We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, great clientele & staff”
Review of Hostel Kokopelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Kokopelli
Ranked #16 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had a great time hanging out with everyone in the hostel. Loved the decor & the idea behind the hostels name & attitude. Usually ended up at the bar in the hostel instead of going out :) You can bartend at the bar to get a free night. The t-shirts & stuff for sale in the lobby are total worth getting & are great souvenirs.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knash917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed for one night only , but I wish I could have stay longer. The staff was great. They have good information and are always willing to help. It is a great place to meet people as there is a bar. The lockers are massive. The WiFi works great. The location could not be any better: Miraflores and close to a bunch of bars and restaurants. You just don't want to leave. I am sure I will be back to this hostel as I will go back to Peru.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablopimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

arrived here four days before meeting up with a good friend of mine, was slighlty nervous as to what i was going to do during that time before she arrived. kokopelli and the amazing staff at the hostel gave me the answer. from planning to only stay for a day after she arrived we stayed there nine days, simply due to the fact that everyone was really helpful. had the time of our lives enjoying the night life, which the amazing argentinian event planner, ernesto, sorted out every night. we warmed up in the bar before going out at night, i managed to try all the flavours of pisco, worth doing if you have the time.
it is located in miraflores, which is where the only ruins in lima are, really nice and central to a main plaza, and just around the corner from la lucha, the best sandwich spot in peru. it also has a kitchen, which is a treat when you feel like making your own food.
i will be sure to head back to Kokopelli Lima as soon as i am in Peru again. they are an amazing chain of hostels, and the owner was incredibly helpful giving us tips and tricks for the rest of our trip.
highly recommend this establishment to any and all backpackers looking for a good time, where the boogie is strong and the people are real.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silas_Eliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We extended our stay in Lima by two days, not to do more sightseeing or because we enjoyed the city, but because we had such an amazing time at this hostel. The owner, Paulo, as well as all of the staff were unbelievably helpful. Going out of their way to make us feel comfortable and gave great advice for the rest of our trip through Peru.
I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel if you don't mind a bit of noise. The rooftop bar is the perfect spot for breakfast, a chilled out afternoon playing cards or having a few drinks in the evening. The rooms were decent size with very comfortable mattresses. The bathrooms and communal areas were spotless, and there was always hot water.
Can't wait to try out the other Kokopelli hostels in Cusco and Mancora.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sinead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After staying at Kokopelli Cusco we came to this place with high expactations.
This is a well located place in a street with a lot of bars in Miraflores.
The staff which is mainly peruvian people (unlike in Cusco) is generally nice BUT there is one guy called Hector (I think he runs the bar) which is absolutley the least nice person I ever met in hostels. He is rude, unfriendly, often you'll find him screaming, and he is just tries to hit on every attractive female tourist (I don't blame the guy but he doesn't care about anything else).
The rooms are a bit tiny and because the street is very popular you'll find yourself waking up early. Showers and restrooms were often without warm water when we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was very lucky to get upgraded from a dorm bed to a private room because of overbooking and my bed was super comfy! I also had a bathroom to myself which was a luxury. The hostel is clean and central and the rooftop bar is cozy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meanderingcailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Party, friends that feel like family and the best location ever!!! It's a hostel so no big accommodations but what else do you need if you have the amazing top roof!!! And the people that work there help you with everything!!! Everything!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamaria1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 358 in Lima
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 358 in Lima
429 reviews
LOKI Lima
#4 of 358 in Lima
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kokopelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kokopelli

Address: Calle Berlin 259 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Kokopelli is a fun place for backpackers to spend the night and meet people from all over the world. It's a clean and inexpensive hostel with a convivial atmosphere and a great location in the heart of Miraflores. The beds at Hostel Kokopelli are large, the clean showers have high water pressure and sheets and towels are provided. There are funky indoor and outdoor common areas, personal lockers and a luggage room plus Wi-Fi and computers with access to the Internet. Guests can also take advantage of the hostel's laundry service, book exchange, bike rental, and surfing tours and courses. Reception is available 24 hours a day and the multilingual staff is ready to help guests in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Kokopelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Kokopelli Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing