We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but expensive place to stay”
Review of Hostal Sol y Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Sol y Luna
Ranked #105 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our Peruvian holiday and found it to be a very nice hotel. We were upgraded to a lovely Junior Suite which was amazing, so large and luxurious. We ate in both restaurants and the food was of high quality although our favourite was the one in the ranch which had much more character and a better menu, The staff were helpful and friendly and we visited the local school that the hotel runs which was very interesting. The only thing we found a negative was that most things were not included. For instance we had to pay for the gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, hot drinks etc. In fact just the B&B was included. t wouldn't put me off going again because it was a beautiful place but I think they should consider these extra costs.

Room Tip: Try not to have a villa by the outside wall as we experienced quite a lot of noise from general life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Sol y Luna Boutique Lodge located near the community of Urubamba is set in the most beautiful grounds just to walk through them to your cottage is your first clue to how much you are going to enjoy staying here. Wonderful king size bed with cozy duvet and lots of pillows, with stained glass windows above, table and chairs to sit, and a good size bathroom, all very clean. A deck with chairs provide a place to sit and admire the flowers and grounds. A Swimming pool, two restaurants, the one I ate in had an upstairs bar and very friendly, professional staff, the bar manager showed me how to make a Pisco sour! Excellent food and good wine selection. I did not try the spa as they were fully booked so make a reservation as soon as you arrive if you can. The receptionist at check out was most helpful as there was some misunderstanding with my tour company re my luggage and she went out of her way to help me, phoning my guide herself to clarify. Lovely place to relax and use as a home base while exploring the area. I highly recommend the boutique and would definitely return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sol y Luna B&B is on the farther side of Cieneguilla, on the other side of the river from Lima. We had known about it from facebook and the cieneguilla.com town portal but had dismissed it because we knew it was small, within a regular town block and had no view of the river since it was a block away. We were looking for a place with big green areas and a very natural feel, so it did not look rustic or rural enough to our liking. Instead we opted for a closer place on Nueva Toledo Av. with a large garden that had been recommended to us for the good pachamanca and we assumed from it's website's pictures that it's rooms were good as well. Oh boy, did we regret it. After a dreadful experience, we called Sol y Luna at about 10 am on Peruvian independence day. They told us that they were almost sure they'd have a room by noon. We decided to check out of the hostal from hell we were staying at, go check Sol y Luna out and go back to Lima if it was a disappointment.

Luckily we were not disappointed. From the outside the place looked clean, colorful and recently painted (except for the water tank but who cares about a water tank). We were greeted very warmly by the owner and told to go by the small pool if we wanted to catch some sun rays while we waited for the room. The place was a bit smaller than what we thought it looked from it's facebook pictures and has a bit of a parking issue but it is more colorful and actually looks better that on it's pictures. It's filled with little details that make you feel at home like the fact that they hang blankets on the deck chairs on cold mornings or the little knickknacks on the lobby's mantle. At least one of the owners (a somewhat older couple with a daughter) was always present. The pool and garden furniture is not in the best state but they drape blankets on the garden furniture which makes it sort of ok and adds a pop of color. The pool looked very clean and the garden was in very good shape. The B&B has been there for 20 years and shows it here and there but they make up for it in other ways. It is quaint and homey without feeling like a trip to your grandma's.

The staff was extremely helpful and warm. After the fiasco of the previous hotel we asked to see the room first. I was not feeling well, one girl from the staff showed us to the room, we inspected it, were happy and as soon as my boyfriend left to complete the check in process (I hadn't closed the door) I ran to the bathroom sick. She was still in the doorway and saw this, asked me what was wrong and ran and told my boyfriend downstairs that I was not feeling well. She handed him some medicine a couple of minutes later and checked on me later in the day. You have to interact with the kitchen staff directly to get food at times but they take special requests, they are also very helpful and interact well with the guests. The kitchen is open and looks clean. In general everyone, from the owner to the person doing the cleaning is always trying to make your stay more comfortable and doing their best at all times.

Our room was not the best one in the B&B, I'm guessing basically due to having just walked in, but it was nice and clean. It was cozy and perfect for two people. It had an ensuite small bathroom, a double bed, a small closet, a small 13" television with Directv, a bedside table, a lamp, a big window with curtains, two watercolor paintings, a fan, a full body mirror and a tablecloth covered table which looked like a desk (although no chairs). We were on the second floor, the ceiling was sloped and wooden, adding warmth. The double bed had 4 great pillows and 3 decorative small ones, all in great shape. The bed linens and duvet cover were pristine, stark white and smelled clean. The bed had a down comforter, either very well allergy-treated or made from top notch fake feathers because my allergies didn't act up (I usually react badly to regular down), the small synthetic contrasting blanket was a little dusty but good besides that. The bed itself was on the medium-firm side but not hard and it was really good. There is activity from very early in the kitchen which was directly under our room so it did get a little noisy with the window open. We had a regular double 2 pin wall outlet with and a 3 pin wall outlet that looked meant to be used for computers since it was besides the table/desk. The room looked well thought out and was the perfect size for two people. Since there is no phone there is no actual calling for room service but the staff will knock on your door to deliver your breakfast if it is past 10 am. There is free wi-fi.

The ensuite bathroom was very small and not very well distributed, It had a very tall ceiling and smelled a bit weird. So after taking a shower and noticing the steam went nowhere, we realized that it had no vents or any way for the steam to escape (that we noticed), the closed windows were very high up and looked sealed shut. That explained the musty smell I noticed when I first opened the bathroom door. In spite of not having any windows you can open, the bathroom has a lot of natural lighting and a couple of mirrors. The towels were clean, very white, fluffy and in good shape. We got two large ones. A hand towel would have been nice. The shower and sink did show their 20 years of service and were not that great but it was all well cleaned in spite of the smell.

The food is very good but takes a little while. Portions are on the bigger side. The included free breakfast was good but not huge. They do take special requests and modifications due to dietary restrictions. There is quite a variety of food including several trout dishes. Sadly they do not make pachamanca or other Andean food but it is just not that kind of place. The dining area is kind of strange, you have a choice to eat either on a deck in front of the pool or in what I think is a dining room that doubles as a dance hall which is far and completely disconnected from the kitchen with an empty bar.

If you walk along this structure you will find other strange rooms such as what I cannot decide whether it's a conference room or a restaurant and an abandoned conference room that seems to be used for storage on the second floor. They are currently building a gym and spa with sauna, showers, cold pool, whirlpool bath as well as a salon. It is supposed to be finished by the end of the year. The pool and bath looked ready and very clean.

In spite of the fact that the place was at full occupancy while we stayed, we never felt it was crowded. It actually looked almost empty for most of the time. Dogs seem to be allowed and the owners are pet lovers. If you don't see a dog you could never tell because there was not a dog hair in sight. The common areas are clean and peaceful. Our friend came to visit us for lunch and to stay during the day. We stayed talking on one of many a small living areas downstairs and later on a small cozy second floor living room space with wicker chairs.

Value-wise this place was very good. It was the same price as the other place we stayed at and due to Peruvian Independence day the fee was S/. 300 when normally it is S/.200 for the room we took. The great bed and awesome service made up for any other minor inconvenience we might have had. The service was amazing and the place was very clean. It is a peaceful place, perfect for relaxing and we will probably go back in the future.

Room Tip: Pick rooms far from the kitchen since it can get a little noisy. Second floor ceilings are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugar_128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rossie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Milton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank GiovanniBaldovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Gran Hotel
#184 of 230 in Lima
40 reviews
San Isidro
BTH Hotel
BTH Hotel
#22 of 230 in Lima
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#13 of 230 in Lima
850 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Hostal L'Baron
#161 of 230 in Lima
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol y Luna

Address: Calle 13 Mz. 13-3rd stage, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing