We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good midrange option in a good to excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Killari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Killari
Ranked #36 of 304 Lima B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good midrange option in a good to excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a good place to go if your budget is not too far above hostel level but you want a decent room with a TV and ensuite bathroom, and also want to be able to walk to many things.

Would rate the location about a B+...it's along a 4-lane avenue connecting Miraflores and Barranco, right near the line between the two. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to Larcomar; 15-20 to Parque Kennedy in Miraflores, or 15-20 to the center of Barranco, and many of the buses go right by the front door. A taxi to most of Miraflores or Barranco would be 5 soles (though you have to bargain it).

Also, right down the street within 5 minutes are two of the city's best restaurant options: San Antonio (sandwiches, breakfast, coffee, pastries...a local institution) and Tanta (wonderful Gaston Acurio bistro-type restaurant). There's also a breakfast at the hotel, but I needed to conserve the appetite space given how the area is so outstanding with the restaurants.

The rooms facing the street are too loud from street noise (especially buses and any motorcycles) and I had one of those on the first night, but had no problem changing to one of the others for the rest of the stay. They probably need something even heavier than what they've got on the windows as a noise barrier, but without any climate control (except possibly portable fans) you've got the dilemma of needing the window open for ventilation but having too much problem with the noise. I only counted four rooms that this would affect, though; others are quieter. It's also common locally to not need or have either heat or air-con.

Room was cozy but comfortable, with simulated hardwood and newish furnishings. TV selection was very good (60-70 channels or so, including CNN International and a movie channel). Some renovation/upgrading work appeared to be ongoing.

Staff was also very helpful, especially Alejandro but also everyone else.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this place based on the combination of location and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    52
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
50
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was quite lovely. We got a room with a double bed for US$35, which was worth it, but I think the usual price is US$50 which I would not have paid. The location was convenient and it felt very safe (the neighborhood and the hostal itself). Many reviews here mention hearing the noisy street from their room, but we did not notice this at all, perhaps because we were at the back of the hostal away from the road. There was a fan in our room which helped a lot for sleeping and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The shower was really nice and had lots of hot water. The guy at the front desk we dealt with mainly had very limited English, which caused some confusion but nothing major. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This simple hostel is in a safe area of Lima. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area of Miraflores. There are limited restaurants immediately close by.

Breakfast was simple with freshly cooked eggs and toast.

Rooms were basic with a tv, free wifi and ample hot water.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Hostal Killari was a great base for our stay in Lima. It is situated in the safest neighbourhood- Miraflores and only a short 10 minute walk from Lacomar. It is about a half hour drive from the airport. We recomend that you organise a pick up rather than get an 'official taxi' from the airport because we were charged s/125 when it should have only been about s/40.
We stayed in the ensuited room with a double bed and found our 2 nights there very comfortable. We were suprised that the tarrif included breakfast (eggs with toast, jam and orange juice). Wifi is also included and there is a computer and printer which is free to use in the lobby. Alejandro and his staff were very pleasant and accomodating. This place is highly recommended for those on a low budget who want a safe, comfortable and friendly place to stay in Lima.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehubbardsfroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is definitely a very good value B&B. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bed is so comfortable and I like the generous amount of plush pillows (4 for my room for one). The location though not near the beach is fine with me as it is in a very safe and clean area. The restaurants near it, are very nice. (I recommend Fiesta restaurant.) I definitely use this hotel again if I ever go back to Lima. I will put full marks for this B&B if not for the traffic noise audible in my room. Other might be lucky if their room face the other side of the main road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Staying in this hostal in Lima. It has only 5 rooms. Reception is open 24 hrs. Breakfast is free and good. Eggs, fruit salad, juice, coffee, bread. In the BEST area of Lima. 5 minute walk to Larcomar. 45 minutes from Airport. About 40 soles from Airport to Hostal. Alejandro nice staff hostal co-owner. Don't expect a lot of information from hostal staff though.

Owner let us use personal cell phone to make quick call. Wifi in room and lobby. They will call taxis for you.

Clean room, good beds, clean bathroom. Hot water, good temperature. Room by window a bit noisy but we fell asleep. As for back room if you want NO noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagalindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

From the airport pick-up and throughout our stay at the Hostel Killari we were greeting with friendliness and great hospitality. The staff were always eager to accommodate us in any way possible, including orientating us about proper taxi rates (taxi drivers will always try to rip off tourists) which was very helpful. The hostel is also located in a great barrio with very reasonable rates. We will definitely return to the Hostel Killari if and when we return to Lima.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirko1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#67 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Miraflores
La Casa de la Nonna
La Casa de la Nonna
#57 of 304 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kon-Tiki Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Casa Wayra Bed & Breakfast Miraflores
Miraflores
B&B Tradiciones
B&B Tradiciones
#15 of 304 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Mana Hostel
#13 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Killari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Killari

Property: Hostal Killari
Address: Av Reducto 1539, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Killari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Killari is a hostel that offers a personalized service in a family atmosphere.We offer our guests a comfortable, cozy, safe place and the most complete information so you can enjoy an unforgettable travel experience in our country. We are located in the city of Lima, in the district of Miraflores, six blocks from Larcomar and very close to the principal tourist attractions in the cities.Visit Peru with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Killari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing