We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Ranked #10 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
heredia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small and comfortable”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in the five-bed mixed dorm. We were the only three in the room for three days, so ended up being private. Showers have warm water with decent pressure. Breakfast was standard bread, jam and tea plus juice and a little something extra each day, like pancakes or veggie Sandwiches.

Not many people stay here which makes for good nights sleep. They recycle everything which is nice. Workers very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    56
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
32
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for one night for about $15 each in a twin room which was actually a sort of split bunk room a bit like a prison cell. For one night it was fine to crash - the beds were actually really comfy - and it comes with its own shower room next door which is good. The communal areas are good for chilling and chatting. The wifi is very good for South American hostels. Breakfast was good and expansions were available. There were lots of signs up saying happy hour 7-9 on the terrace or out the back but there were no signs of it happening and when I went to ask for a couple of pisco sours (advertised) the girl looked very surprised and went to see if they had any limes, which they didn't. So I'm not sure how often happy hour actually happens. But if I'm passing through Lima I'd stay there again. The location in Miraflores is superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights. It is well located in Miraflores and is far enough from the main streets that's its not too noisy. Breakfast are Ok and the staff are excellent. There are excellent restaurant within easy walking distance and the Metropolitana (bus system) is within easy walk (5 min) to take you downtown Lima, in the old sections. The Hostel is about 25 min. walk from the coast which is a pleasant walk where one can enjoy the beach, surf and shop at one of the most exclusive shopping centers in Lima.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a lovely, secure, Eco-friendly hostel with friendly and helpful staff and a great calm atmosphere. The Wi-Fi is almost always great, the showers are hot, the breakfast is prompt, the kitchen and rooftop are available for guests to use and the whole place feels secure and hospitable. I stay here every time I am in Lima and it wonderful to have such kind people to come back and visit while I am here! There is only one thing they still need to add to make my stay here even more enjoyable: a nice hot espresso. Other than that, I can find no complaints here!

Room Tip: Pick the second cheapest room - it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaEsylviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This review is long past overdue. I have been traveling and just haven’t had the chance. I had the pleasure of staying at the Red Psycho Llama during my stay in Lima, Peru back in November of 2012. The location was in a prime location, blocks away from the city center and the famed Parque Kennedy in Miraflores, rooms were clean, well maintained, and a decent size, water in the shower was hot, breakfast was great, internet was strong, and the prices were right, but this is not what this review is about. The staff was amazing. All their recommendations were tailor made to make my first time in Peru perfect. From their suggestions of places to try Peruvian sushi, to events, to assistance acquiring Futbol match tickets and other shows, it all was just what I needed.

The thing that stands out the most to me is what they did when nothing more was required of them. I had gotten food poisoning after taking the recommendation from someone at another hostel while staying in the sacred valley and came back to Red Psycho in the worst of shape. The manager Johann and his sister Fiorella went so far as to contact their mother, a doctor, to find out the best course of treatment, put me up in a room to rest while the medication took effect, attempted to take me to the hospital, and even contacted the airline to see if there was any way to get me on an earlier flight for no additional change. Between him and the lovely ladies that work there I couldn’t have asked for a better place to get sick in. They truly save my life that night.

These people made what could have been a horrible moment another great moment in what has become one of my greatest trips. Thank you to the staff of Red Psycho Llama.

Honorably mention to Pili for her warm smile and bubbly personality as soon as you walk through the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamGVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed here twice so far over the past 2 years, and never had any problems. Nice, clean rooms, friendly staff, good rates. My traveling companion agreed. We felt like it was safe there and it was a very convenient location to Miraflores and San Isidro. Also, the fresh fruit and veg market is nearby, just over the bridge. that is such a good place to buy food! Compared to other hostels I have experienced in Lima, this one was fairly quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Luisa_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My sister and I flew into Lima to arrive about 11 p.m. so we didn't want to worry about finding a hostel. We booked the Red Psycho Llama in advance and also booked their airport pick-up service. It worked fine. The driver was great. But we realized that with booking online, we paid way too much for both the hostel and for the drive. Included breakfast was kinda weak. They did have internet available for free, that was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzChica33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#3 of 334 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#9 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Llama Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Llama Eco Hostel

Property: Red Llama Eco Hostel
Address: Calle Narciso de la Colina 183 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Llama Eco Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Llama Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing