We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied. 'nuff said!”
Review of Magma Sushi Lounge

Magma Sushi Lounge
Ranked #592 of 2,515 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant was on the corner or Larco and San Martin. Great food at a good price. The best sushi in Lima.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Satisfied. 'nuff said!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After 8 months without sushi, it was grand to have finally had some, and I'm glad we chose Magma. It was around 6:30 on Monday night and we were the only ones there, but the sushi looked fresh and tasted fresh. Most Maki rolls are around S.25 which is pretty much the price you're going to have to pay around the Miraflores district for most entrees although it was a splurge for our budget. They had a lot of variety to choose from.

Our rolls were really delicious, the service was all right. the ambience was nice. So all-in-all I'd say it wasn't the best sushi I ever had, but it was satisfying. And would I go there again? Yes. Would I recommend it? yes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    22
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The sushi here was just average and I found the rolls weren't tight enough as they broke appart as you dipped them in soy sauce. The sashimi also looked like it was cut with a blunt knife.

The flavours were fine but I felt this place would be better. I had read good reviews and it was listed in the Lonely Planet guide.

Lima is filled with sushi places and so shop around before you come here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best overall sushi experience in Lima”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have been eating at Magma for the past three years, usually about once a week. The sushi is fresh, the makis are original and creative incorporating Peruvian elements and styles. I always start with the flaming shellfish appetizer "The Fire" It is entertaining and the combinations are great for preparing your pallet for the sushi options. Peru has great sushi in many wonderful restaurants. Edo is probably the best recognized and has great sushi, but lacks the casual, comfortable feel of Magma. It is a small restaurant but intimate and they have arrangements and table for a group of 10-12 or a couple. The owner is usually present to chat and receive feedback. I like this place a lot and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to locals or visitors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntiSurTravelPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delicious sushi, not expensive”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

What a great find! The sushi here was very fresh and very delicious. I would highly recommend trying their salmon TNT, cabo blanco maki and golden maki. Overall I had s great experience here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good peruvian influence sushi”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

sushi was great and comparable to canadian prices. they give it a bit of a twist with adding on a sauce to the rolls. It was a great recommendation from a canadian who lives in Lima and said it's the best sushi in Lima!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank melaniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magma Sushi Lounge also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Magma Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing