We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #46 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“I wouldn't come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Good Points:
- Great Location.
- Secure.
- Well written emails.

Bad Points:
- Indifferent, rude staff who don't make any effort to even smile for the guests. Given the majority of these are European or North American, they might want to learn at least the fundamentals of English. I speak more Spanish than they do English and that's just from what I picked up on the road.
- We stayed in one of the cabins that are mentioned in the other reviews. Thin, thin construction with little to no privacy. The bed was hard & made of a cheap vinyl - very difficult to get a decent nights rest on. Pillows were typical Peruvian affairs of 30 year old lumpy blocks of something.
-Breakfast doesn't deserve the name. Instant coffee, two bread rolls & jam served by a bored staff member in a kitchen with a table too small to serve everyone. Which leads to...
- The kitchen. Just don't even venture in there. Flys, rotten food piled in the uncleaned fridge, no decent utensils. Not worth any effort.
- Bathrooms had hot water in the mornings although when I had a shower at 6am (we were leaving early) it was freezing cold. The doors to the bathrooms don't lock properly resulting in some embarrassing moments for me and humiliating moments for my girlfriend. Cigarette ash in the sink most mornings.
- In order to enter or leave the hostel you have to ring a bell & the staff come to open the door. Good for security but inconvenient for pretty much anything else.

Overall, I wouldn't come back. There are better places out there in the same price range.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    83
    54
    22
    8
See reviews for
8
74
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Good thing about this hostel is location and price. They respond to e-mails quickly and organize a taxi for you when you arrive to Lima. I can't find nice words for the rest of their services. We got two kinds of rooms here, one double (one bed above the other) on the ground floor and one "matrimonial" (big bed for two) in the wooden cabin. Both were very moldy and unconfortable. We used our sleeping bags because it felt dirty. The mattress in the cabin was wrapped with some thick plastic, very unconfortable and hard. The cabin itself is made of thin wood so you hear all the outside noise almost as you are sleeping outside. The toilettes were outside. Personnel is completely indifferent and donesn't speak any english. You can use the kitchen (they have refrigerator too), but it is so gross that you probbably won't do it twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marica365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

When we first got to our room there, we thought "let`s get out of here". It looked moldy and nothing like the picture from the website (they must have hired an incredible photographer). But, as we couldn`t find another place to go we stayed (thinking "maybe that`s all you can get from a hostel"; the places we stayed in Cusco and Ollantaytambo were considerably better). Although we felt like having breakfast somewhere else (due to the fact that theirs wasn`t good enough) we can`t complain because they offer what they say they do: a continental breakfast. But we can complain about the treatment towards us. First, the embarrassment caused by the receptionist when she saw that the matrimonial bedroom was for 2 men (she looked at us in disbelief and even said that there was no reservation in my name: she couldn`t believe that what she thought was "Daniela Ferreira" was actually "Daniel A. Ferreira"and showed this clearly). Second, the old lady who served breakfast was so not sweet that it was almost rude. And to put the icing on the cake, their you can pay in dollars or nuevos soles (Peruvian currency). We, naively believing in there honesty in converting the values) paid in dollars, only to find out later that we paid about 10% more than if we had paid in their currency. So, if you think none of this is an inconvenience for you, feel free to stay there, but I sincerely suggest you don`t.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Horrible rooms. We stayed in some kind of wooden cabin with plastic dirty beds. The toilets and showers were outside so in the middle of the night we had to go out in the rain to go to the toilet. The breakfast is even more horrible and so is the staff. Very unfriendly and just ignoring you. The only good thing is the location in beautiful and safe Miraflores.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coensann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean hostel with very helpful staff. Good location in Barranco, one of the safest quarters of Lima, just a few steps away from the ocean. Easy bus ride to the city center of Lima.
I had a room with private facilities and the rate is so reasonable that you can't expect anything more. A light breakfast was included, I didn't use any of the public facilities as I had only one whole day for Lima.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank IsaMoorea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nederland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Hostal is located at a good location in Miraflores. We had a double room with private bathroom. The room was a bit smelly and the bed was way to firm. The room was not nice. Breakfast was very simple, but cooked by a kind lady.
Hostal has a nice common area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reiziger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

the good: cheap, central, close to supermarket, food, bars & beach. Room clean, bathrooms ok, mostly friendly.
the bad: very noisy-trafic neverstops & door buzzer goes off all night.
Most of the recept was friendly, some more than others, guests were great. Wifi was good, where ever i was in the hostel. Breakfast was standard for Peru, i found it ok.
If it wasnt as noisy it would get a far better rating from me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Mana Hostel
#13 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#23 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Condor`s House
#31 of 324 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 324 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Friend's House
#86 of 304 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel
#29 of 324 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Property: Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing