We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love the red psycho.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Ranked #10 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hostel is great! A wonderful first introduction to Peru. Delicious breakfasts, very friendly and helpful staff. Cool environment. Groovy decor. Good location helps to get through the city. Felt safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooftop room is awesommmmme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

First place we stayed when arriving in Lima and loved it. The staff is super friendly, incredibly helpful and giving. They really make you feel like friends right away. From the lounge to the rooftop hang out area, comfort and security was never lacking. We loved the overall theme of the decor and attitude on recycling and environmentaql awareness. The location in Mira Flores was very convenient, as the coast with all its cliffside parks and Larcomar shopping center is merely blocks away. Also, some of the best shopping we saw in ALL Peru is just behind the hostel; seemingly endless smarkets with the lowest prices of anywhere we travelled. Our driver, Luis was hilarious and his driving skills are nothing short of amazing! On our many returns to Lima, we didn't even consider staying anywhre else. We miss you guys!

Room Tip: I saw others complain about street noise and rooftop bar, but I wear earplugs, so I have no complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend and I stumbled across this place after struggling to find a room in Miraflores late at night. We were so happy that we came across this place, the lady at reception was so friendly and really made us feel at home. We stayed in the 'matrimonial' room, the only one they had left and it was sweet and nicely decorated. It wasn't big size wise but had everything we needed in a room. The hostel also has an ethical feel and there is lots of information about recycling which was a nice vibe.

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a nice, friendly place with no fuss.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Red Psycho Llama is an amazing place to stay in Lima. Unfortunately I was only there for 1 night but it was awesome. I was picked up at the airport by Luis, the transfer driver from Red Psycho Llama and he immediately made me feel like we were good friends. We discussed nightlife, his favorite futbol team, where to go to get authentic Peruvian food like the locals...etc. The next morning he drove me all around the different districts in Lima explaining about their history and the rivalries b/t futbol clubs. I cannot express how awesome Luis is and I look forward to staying at this hostel and hanging out with Luis on my next journey to Lima.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was just Ok. We had a private room with two beds but we could hear people coming and going from their rooftop bar. There was no hot water during our stay (get used to that idea when travelling in Peru on a budget). The staff was not particularly knowledgeable about the area, or overly helpful in arranging transport, and largely left everyone to their own devices. With that being said, they have a large library of pirated DVDs (some of them even work) and comfortable public areas. I thought there would be a continuation of the "repurposed" and recycling theme, but that was pretty much limited to what's in the pictures. Lima was the second highest rate for a hotel room during our stay, so choose wisely, this hotel is solidly middle of the road, I wish they had some better merch because they do have a pretty cool logo.

Room Tip: The room that is on the second floor in the back with the bridge to the bathroom you will hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gettingoutofkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in the five-bed mixed dorm. We were the only three in the room for three days, so ended up being private. Showers have warm water with decent pressure. Breakfast was standard bread, jam and tea plus juice and a little something extra each day, like pancakes or veggie Sandwiches.

Not many people stay here which makes for good nights sleep. They recycle everything which is nice. Workers very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for one night for about $15 each in a twin room which was actually a sort of split bunk room a bit like a prison cell. For one night it was fine to crash - the beds were actually really comfy - and it comes with its own shower room next door which is good. The communal areas are good for chilling and chatting. The wifi is very good for South American hostels. Breakfast was good and expansions were available. There were lots of signs up saying happy hour 7-9 on the terrace or out the back but there were no signs of it happening and when I went to ask for a couple of pisco sours (advertised) the girl looked very surprised and went to see if they had any limes, which they didn't. So I'm not sure how often happy hour actually happens. But if I'm passing through Lima I'd stay there again. The location in Miraflores is superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#13 of 230 in Lima
850 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 358 in Lima
769 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 358 in Lima
428 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#17 of 358 in Lima
326 reviews
Miraflores
Marqay Hostel Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Llama Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Llama Eco Hostel

Address: Calle Narciso de la Colina 183 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £10 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Llama Eco Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Red Llama Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing