We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly but very noisy and cold”
Review of Hostal Killari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Killari
Ranked #32 of 314 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed three nights at the Killari and overall we had a pleasant stay.
The airport pickup worked perfectly, the hotel itself is very clean, the management (Alejandro and his brother) are super friendly and very helpful.
The hotel is located between Barranco and the heart of Miraflores, both within 30 min walk although there are excellent restaurants nearby.
The main negatives are a) the rooms are extremely loud even with earplugs as the hotel is located directly on a four-lane mainroad with traffic 24h and b) the hotel has no isolation and therefore the nights are freezing (even high in the Andes we had never such cold nights) and finally c) breakfast (average both in terms of quality and quantity) is served outside which makes it quite unconfortable due to a) and b) above.
The place is okay for one night but there are doubtlessly better b&bs in this price category or for an additional 10 USD.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cifar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Killari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

My sister, two friends, and I had two double rooms here in July. This was the cheapest place we stayed in Peru and the only one with reliable hot water and good water pressure. That itself makes it a huge bargain. The location is great, the rooms are superclean, and the service is awesome. We felt super safe and were close enough to walk to LarcoMar and Barranco. The rooms don't seem to have heat, but we were warm in the winter with the extra fleece blanket in the closet. There is some car noise from the street, but it didn't bother my sister at all and I was fine with earplugs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nixon4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Hostal Killari service was superb. The owners and staff were helpful, kind and treated me like royalty. I enjoyed my stay so much that I went back for another two nights. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathrooms are spotless and private. The breakfast was filling and hot. The taxi driver to and form the airport was the same gentleman both times; I felt very comfortable and safe with him. I only mark a 4 on sleep quality because it is next to a busy highway and it was a bit noisey, but Killari is only 15 minutes walk from the heart of Miraflores.
There is no doubt in my mind that I will visit Hostal Killari next time I'm in Lima! It was well worth the extra $5USD!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabithaTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Hostal Killari proved to be an excellent choice of lodging in Lima. It was very affordable, clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This served as our home base on our trip around Peru. They made us feel as if we were "coming home". They went out of their way to assist us with our plans. The location is excellent and within walking distance to sites in Miraflores. I would highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbieprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed in Miraflores 1 night at the start of our Peru trip and 1 night at the end. Our first night we stayed at the inka Frog...it was clean and pleasant but was missing something. On our last night we stayed at the Killari.This was a great place to end our trip. The owners were very accomodating and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean, and the hot water was plenty, even in the sink.

Also, the location was excellent. Very close to the coast ad in a nice area of Miraflores (better situated than inka Frog in my opinion).

The only negative was the street noise at night, but we found this throughout our travels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Thanks largely to Hostal Killari, we were delighted to have ignored the advice of friends who warned us not to stay in Lima because it was dirty and dangerous. The Killari is remarkable because it a wonderfully relaxed place to stay despite being on a busy road. The Miraflores hostal's owners are friendly and genuinely helpful. The rooms are a good size. The rates are economical ($US 38-42 for a double room with TV); the beds are comfortable; the whole place is kept ship shape; and the complimentary breakfast is generous. What makes the Killari even more attractive as a base is that it is close not only to the sea but to both the wonderful San Antonio bakery restaurant, where you'll find the best strawberry tartlets in Peru, and to Tanta Restaurant, which does a fine lomo saltado. This is not the quietest place to stay in Lima but it could well be the warmest.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalderwoodRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The hostal is a good value for me. The staff is excelent, they give you attencion everything you need. The room is big and clean, the bed and linen are very confortable (like a 4 stars hotel). But it is noisy (you can hear the cars in the street) and you can´t keep the room always dark (the light spread in the morning). So, if you just sleep in a so quiet and dark room, it can not be a good opcion for you. But if it is not a big problem for you, I do recomend it, because the hostal is very good.
The location is not far from the center of Miraflores, 15 minutes walking from the Larcomar. The breakfast could be better (it is simple).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alencarizidoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
B&B Tradiciones
B&B Tradiciones
#14 of 314 in Lima
251 reviews
Miraflores
Atelier Hotel
Atelier Hotel
#96 of 314 in Lima
38 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Wayra Bed & Breakfast Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Pucllana Lodge
Pucllana Lodge
#26 of 314 in Lima
202 reviews
Miraflores
La Casa de la Nonna
La Casa de la Nonna
#63 of 314 in Lima
44 reviews
Miraflores
Hospedaje Dimar Inn
Hospedaje Dimar Inn
#28 of 314 in Lima
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Killari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Killari

Address: Av Reducto 1539, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range: £29 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Killari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Killari is a hostel that offers a personalized service in a family atmosphere.We offer our guests a comfortable, cozy, safe place and the most complete information so you can enjoy an unforgettable travel experience in our country. We are located in the city of Lima, in the district of Miraflores, six blocks from Larcomar and very close to the principal tourist attractions in the cities.Visit Peru with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Killari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing