We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained mansion in Central Lima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #17 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 24 February 2012

In the fall of 2011 I made use of an opportunity to backpack South and Central America. 1900 Backpacker's Hostel was the very first hostel I ever stayed in. The staff are all fluent in English and very accommodating. The house is very secure and sits right at the edge of the tourist district in Central Lima. It is directly across the street from the Museo De Arte.

Rooms are very clean. Bathrooms are shared but cleaned several times a day. Breakfast is the standard hostel fare - rolls, coffee, jam and juice. You are on your own for lunch and dinner but that is normal for hostels. Plenty of restaurants abound. The hostel does have a bar, and a common room that sports tables, couches, chairs and a very nice pool table. The staff are friendly and often inclined to hang out and chat. Sometimes they have parties in the evening and once during my week there, a band.

They will also arrange at your request for a car to pick you up from the airport. You'll pay more, but its worth it for the safety factor - especially if its your first time to Lima. Safety on the streets of Lima can sometimes be an issue, but I felt very secure, very safe at 1900 Backpackers and in this neighborhood. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel that gives you easy access to Miraflores. Central Lima with its historic buildings are within walking distance.

1900 Backpackers hostel was a great introduction to hosteling and I would stay there again if I return to Peru.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallroomPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm kinda new to trekking & hosteling, long time couch surfer, and I know a good thing when I see it. 1900 Backpackers' Hostel is the real deal. relatively new, it is housed in gorgeous retrofitted historic building and remains property of long time family owners, one of whom is partner in hostel. international staff speak fluent English (polyglots all), well acquainted with city. safe clean area in cosmopolitan city. my daughter loved nearby Perdo's chicken...the hostel is very large, ornate, with large comfortable rooms, shared baths. large rec areas, bar, breakfast and Internet space, TV viewing area. fabulous high vaulted ceilings, mosaic tiled floors...very reasonable, desayuna included. nearby miraflores is lovely, energetic barrio. would stay again, but they are booked, darn it.

Room Tip: awesome! so big, ltd camaraderie, but that's the only minor drawback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at 1900 Backpackers. Just after our arrival in Peru and we came back at the end as we liked its high level of safety, kitchen facilities and that everybody of the staff spoke English. What we didnt like: noises at night from the courtyard, shared bathrooms (just 1 toilet in the men's facilities!, lack of toilet paper). Rooms are very basic but rather clean. Breakfast is satisfactory (jam, rolls, tea). Free and working wifi (however not in rooms).

Room Tip: Unfortunately no rooms with bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grregg_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

It is a really nice hostel if you are looking for a cheap place. It definitely has the feel of classic backpackers hostel. The rooms are nice, shared bathrooms are okay. Breakfast is simple but it's enough with bread, jam, butter, coffe/tea. It has a nice common room with a pool table. Also they have nice beers. The neighborhood is definitely not the safest but 15 mins walk to historical centre of Lima. The buses to Miraflores and other places leave just in front of the hostel. Employees are so friendly and helpful. Additionally you should know that there will be noise through the night!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikezgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

It was our first time in south america and to be honest we didnt plan to spend much time in lima but we found this amazing hostel, with friendly staff,,, they gave us some good ideas about where to go so we stayed around one week there and it was amazing... the hostel is very nice, bathrooms are clean and rooms are confortable, it was the first time we tried pisco sour and they do a very good one yummy!!!!....nice experience and for sure i recomend this place to everybody, special thanks to Victor who showed us the city after his night shift, everything was great, we'll back soon.....

Room Tip: try private rooms, they are big and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The owner opened the building 4 months ago, and the service is amazing! Very helpful and attentive.
Great location in the historic district, if you are into history and architecture. Good, clean facilities. Nice continental brkfst with great bread, fridge and option to cook if you want to!
Noisy street, we got really tired of vibrant honking of the horns, but that has something to do with Lima itself-it's noisy everywhere!
Highly, highly recommended!!!!!!!
Thank for a great service and all the help!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edavt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were advise not to go the historic center of lima but after checking out many reviews and pictures on this hostel, we decided to go. We found that the area was really safe and the hostel itself was outstanding. It didn't look like a backpacker to me, but it felt like one, with good vibe and really the best hosts I have known. Everything was clean and well kept. The only thing I can think that can be improved was the kitchen size. Anyway, we never used it. There are so many good value places around that it doesn't make sense to cook. You can buy a nice lunch for 8 sol just 60 feet away from the hostel door. We loved it and will come back at the end of our trip!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josephzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 372 in Lima
791 reviews
Callao
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#13 of 372 in Lima
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Lima House
Lima House
#20 of 372 in Lima
19 reviews
Condor`s House
#28 of 372 in Lima
311 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 372 in Lima
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Address: Ave Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima L 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £7 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 1900 Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated mansion in the historic center of Lima,walking distance from Lima's main tourist attractions and just in front of The Lima museum of art. It is a perfect blend of luxury and low price, old and new. With marble floors and french architecture, this backpacker oriented hostel provides plenty of fun with its stylish bar overlooking Old Lima and its good vibe! Hope you enjoy Lima with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 1900 Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing