We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #47 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Overall ok”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

the good: cheap, central, close to supermarket, food, bars & beach. Room clean, bathrooms ok, mostly friendly.
the bad: very noisy-trafic neverstops & door buzzer goes off all night.
Most of the recept was friendly, some more than others, guests were great. Wifi was good, where ever i was in the hostel. Breakfast was standard for Peru, i found it ok.
If it wasnt as noisy it would get a far better rating from me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    83
    54
    22
    8
See reviews for
8
74
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After spending one hour trying to find availabily in a hostal in Miraflores I got a bed at this hostal.
The staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms are big and clean but there are only 3 bathrooms (one good one !)for the whole hostal. There are 2 tv areas to chill at night, a big kitchen where people seem to gather in the evening to cook and chat. They also offer a nice breakfast in the morning (with passionfruit jam, yam!)
It's well located : There is a supermarket a few blocks away and lots of restaurants but it's quite expensive as the area is very "exclusive" ! It's far from the historical center but buses pass right across from the hostal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieNCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I had a great experience at Hitchhikers. The staff were really friendly which made all the difference. Also it wasn't a fall over drunk party hostel which is what I look for. Plenty of people around but not stumbling over drunk. A couple of beers and civility is what i look for. There was enough space to find some of your own if you wanted and there was a low key atmosphere which made socializing easy. Clean bathrooms with hot water and a good movie selection. If I'm ever back in Lima I'd go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKoy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hitchhikers Lima is located in the Miraflores section of Lima, a nice upper middle class area with lots of shopping, restaurants, etc. Easily walkable, 2 blocks from the Malecon de la Reserva along the seaside cliffs. The hostel is generally clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen is large but as with most hostal refridgerators, it's jammed with items, I'm sure a lot of which has been abandonded and someone ate the only thing we left in it even though it had our name on it. We had a double ensuite located all the way in the back so it was quiet. Couple of suggestions, some paint in the room would really improve the looks and the shower curtain badly needs to be washed. Generally, decent value for the price.

Room Tip: Room #1, double ensuite is in the back and quiet. However, could use some paint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Staff is nice and helpful, they can provide pick up service from airport on time. Location of the hostel is quite good too, easy to go other place from the hostel. The toilets were quite clean and hot water is provided. However, the water is hot enough but not strong enough. Beds are tidy and quite clean.We are 6 pl and all of us sleep quite well. But the curtain in room is too thin, we all wake up by the sunlight at around 6:30 every morning and difficult to fall asleep again. Overall, it is a quite good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangChuiChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good location, nice people, clean, secure and good common areas. They stored our bags for 3 weeks for free.
We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Downsides We're that the matress was solid and plastic, more like a gym mat, and there was a lot of street noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Both the Hitchhikers Lima and Hitchhikers Cusco locations were great. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Due to some bad weather, we missed our original flight to Lima from the U.S. and didn't arrive until 4:30am. Hitchhikers still sent a taxi to pick us up in the wee hours of the morning, and were friendly and helpful when we finally arrived at the hostel, at 5am! The showers are hot, and relatively clean, and I really appreciated the computer with internet. Plus, the location in miraflores is great. They have staff at the desk 24/7 and buzz in anyone who enters, so I always felt like both myself and my belongings were safe. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom for a total of four nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double rooms along the street, and they do get a lot of road noise (car alarms, scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloImLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#14 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#23 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Condor`s House
#33 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Friend's House
#97 of 308 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel
#29 of 334 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Property: Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing