We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super noisy, super social.”
Review of Hostel Kokopelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Kokopelli
Ranked #18 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super noisy, super social.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arriving jetlagged and exhausted into a place like Kokopelli had us struggling to find sleep on the 2nd/3rd floor private rooms - with the sound of kegs/equipment/whatever being dragged across the floor directly above us - which turned out to be the bar, as well as some incredibly rude guys in the room next door who wouldn't shutup.

The place quickly grew on me though, the rooftop bar is fantistic, although a little bit smoky. Breakfast is good enough, the drinks upstairs are cheap and the hostel is in a fantastic location. Temporarily finding myself a solo traveller (with a sick girlfriend stuck in bed for a couple of days) a quick trip up to the rooftop bar went from a casual beer to rooftop jams and singalongs and great stories with a bunch of people from all over the world.

Nice hostel with a great vibe, but a bit noisy at times, would have stayed longer though if we could.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    136
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
9
97
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Kokopelli is in a good location and even though it's located near lots of bars it's not too noisy at night. There are big lockers to store your stuff during the day and helpful staff. The only problem I had, which seriously affected my visit, is that the only place to hangout is filled with people that smoke cigarettes all day. The bar upstairs is the only place that is set up for hanging and the smoke just sits there with little ventilation. I felt uncomfortable almost the entire time and would only recommend this place to heavy smokers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TarheelGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had a great time hanging out with everyone in the hostel. Loved the decor & the idea behind the hostels name & attitude. Usually ended up at the bar in the hostel instead of going out :) You can bartend at the bar to get a free night. The t-shirts & stuff for sale in the lobby are total worth getting & are great souvenirs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knash917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed for one night only , but I wish I could have stay longer. The staff was great. They have good information and are always willing to help. It is a great place to meet people as there is a bar. The lockers are massive. The WiFi works great. The location could not be any better: Miraflores and close to a bunch of bars and restaurants. You just don't want to leave. I am sure I will be back to this hostel as I will go back to Peru.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablopimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

arrived here four days before meeting up with a good friend of mine, was slighlty nervous as to what i was going to do during that time before she arrived. kokopelli and the amazing staff at the hostel gave me the answer. from planning to only stay for a day after she arrived we stayed there nine days, simply due to the fact that everyone was really helpful. had the time of our lives enjoying the night life, which the amazing argentinian event planner, ernesto, sorted out every night. we warmed up in the bar before going out at night, i managed to try all the flavours of pisco, worth doing if you have the time.
it is located in miraflores, which is where the only ruins in lima are, really nice and central to a main plaza, and just around the corner from la lucha, the best sandwich spot in peru. it also has a kitchen, which is a treat when you feel like making your own food.
i will be sure to head back to Kokopelli Lima as soon as i am in Peru again. they are an amazing chain of hostels, and the owner was incredibly helpful giving us tips and tricks for the rest of our trip.
highly recommend this establishment to any and all backpackers looking for a good time, where the boogie is strong and the people are real.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silas_Eliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We extended our stay in Lima by two days, not to do more sightseeing or because we enjoyed the city, but because we had such an amazing time at this hostel. The owner, Paulo, as well as all of the staff were unbelievably helpful. Going out of their way to make us feel comfortable and gave great advice for the rest of our trip through Peru.
I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel if you don't mind a bit of noise. The rooftop bar is the perfect spot for breakfast, a chilled out afternoon playing cards or having a few drinks in the evening. The rooms were decent size with very comfortable mattresses. The bathrooms and communal areas were spotless, and there was always hot water.
Can't wait to try out the other Kokopelli hostels in Cusco and Mancora.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After staying at Kokopelli Cusco we came to this place with high expactations.
This is a well located place in a street with a lot of bars in Miraflores.
The staff which is mainly peruvian people (unlike in Cusco) is generally nice BUT there is one guy called Hector (I think he runs the bar) which is absolutley the least nice person I ever met in hostels. He is rude, unfriendly, often you'll find him screaming, and he is just tries to hit on every attractive female tourist (I don't blame the guy but he doesn't care about anything else).
The rooms are a bit tiny and because the street is very popular you'll find yourself waking up early. Showers and restrooms were often without warm water when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_1990_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#8 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
LOKI Lima
#2 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kokopelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kokopelli

Property: Hostel Kokopelli
Address: Calle Berlin 259 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Kokopelli is a fun place for backpackers to spend the night and meet people from all over the world. It's a clean and inexpensive hostel with a convivial atmosphere and a great location in the heart of Miraflores. The beds at Hostel Kokopelli are large, the clean showers have high water pressure and sheets and towels are provided. There are funky indoor and outdoor common areas, personal lockers and a luggage room plus Wi-Fi and computers with access to the Internet. Guests can also take advantage of the hostel's laundry service, book exchange, bike rental, and surfing tours and courses. Reception is available 24 hours a day and the multilingual staff is ready to help guests in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Kokopelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Kokopelli Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing