We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big $$, but fun”

SkyKitchen Peruvian Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 14 Classes & Workshops in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: SkyKitchen is all about Peruvian cuisine and food culture. You will learn about ingredients and the preparation of typical Peruvian dishes by preparing a 3 or 4 course meal by yourself. This is a hands-on cooking class under the instruction of one of our chefs. Enjoy your self-prepared dishes on a nice rooftop terrace overlooking Miraflores having a conversation with your fellow participants and the chef. Add a market tour to your cooking class and learn where most Peruvians get their fresh ingredients daily. Include a fruit tasting of more thank 35 fruits grown in Peru and discover lots of new flavours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big $$, but fun”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Organized by our daughter. Looking for something besides ruins and old churches in Peru.

These guys made it interesting. Maybe now I'll start paying more attention to my food.

Would take another class from them.

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A definite highlight!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Taking a cooking class at Skykitchen was not only a highlight, but it far exceeded my expectations! To start with, Christian (one of the owners/chefs) was so accommodating and responsive when we were organizing our class. The class we took, which was a lunch class, featured traditional Peruvian dishes. We made Papa a la Huancaina (the sauce will rock your world), Ceviche with Mahi Mahi, and Aji de Gallina (a delish chicken dish). After preparing each course, we all sat down at a long table and enjoyed our creations.
Right after the class, Christian sent us the recipes which I cannot wait to make again. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this class. If you're in Lima, it's a must-do!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderluzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Know about Peruvian cuisine”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved shopping the market with the locals, everything so tidy and clean. Christian is German, speaks better English than I do, and could explain the whys and wherefores of so many varieties of potatoes, bananas, strange looking but tasty fruits. We actually tasted the fruits back at the Kitchen after they were washed & cut into into bite size...good idea! We were joined by another couple from Australia and 2 local travel agents. Everyone very cordial. The Sky Kitchen is well organized and demonstrations lead to each of us performing part of the preparation. The meal we prepared was considered typical, with a chili sauce, ceviche, potatoes, a protein...all prepped by the staff and 'cooked' by us. A good & satisfying time was had by all. You will enjoy this manner of learning more about Peru.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NonFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Fun!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I learned a lot, had a lot of fun, and ate A LOT at Sky Kitchen's dinner class. I'm always trying to recreate things I had in restaurants or while traveling and this is a great way to learn about the ingredients, cooking techniques, and then take the recipes home with you. And don't worry, even if you're not a great cook you'll make something good. None of the dishes were too complex, but they were all delicious. BYOB.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour and Class”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just wanted to say that we had a great class with Christian and Yurak and great tour of the Mercado 1 with Christian and Carolina, while Yurak shopped for our fruit tasting and FRESH ingredients for our Andean Delights cooking class. Fantastic time for our party of six.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hummummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SkyKitchen Peruvian Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to SkyKitchen Peruvian Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing