We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asked us to move to a single bed because they overbooked!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mochilero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Mochilero
Ranked #96 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Asked us to move to a single bed because they overbooked!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly, initially we had a good experience with the lady managers of this hostel, but that turned bad later in the afternoon after we had been waiting for 6hours for our bed.
There were a group of 22 skateboarders who were checking out at 12noon and we then had a bed. Then at 5pm the group could not organize a bus to leave so they wanted to stay another night although their beds were taken. All in all there were due to be 22 skateboards (sleeping on the floor, couches an the rooftop in swinging chairs), then my girlfriend and I got asked to move to a single bed (from our double bed and pay for more than a single bed.

1) the hostel is licensed to hold 15 people maximum
2) after this group checked out it was not our problem that they could not leave due to bus difficulties
3) out of the almost 40 people now in the 15 peopl maximum hostel they asked us to move to another dorm and sleep on a single bed
4) we were happy to do so but not to pay for more than a single bed for the inconvenience.
5) there is another hostel right next door (3m) which had beds available and they never even thought to move some of the extra guests there as they wanted the money

In the end we moved next door and had a much quieter stay with less than the allowed maximum number of people and we were much nor comfortable anyway. It's a shame the manager didn't even thank us for being considerate and moving to accommodate their problems!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    13
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
8
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff is what makes this place great. Very helpful and friendly.

The building and amenities are solidly acceptable. Beds are not particularly comfortable, but, they get the job done. Bathrooms are clean, but definitely need work.

Overall, you won't regret staying here, but, you'll appreciate other places more after staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velke Teriakovce, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It is a nice welcoming hostel were staff is willing to help you, from tips of places to visit in Lima, walks near the hostel and waking up early morning to go with you to catch a safe taxi. With a nice kitchen you can safe some Soles, internet is free(although the house computer was not working when we stayed but wifi was on). You can also enjoy a couple off beers and chat with friends or other costumers in the top terrace. Besides rooms are shared, we didn't have any problem and got a nice resting sleep. You wont regret your money spent, the best from Lima. Tea and coffe is available all day =D.

Room Tip: it is always advisable to get some earplugs...just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stable and clean beds, kitchen, bathrooms and extremely helpful owners for a great price make for a great experience. Situated in a quiet residential area with corner stores just 200m away. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kajakaventyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Cheap hostels are hard to find in the Miraflores area of Lima, this one is about 15 minutes away from Parque Kennedy (the center), but was well worth the walk. The women running this hostel were incredibly friendly and helpful, even let me leave my luggage there while I visited a couple more hostels to compare. Casa del Mochilero is not too small, not too big, has a great kitchen, comfy beds, a nice communal area, and everything is totally clean. Best of all is the most helpful staff I have encountered in South America. They went above and beyond what I would expect from any hostel staff - we had an issue with a laundromat and they came with us to translate/negotiate, and came into the street to negotiate with taxi drivers to make sure we got a fair price.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Really liked the personal vibe there, it´s run by a family. Essentially it´s a flat with a rooftop-terrace. It does not offer much but it´s quiet and cheap and I guess just 15 beds are in there.
Location is good and central Miraflores is just 10 min walking distance. No bar but you can bring your own drinks. Although nothing special I really liked it there.
It´s also close to the beach and if you´re a surfer it´s a good pick.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank homeless_kodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

One of my favourite hostels in Peru. As the hostel is essentially a house turned hostel the atmosphere is great. The dorms are not too big, very comfy and very clean. The living/dining room area is very homey and if you want a good hostel to meet other backpacker's in a nice costy environment this is the place. Juan and Pilar, the owners, are really friendly, a little eccentric and very helpful. Hostel is situated in Miraflores which is a nice area and is not too far from the seafront and other popular parts of the city.

DO NOT GET THIS HOSTEL CONFUSED WITH IT'S 2 NEIGHBOURS!! There are 2 hostels surrounding Casa de Mochilero one with a similar name and they have been known to try take more than their fair share of customers. Friends of mine had a booking at Casa de Mochilero and one of the other hostels managed to convince them that they were the same hostel and they paid and were convinced to check in and pay for the other hostel. Just make sure the name is 'Casa de Mochilero'!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
La Casa del Viajero
#128 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Miraflores
House Inn Backpacker
House Inn Backpacker
#114 of 318 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Explorer's House
#49 of 318 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Nomade Backpackers Hostel
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 318 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#9 of 318 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mochilero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mochilero

Property: Casa del Mochilero
Address: Chacaltana 130A | 2.Stockwerk, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Mochilero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing