We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SM Hotel & Business
Ranked #114 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on the reviews and thinking it was a convenient choice for an early flight. Not so. We booked a superior room, but had to refuse it as the wall and ceiling had mould on them and it smelled damp and musty. My boyfriend has asthma so we couldn't stay there. We then took a standard room that at least had a window and so no mould, but it was tiny and included the noise of planes overhead and children screeching at 11pm.
It is overpriced, you'll pay only a little more for a FAR better hotel in the centre. SM hotel is 20mins from the airport, Miraflores is 40mins. It just doesn't offer the benefit it appears to.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    133
    66
    18
    11
See reviews for
31
118
46
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is great for flying in and out of Lima, but to get around to the areas of interest you need to grab a cab (or a very scary mini-bus - try it once, you will be amazed you are still alive). The beds were pretty comfortable, and breakfast was very good. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbutterfli33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recommend this hotel for a one night stay if you are arriving in Lima one day and flying out the next. It is a lot closer to the airport than most hotels, the service is good and it has a good breakfast. It's location would be negative if you are planning to stay several nights and see the sites around Lima. The hotel arranged the airport pickup and return for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Chose this for early flight. It is really close to the airport but this means it is also under the flight path! No lift is just odd but young people turn up promptly to take bags. Our room was ridiculously smal and really not big enough for two. So go bigger than standard double if you are not travelling alone. I car to airport was overpriced... 38 soles when a car to Miraflores was 50 and at least twice as far away. So ok for a very fast stopover but otherwise go somewhere more fun.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mkhUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We needed somewhere close to the airport - only spent one night here. The driver was there to pick us up from the airport, and front desk staff were friendly. The room had a musty smell to it, but since we were only spending a short time there we didn't care, but if I were staying longer I would ask for another room, Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were very clean. We had to leave before breakfast was served but they sent us on our way with a breakfast in a bag (juice, cookies etc). Price was reasonable but not as cheap as other hotels we stayed in in Peru.

Room Tip: No elevator, but they carry your bags up for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Traveling on a budget, I tried to get something close to the airport. This not only fit the bill but, a nice little hotel at that! Checking in took a moment yet, hurrying in Peru was found to be counter productive anyway [in a good way]. The staff at reception was always pleasant and helpful; the hotel decorated in a warm, modern and airy motif. It was clean throughout.
I stayed for two nights.....and would have stayed longer; my room was that cozy and comfortable. The room had upscaled linens and amenities. The breakfast was delightful, with eggs, cereal, toast and jam, fruit, coffee and tea. All fresh.....delightful.
The hotel was elegantly, yet discreetly tucked away in a residential area, away from the busy main street a couple of blocks away.......which by the way, had a wonderful local peruvian eatery that the receptionist informed me of. The entrance was very secure. One must use a call box to be identified to gain entry. A major mall was within walking distance, or short taxi ride as well.
I would have given this hotel the highest rating available but the room was quite small. I was traveling solo and with luggage, it was just enough room. Could have used a few more square feet. The room rate was $30 USD a night.......in totality.......seemed fair. I will stay there again if returning to Lima.

Room Tip: I had a room on an upper floor, private entrance, away from the public area.....nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrailRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We flew into Lima late and needed to stay the night before catching another plane the next morning. Prior to our arrival, the hotel had arranged private transfers to and from the airport for us ( they offered and I agreed). Our driver was waiting for us with a sign with my last name (along with a lot of other people with signs) near the front doors. She spoke some English and was very nice. She got us to the hotel just fine. Check-in was easy and our bags were brought to our room. The hotel itself is located behind gates in a somewhat residential neighborhood only 3 miles from the airport ( this is key if you have an early flight the next day. It will still take you about 20 minutes to get to the airport from the hotel due to traffic.). Also, they offered to have a snack ready for us upon our arrival since we were getting in so late. We did not take them up on this though, but we appreciated the gesture.

The hotel itself is modern and clean. It's a series of stairs, turns and hallways which are all open air but covered. Our room was a decent size as was the bathroom. Good water pressure in the shower. There were no windows except in the bathroom to let steam from the shower out. It's was fine given we only stayed a night. The front desk called us in the morning on time for our wake up call. Breakfast was alright. It was bread and fruits. The coffee was great!

Overall the hotel was very clean and the staff was courteous. I would stay here again if only for one night. It is not in an ideal area of town of you plan on exploring Lima for several days. We picked the hotel due to location and cleanliness. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lima
San Miguel
Palmetto Busisness San Miguel
Machu Picchu Suites
#110 of 228 in Lima
68 reviews
Callao
Hotel Palmetto La Perla
Hotel Palmetto La Perla
#137 of 228 in Lima
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginebra Hotel
#149 of 228 in Lima
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SM Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Hotel & Business

Property: SM Hotel & Business
Address: Av. Los Patriotas 623, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SM Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SM Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing