We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy place at the border of Miraflores”
Review of Hostal Killari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Killari
Ranked #30 of 316 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The location is not so bad. It's like a 15 min walk to the cliffs, ca. 25 minutes to Parque Kennedy. There are some restaurants around, however not too cheap in comparison what you can find in the center of Miraflores.

The problem is in noisy neighbourhood. There is a street in the front of the hostel, which is quite busy from the very morning hours till late night.

The WiFi signal strength is very weak in the room. Breakfast is rather small.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with windows to the backyard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciek_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Killari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

if you are looking for quiet place, safe, clean in Miraflores this is a well option.
I stay here and the hostal is near of restaurants, bars, banks and Museums.
Attention was good as well as breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Actually, i didn't wanted to spend more than 30 us a night in lima, but, my friends recommend me Hostal Killari warmly. The hostal is located in the nicest area from Lima, in Miralfores, 10 minutes walking distance to the Beach, and 45 minutes from the downtowns lima by Bus, the bus station is 20 meters from the Hostal.

So i came early in the morning to the hostal /45 min buy car from the airport/, and there was not a problem to get allready 3 hours earlyer in my room. Its a brand new Hostel, everything looking clean and nice and new. The beds are very comfortable, rooms are with cable tv, and what i never experienced in Hostels in europe, they clean your room and change your towel every day!

There is also very speedy WiFi in the rooms. The two brothers who running the Hostel are very friendly and all the time helpfull.

All the time i had the feeling, that im actually staying in a Hotel, and not a Hostal.

So, i can recommend Hostal Killari also for you guys, if you want to stay in the safest and nicest place in Lima, near to the Beaches and to the downtown, in a brand new Hostal.

Best wishes and a lots of thanks to Killari Hostel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is my second time in Miraflores and my first stay at Hostal Kilari. It is much quieter here than it is near Kennedy Park or one of the big hotels on Larco Avenue. There is a lot of honking taxis and loud cars on Larco during the day and at night. The only drawback is that when you are here you will have to take a taxi to Larcomar or the Kennedy Park area as opposed to walking. If you prefer the trendy/Bohemian atmosphere of Barranco, Kilari is right next to it. Those are the pros/cons of the location.

The building is very secure. You have to be buzzed in at all times. People from the street cannot just walk in.

My room contained 2 twin beds and a small closet area.I was very happy with how soft the beds are. I sleep on a pillow top mattress and it is very hard to find anything close to that in a hostal.

My room and bathroom were cleaned very well each day.

I did not hear a lot of noise from the other guests. It was very quiet during my stay.

The staff here will do anything to please. I think they live for customer service.

I'm not a bacon and eggs guy so I did not try the breakfast.

I was very pleased with my stay. I rate this as 5 stars for a $50.00 a night hostal.

Room Tip: My room as at the back of the building. That may have had something to do with it being so quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

It was a little away from the main hotel drag of Miraflores, but because of that walkable to both Miraflores and Barranco. People are super nice. The only place in all of Peru that gave us a great, local food recommendation - Punto Azul - where I had the all time best ceviche ever. They do a great job cleaning. Strong wifi. Some rooms a little loud, because it is off a main drag, but others were dead silent. Good breakfast. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeFromSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Off the well-beaten paths of Miraflores, the hotel is on a slightly less busy street with a bit less noise and vehicle pollution than the busier parts of the area. We felt safe walking at night. It's an easy 20-minute walk to the tourist areas of Miraflores, Larcomar and Barranco, the next neighborhood over that has a small town/Euro feel. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Some have limited English, some none at all so be prepared. Breakfast is good: eggs to order, nice crusty rolls, fresh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. The bed and bedding are comfortable, towels large and plush. Rooms are small, very basic and clean. By our experience, the shower is large and, except for one evening, there was plenty of hot water, though on the 3rd floor, it took a while to arrive and the pressure can drop a lot. It's not the quietest place but for the price, it's one of the better deals around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a good place to go if your budget is not too far above hostel level but you want a decent room with a TV and ensuite bathroom, and also want to be able to walk to many things.

Would rate the location about a B+...it's along a 4-lane avenue connecting Miraflores and Barranco, right near the line between the two. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to Larcomar; 15-20 to Parque Kennedy in Miraflores, or 15-20 to the center of Barranco, and many of the buses go right by the front door. A taxi to most of Miraflores or Barranco would be 5 soles (though you have to bargain it).

Also, right down the street within 5 minutes are two of the city's best restaurant options: San Antonio (sandwiches, breakfast, coffee, pastries...a local institution) and Tanta (wonderful Gaston Acurio bistro-type restaurant). There's also a breakfast at the hotel, but I needed to conserve the appetite space given how the area is so outstanding with the restaurants.

The rooms facing the street are too loud from street noise (especially buses and any motorcycles) and I had one of those on the first night, but had no problem changing to one of the others for the rest of the stay. They probably need something even heavier than what they've got on the windows as a noise barrier, but without any climate control (except possibly portable fans) you've got the dilemma of needing the window open for ventilation but having too much problem with the noise. I only counted four rooms that this would affect, though; others are quieter. It's also common locally to not need or have either heat or air-con.

Room was cozy but comfortable, with simulated hardwood and newish furnishings. TV selection was very good (60-70 channels or so, including CNN International and a movie channel). Some renovation/upgrading work appeared to be ongoing.

Staff was also very helpful, especially Alejandro but also everyone else.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this place based on the combination of location and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
B&B Tradiciones
B&B Tradiciones
#13 of 316 in Lima
251 reviews
Miraflores
Atelier Hotel
Atelier Hotel
#96 of 316 in Lima
38 reviews
Miraflores
Hospedaje Dimar Inn
Hospedaje Dimar Inn
#27 of 316 in Lima
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
La Casa de la Nonna
La Casa de la Nonna
#63 of 316 in Lima
44 reviews
Miraflores
Pucllana Lodge
Pucllana Lodge
#26 of 316 in Lima
202 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Wayra Bed & Breakfast Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Killari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Killari

Address: Av Reducto 1539, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 316 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Killari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Killari is a hostel that offers a personalized service in a family atmosphere.We offer our guests a comfortable, cozy, safe place and the most complete information so you can enjoy an unforgettable travel experience in our country. We are located in the city of Lima, in the district of Miraflores, six blocks from Larcomar and very close to the principal tourist attractions in the cities.Visit Peru with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Killari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing