We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hostel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hostel has a lot of potential but sill has some work to do. It is in a historic building, but could stand to be a bit cleaner. The wifi was pretty bad and one of the front desk employees was super rude. However, I had some positive interactions with several other staff members and thought that the management was doing a good job for the most part. If you are not a hostel goer then you will most likely not like it here. The neighborhood is pretty rough at night, but great during the day, as it is walking distance to many historical sights and museums. I would stay here again, but preferred Miraflores and Barranco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpliske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    113
    55
    21
    22
See reviews for
6
89
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I had 2 nights stay here, I was suppose to check in at 3pm but got there at 430am that morning and because my bed was available they let me go and sleep without charging me for the extra night. Bryan the manager is very helpful along with the rest of the staff. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The place was nice enough - good beds, nice storage lockers, free breakfast (although it was only 2 rolls and coffee). The wifi rarely worked but they had 2 computers you could use (if you could get a turn). The place seems to have very thin walls and the dorms are right in the action, meaning it was quite noisy. There is a bar onsite and a large open lounge which you were able to hear all night from the dorms (and of course the traffic, but it is on a main street in a city so that is to be expected).

Our main issue was with the staff. They seemed nice and tried to be helpful but were either not trained very well or were just incompetent. The night that my fiancé and I arrived we were told there was only one bed available which we said was fine, we would share (even though there was another empty bunk in the same room). The next day we were able to get a second bed, but in a different room. I liked that room better (further from the noise) so we said that was fine, again. The next night my fiancés name had been erased from his first bed and despite the staff and us both being bilingual they were apparently unable to understand the situation. We were told that they could get us in the same room but we would have to move to a different room, despite there being 3 empty beds in my dorm room. We decided to drop it and say it was fine to share a bed in that room again. The next night there were 5 empty beds in the room so we decided to try again to explain the simple fact that he needed a bed. And, again, we were met with lots of confusion, but finally got him his own bed. When we went to check out the next day they thought he had only been there for 1 night. It seemed impossible to get any of them to understand anything. And they kept messing up our names even though they watched us write them and they had them from our passport information (important later, I think). Despite that, it was a nice enough place and close to the museums that we wanted to see so we booked a room for a few days later...in person as we checked out.

They "lost" the reservation!! We were told that they didn't have a reservation for us and that they were full. We told them that they kept messing up our names the last time and maybe it was under a different name. They let us look at their reservation tool and I think I realized why they have such issues! It is a terrible mess of a spreadsheet with incomplete information. Even though there were a couple of empty slots we were told aloofly and unconvincingly that they were full. He never even got up to physically make sure that was true at all. The staff seemed unable to use their own common sense and open their eyes and relied too much on a computer that was feeding them wrong information.

In the end I was glad they lost our reservation as we ended up staying at a cheaper place (40 soles, instead of two 25 sole dorm beds) that had a private room/bathroom, hot shower, TV and queen bed. If they "lose" your reservation stay at Hotel Uruguay on Uruguay Ave (just a few blocks North of 1900). Or just save the trouble and stay there to begin with.


TL;DR Staff don't use common sense and seem to not have proper training/are incompetent. Cheaper, better places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had an OK stay in this hostel. A lot of noises from the bar and the busy street outside. A guy in our room had a lot of food under his bed which resulted in a lot of cockroaches (and he was mastrubating in public as well, but thats another issue). The staff took us seriously, and provided a private room for us right away for no extra charge. In the end, it was another guest who ruined our stay, but the staff fixed it right away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

What a great building! Lovely mosaic floors and wood panelled walls. Stayed in a double room which was basic with a fan. The bar was really nice with well priced drinks and friendly staff. A basic breakfast of bread rolls and jam, coffee and juice was included. The reception staff were really helpful and assisted us getting a taxi to the airport for a fair price as we don't speak Spanish. There was a BBQ social whilst we were there's no other events were organised too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anjaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

After arriving into Lima at 5am the team at 1900 welcomed us into the hostel to get our bearings and then held our luggage while we explored the city. The 8 bed dorm was spacious with lockers for belongings and comfy beds. Cold showers in the early hours but made up for by the hospitable nature of all the workers and lovely rooftop BBQ! Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

lovely hostel in a great location, a very near from the main square cool bar area and balconies over looking the business of the main road. really comfy beds and good sheets etc. the staff was so nice, i have nothing to complain about. would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliete1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#67 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Hotel Continental Lima
#56 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Lima Backpackers
#3 of 334 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Backpacker's Hostel

Property: 1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Address: Ave Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima L 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 1900 Backpacker's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated mansion in the historic center of Lima,walking distance from Lima's main tourist attractions and just in front of The Lima museum of art. It is a perfect blend of luxury and low price, old and new. With marble floors and french architecture, this backpacker oriented hostel provides plenty of fun with its stylish bar overlooking Old Lima and its good vibe! Hope you enjoy Lima with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 1900 Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing