We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel in a great location”
Review of Hostel Kokopelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Kokopelli
Ranked #18 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hostel in a great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was very lucky to get upgraded from a dorm bed to a private room because of overbooking and my bed was super comfy! I also had a bathroom to myself which was a luxury. The hostel is clean and central and the rooftop bar is cozy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meanderingcailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    136
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
9
97
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Party, friends that feel like family and the best location ever!!! It's a hostel so no big accommodations but what else do you need if you have the amazing top roof!!! And the people that work there help you with everything!!! Everything!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamaria1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The rooftop bar is a very good idea, but also makes for a lot of noise if you are trying to sleep. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful; however you catch a few who would rather be on the internet then help you book a parasailing trip or anything else you might be looking for. I stayed in a four bed room and it was very clean, however it also doubled as a cleaning closet..no joke! Staff would be in and out in the morning to get supplies in one of the cabinets there, so that was a little weird, but al least you know they are cleaning. The bathrooms are always full of people and it was hard to squeeze in some shower time. It was a typical hostal experience, however I would probably try somewhere else if I am ever in Lima again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The main principle of Hostel Kokopelli is to have respect for everyone and to run an honest business.

We are inviting our guests into our house and want it to be a home for them away from home. We do not really have any rules, which generally results in good behavior.


This is there mission statement about the hostle but management for the building had no patience or time to deal with the backpackers he created a hostile environment when dealing with my self and the group I was with I don't suggest this hostle to any Canadians.

Go else where till new management is found!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I don't have extensive experience of hostels, but we had a double room which was nice and clean. The hostel overall is colorful and lively and I'd say good value for money. It has a very good bar on the roof, and is very well located in Miraflores, right next to a lot of bars and some half decent restaurants. The bar does snacks and food.
Although Lima is not exactly famous for its beaches, Kokopelli is only a 10 minute walk from the sea front if you want to lie around on the (stoney beach). There are also some good sandwich bars and a great supermarket nearby.
The hostel tends to attract a slightly older crowd (think mid to late 20s rather than gap year), so it's not the type of place where people are dancing on the bar each night, but that said if you're travelling alone you will still have people to socialise with.
You get a decent breakfast each morning (bread, scrambled eggs, coffee), and the shared bathrooms are clean and functional.
The only major drawback, and I imagine this is the same for many hostels, is that it was incredibly noisy. The rooms located on the frontage are exposed to the terrible noise from the bars beneath, so if you plan to have an early night at any point, take your ear plugs.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask if any rooms don't look out over the noisy frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michanddyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancora, Peru
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were here in December 2012 for over a week and would recommend this hostel as it has a very good location, Friendly and helpful staff, a kitchen, bar, breakfast included with eggs and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Kokopelli is a really nice hostel in the heart of Miraflores. Everything is close by (beach and metropolitan bus station 10 minutes walking). Always clean, nice terasse. You get eggs for breakfast! Staff was very friendly and helpfull to me. You get a locker with a socket plug in it so safely charge your things. A bit expensive, but a really good investment!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#9 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
LOKI Lima
#2 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kokopelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kokopelli

Property: Hostel Kokopelli
Address: Calle Berlin 259 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Kokopelli is a fun place for backpackers to spend the night and meet people from all over the world. It's a clean and inexpensive hostel with a convivial atmosphere and a great location in the heart of Miraflores. The beds at Hostel Kokopelli are large, the clean showers have high water pressure and sheets and towels are provided. There are funky indoor and outdoor common areas, personal lockers and a luggage room plus Wi-Fi and computers with access to the Internet. Guests can also take advantage of the hostel's laundry service, book exchange, bike rental, and surfing tours and courses. Reception is available 24 hours a day and the multilingual staff is ready to help guests in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Kokopelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Kokopelli Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing