We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Lima !!”

The Lima Gourmet Company
Ranked #1 of 59 Food & Drink in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lima food tours that pamper your palate and nourish your soul by exploring colorful markets, upscale restaurants, trendy districts and authentic stories - all in an intimate group setting. Discover why Lima Gourmet’s ultimate food and city tours have been ranked as the #1 experience in Lima for the last five years.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great way to see Lima !!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We did the 5 Hour day tour of Lima, Peru with the Lima Gourmet Company in April 2014. This tour was GREAT, with tons of amazing bites and drinks. Our tour guide David went above and beyond every step of the way. You could see his passion for Peruvian fare throughout the tour, as he was very informative and seemed like he was having as much fun as we were.

We an organic coffee shop, and a secret garden café where we were given a Lucuma fruit milk-shake, which was out of this world! We visited a local market, and got an opportunity to try various fruits.....and then we stopped by a local fisherman's stand, where we saw his catches for that day. We then went to a restaurant and were given a pisco sour class...where we had an opportunity to make pisco sours, as well as taste various piscos. I definitely got a nice buzz on during this class as we went through a few rounds, which was great! We then went on to a ceviche making class, and had probably some of the freshest ceviche we had in Peru during our trip. We then went to the pre-Incan ruins in Lima, and dined on a few small plates at la Huaca Pucllana -- which was incredible. Great food and drinks! After the tour, we mentioned to David that we were going to check out the Catacombs in Lima, and he graciously gave us a ride there also....

David was awesome....very informative, and a great guy to spend 5 hours with in Lima....we did not get bored at all during this tour....and we left with a LOT of GREAT food in us......The staff was very welcoming, and made sure everyone was having a great time.

I thought that the tour was a little EXPENSIVE -- but eventually I realized that Lima is a pricey city in general....and out of this tour -- we received a lot of great food and drinks...as well as transportation throughout major sites in Lima....so the price really balanced out. We probably would've spent that money on dinner/drinks at any given restaurant in Lima anyway....so this tour is definitely a great way to spend your day and see Lima!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    40
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were collected from where we stayed and ferried around some great places to eat and drink. After a short tour of Barranco we went to the Bodega Verde for a lucuma milkshake which was fantastic. This was followed by an interesting visit to a local market to look at local produce. We then had lessons in how to make Pisco sour cocktails and ceviche - both of which we got to consume! Delicious. Finally, we got taken to the restaurant at Huaca Pucllana overlooking the ancient site, for some small specialist dishes which also were delicious. Our guide David was excellent and very enthusiastic. A great way to spend a morning / lunchtime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HYTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, what an awesome tour! Highlight of Lima for us.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our tour guide Lucas really showed myself and my two young teenagers us around Lima and introduced us to spots that we never would have found by ourselves. Super appreciative of the time, the expertise, and of course the food and drinks. I only wish I had extra time in Lima after this tour where I could go back to the places we visited. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank soccer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Night to be remembered!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was one of my favorite nights of our whole 25 day trip! Great company, even better food, and very memorable time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent tour & delicious food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our tour guide, David, was so excellent. His English is perfect, and he was able to answer all our questions. He was fun to hang out with for 5 hours too, which is important. I wish we could have visited more restaurants, but overall this was a GREAT time. We all loved the lucuma milkshake. The restaurant near the ruins was phenomenal. I really enjoyed seeing the Barranco restaurant, and the coffee was delicious too. Learning how to make ceviche and pisco sours was also fun, and I'm so glad we got the recipes via email afterwards. I would recommend this to everyone who likes food!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliehudson1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lima Gourmet Company also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to The Lima Gourmet Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing