We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent setup let down by some of the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pariwana Hostel Lima
Ranked #1 of 343 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty decent setup let down by some of the staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was surprised at how busy the location is - its right on a massive roundabout so the noise and car horns are 24 hrs. The rooms facing the road are pretty loud. Its close to a lot of stuff in Miraflores though. The facilities are pretty good. Upstairs has a good sized bar area with an outdoor rooftop terrace that has table tennis and foozball. WIfi is non existent in the rooms and can be sketchy in the common area.

The activities are pretty disappointing. They have daily activities on the board but they just about never eventuate. There is no communication from the staff as to what is going on with them.

My main problem was being shifted around a lot of different rooms as we wanted a double room. We were told more than once that we had a room and then were moved to a twin or a dorm without notice. It was made clear to me in no uncertain terms that bookings of 1 night take precedent over bookings of multiple nights, which seems backwards to me. I have no doubt that internet bookings are treated better than walk-ins due to the greater possibility of a bad review.

In the end we moved to another hostel nearby for our last couple of nights and it was better. Its too bad because a couple of the staff are great but the place is let down by poor management in the reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the roundabout are very noisy and the 4 bed dorm on the rooftop terrace is noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wornjandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    252
    63
    14
    15
See reviews for
10
94
257
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, great staff, great fun!

We both eally enjoyed this hostel, lots going on, really nice people.

Best thing of all - THE BEDS WERE SO COMFORTABLE!

Stay there! We stayed twice we liked it so much.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpitfireSVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hostel is fine if you're looking for somewhere to stay that's similar to the big party hostels (ie. Loki) in Lima, but not as busy.

The showers were always hot, the security was good and the location was right in Miraflores. However the staff weren't always so friendly (they always seemed distracted and unwilling to give me their full attention). The bar advertised a pub quiz one night but it never happened despite us waiting, and the kitchen closed at 9pm, which I thought was quite early.

If you want to party and you can't get into the other bigger party hostels then stay here. If you want to relax then it's probably a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

I tried to find a hostel in cusco but I discovered other Hostals closer to the Plaza de Armas and with better prices. It's better to search for prices first!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaristoASantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

the dorms are big and the beds are comfy and clean...the breakfast is very simple (butter, jam, bread, tee and coffee) I always had a hot shower and clean bathrooms. The location is very good in Miraflores.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Maria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Estanislao, San Pedro, Paraguay
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, great location, decent bar---but really we felt that people were there to be "seen". Still a fun place and they offer a lot of help with booking tours, trips, excursions, renting bikes, etc. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location, clean and very relaxed.
Friendly staff, helped us with good tips on restaurants.
We chose a private bedroom with private toilet. It was clean, comfortable and cheap. However it was very noisy (traffic and the hostel bar...).
The included brakfast was simple but good.
Nice rooftop bar.
Would recommend for people travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco_OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 227 in Lima
815 reviews
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 343 in Lima
208 reviews
LOKI Lima
#5 of 343 in Lima
399 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#9 of 343 in Lima
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwana Hostel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwana Hostel Lima

Property: Pariwana Hostel Lima
Address: Av. Jose Larco 189 | Miraflores, Lima 14, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 343 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pariwana Lima is the top located hostel in town: right in the heart of the residential and cultural district of Miraflores and with a privileged front view to the Central Park, also named Kennedy Park. The hostel is surrounded by shops, coffee shops, restaurants, fast food franchises, cinemas, drugstores, transportation facilities and superb night life. Pariwana is bringing with it a huge range of Peruvian design and arts. This ideally located house has been decorated within the range of the Peruvian-trendy movement and has been specially thought to target the backpackers desire to experience our culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Pariwana Hostel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing