your stay. We're sorry about any problems you had with Checking in and glad it got fixed. We're happy you had a good stay and would like to see you again.

Loki loves you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Let the Loki name down!!! The staff were rude and were not very helpful at all. beds were pritty nice and there was hot water. But this hostal lacked the nice energy of other backpackers hostal and on my second night here a fight broke out. Pariwana was much better!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loki_Hostels, Manager at LOKI Lima, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi Jim,
Were sorry Loki Lima didnt meet up with your previous Loki experience. What events would you like to see in Lima? We try to make Loki as safe as possible and am sorry there was an incident during your stay.

Loki loves you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This place is great. Super friendly staff. If you like to party this is the place. The party goes on until 1 am and then they hook you up with the best place to go after the party in the hostel. Good patrons and nice and clean. I usually don't like to stay at hostels, but Loki is the exception. Right in the middle of Mira Flores, great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We ended up at LOKI by a bit of an accident. We were robbed at our original hostel (Pirwa Backpackers Hostel in Miraflores, avoid this place at all costs!) after only having been checked in for 2 hours. They broke into our private room into our locked cabinet and stole a lot of money, cameras, work related items, a laptop and other valuables while we were out buying water at the store. So while I was at the tourist police reporting the robbery I met some fellow Canadian backpackers who welcomed my husband and I to share their dorm room at LOKI.

The staff at LOKI were mostly helpful, some of the girls were very rude and abrupt when I asked for help, so it really depended on who you got. Other staff were incredible, so it's just the luck of the draw. The price for even sharing a dorm was quite steep for a hostel, considering that towels were not even included. The place was clean enough, and laid out on multiple levels with a nice big roof for sun/smog tanning.

The food was ok, not great but edible.

The fellow backpackers that have taken to working for a few weeks at the hostel are probably the best part of the hostel. They are very fun, friendly and they know how to party, they helped us drink until we were numb from the pain of losing everything.

The security screening was a big plus, all the LOKI hostels have security and cameras, as well as wrist bands identifying you as a guest. They also have proper safety lock boxes right out in reception so no funny business can happen.

It's a FUN place to stay. It's not great, but it's not terrible, and we know terrible. If you like to party your face off and meet people then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The place was nice, but thats all it has.

They are not very cheap, and for example not towels were included. 2 or 3 soles each. Most hostels and cheaper ones include one a day or every two or three days the least.
The room strongly smelled to fresh paint, which was very unpleasant. We asked for a fan to vent it (because the one in the room didnt work) and they said they were going to get one. We're still waiting for that fan.
The room was very dimly lit. You could hardly see anything. The beds weren't confortable either.
The building was VERY noisy. In fact, in the top floor its like a big patio where everyone who comes in, even if they dont speak loud, you'll definitely hear all what they have to say. The rooms are all around that patio.

Finally, the attention was horrible. Kinda rude actually. At one time, many minutes later after the girl in the reception desk took us to the room, suddenly she decided to enter with her own key (without knocking or asking for permission) with us inside the room to "check that the room was in order" (???). No apologies whatsoever.

Dont recommend this hostel at all, unless you sleep at times were everyone else is out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUserIsOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I don't know how this only gets three of five. Fantastic bar and lounge. Clean rooms with private bath. Great Internet availability. Very safe and in a good part of Mira Flores. $10/night.

Every day and night they have different activities, like trivia one night, ping pong, beer pong, pool tournaments. Also have group surfs and other activities.

Good common area too. I'm excited to go to Loki's other locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightykingmalard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 226 in Lima
799 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 339 in Lima
732 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 339 in Lima
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 339 in Lima
434 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 339 in Lima
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Lima

Property: LOKI Lima
Address: Calle Jose Galvez 576, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 339 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Lima 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the brand new addition to the family, boasting all the great features you would expect from a Loki Hostel, the place for budget travellers to stop, relax, meet people have fun and party in Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your LOKI Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing