We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #82 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Although the beds are a bit small for the average Dutch person, the rooms we stayed in (we stayed at this hotel at two separate occasions) were nice. Very clean, a nice hot shower, and not noisy at all. Breakfast was nice too. Nothing fancy, but the fresh fruit was very tasty and we put the bread grill to good use. The staff were very friendly and spoke English. All in all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naranek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    72
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
34
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here on the front end and back end of a Gate 1 tour. Our first 2 nights, our room was not very nice. It was small and dark. Not very inviting after a long travel day. I will admit we emailed ahead of our stay requesting a quiet room after reading reviews on room noise. Maybe that was a mistake.
At the end of our trip, our room bas spacious and bright. It faced the main street and the noise did not bother us with the windows closed.
Before you have your luggage delivered, look at room first because obviously not all rooms in the hotel are of equal quality.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danielczyk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel was warm and clean. The staff were courteous and spoke excellent english. The location was perfect for central miraflores. The breakfast was somewhat limited, but they accomodated an eary start.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saintfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We only spent the night here before heading on to Cusco. Very basic room, so-so shower. Staff was friendly and accommodating of our 445am departure, greeting us with coffee and toast since we were too early for breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SIGRAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at the Carmel Hotel for three nights. We were travelling with GAdventures and stayed here pre and post tour. The hotel is located in a great location with restaurants, nightlife and shopping close by. It is a short walk to Kennedy Park and to the Inca Market. I would recommend that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms facing the street can be quite noisy at night. The staff were wonderful and attentive. The check in and check out were quick. The breakfast was great. The rooms were basic but clean. A great base for seeing wonderful Lima.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoWro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here twice during my visit to Peru. Excellent location, iclose to everything in Miraflores. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You are a two to three minute walk to the centre f Miraflores, and minutes to numeroues eating area and shopping. |I would stay here again when i go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a part if Gate1 travel package. location is in the heart of Miraflores, the safest part of Lima for tourists. Right across a famous chicken restaurant serving Peruvian cuisine called Norky's. A must for first time visitors! (this is my 5th visit to Peru not to mentiobeing married to one!) right next to it is a laundry service pay by weight. 3 blocks away is the Inka Market for souvenirs and Parque Kennedy for restaurants and strolls. Metro and Wongs supermarket is a good place for your needs from fresh breads and other snacks. This hotel has an excellent wifi connection in every floor. The interior of the rooms needs serious uograding, noise proof glass is a must for the street facing windows, curtains are outdated but sheets are clean. Bathroom has very basic amenities, 2-1 shampoo and tiny bar soaps, and a hairdryer! Flat screen TV small fridge in the room. Adequate hot and cold water in the shower. Computer for public use at the lobby. Breakfast is very basic, eggs, bread jam, and fruits. Around the corner is a pharmacy that you can get bottled water, and has an ATM machine inside. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from the street and higher floors to avoid street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldmissionaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Allpa Hotel & Suites
Allpa Hotel & Suites
#48 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#49 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#64 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#27 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
#98 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Property: Carmel Hotel
Address: Atahualpa Street 152 | Miraflores Lima 18, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing