We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For being15th ranked in the world I expected more”

Central Restaurante
Ranked #21 of 2,473 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$140
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“For being15th ranked in the world I expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I live less than a block from this resturant and had heard great things not to mention its recent ranking as the #15 ranked resturant in the WORLD. So I went into dinner with high hopes. The food turned out to be really good but not something that blew me away. The drinks were really unique and tasty but served in glasses that were similar to a martini so they were really small proportions especially for the rediculious price. The portioning of the main dishes was much the same... small. For 90 soles I expected more then a tiny cut of port and about a half cup of apple sauce. The big let down was the service. We had to wave them over whenever we needed anything from a drink, to ordering, to refills. They served half the table coffee after dinner because they flagged down the waiters but the waiters never asked the rest of the table so we missed out. I was left disappointed. I would much rather go back to Pescados Capitales or Punto Azul or a dozen other amazing peruvian resturants

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7uck_7uck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,657
    352
    153
    63
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I came here for dinner with friends. We started with drinks form the bar and they were very good. For dinner, we ordered several items from the menu and found them all to be great. We were in a small private room, so did not get to enjoy the full ambiance of the place. One could easily tell the restaurant had a good atmosphere for a date or special occasion.

Service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vmvasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food! Amazing cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

After taking a gourmet food tour of Lima, we had high expectations for our first meal in Peru. Central exceeded these expectations and then some! The restaurant is tucked away on a quiet street in the Miraflores district. We made a reservation and when we arrived we were promptly seated at our table. The restaurant itself is beautiful. Every table on the first floor has a great view of the kitchen (situated behind floor to ceiling glass) in which to see the the chef and his team at work. It was amazing to see the attention given to the slightest detail in the food's preparation and presentation throughout the meal. The service was incredible. It was the perfect balance of attentiveness and distance. You felt as if you could enjoy your meal with your family while still having every need attended to. And then the food. The octopus appetizer was the best octopus I've ever had. Each main course meal was delicious and served in a beautiful presentation that highlighted the natural beauty of different Peruvian ingredients. Another lovely part of eating at Central is seeing the Chef/Owner at work. Virgilio was in the kitchen cooking, assisting staff with presentation, tasting food, greeting customers, and checking in with those eating. Despite being recently named #15 restaurant in the world by Forbes magazine, Virgilio operates Central like a small business. I couldn't recommend this restaurant more! A trip to Lima without a trip to Central would be a mistake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckleytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went to Central Restaurant with high expectations for a memorable evening given the very favorable reviews, and chosen as the best restaurant in Peru and supposedly one of the " very best in the world".
Frankly disappointing. Reservations are necessary to be made well in advance and which is quite unusual in this city, not for one you wish to go, but for when they have the space. Their is only a 10 minute grace period if you are delayed and pat that time your reservation is cancelled. We arrived on time and were ushered to our table, but it was was not ready, although the restaurant was only half full.
We ordered a wine from the list but supposedly the last bottle had been served that evening.
The food was nicely served with lots of decor but not particularly well accomplished. My husband ordered a "foie gras tart" which was too sweet and with lots of ingredients but it was hard to find the foie.
I ordered lacquered shrimp with no special distinction. Our main dishes, of short ribs for my husband and fish for myself, were alright.
The chocolate desert would have been ok with the chocolate ice cream which was very good. The rest of the ingredients on the plate served only as decor.
The breads served with two different types of butter were delicious.
In sum, we found it to be very pretentious, using lots of supposedly native ingredients that did not do much for flavor in most cases

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malena_Martinez, General Manager at Central Restaurante, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ines:

We regret that we failed to provide you with a pleasantly memorable experience, and we apologize that your table was not properly prepared. Please note that we do allow a 15-minute grace period for reservations in case an unforeseen circumstance arises in which it isn't possible to inform us of a late arrival. It is also a pity that our contemporary cuisine of our country wasn't to your liking. We appreciate your comments which help us to improve.

KInd regards,
Malena Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
256 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The 2nd fine dine cuisine in Lima.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

In a most relaxed way this restaurant offers you a high quality plates with a modern touch.
You can see the the kitchen and the prices are according. The service in very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Restaurante also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Central Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing