We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but short of 'excellent'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Ranked #3 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice, but short of 'excellent'”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is a nice hotel, and good for business, but its shortcomings will likely prompt me to try one of the competitors the next time. I find the entire ambience 'sterile' -- it isn't warm, luxurious, or inviting. I called to report that the internet in my room was not working, and then 6 hours later went to the front desk to complain in person. I was told "yes, your entire floor is down and it will probably take a couple days to fix". The hotel made no attempt to change me to a different room until I complained rather strongly and told them I expected a new room immediately (I needed the internet for the business I was there to conduct. To their credit, once they agreed to move me, they comped me the internet service) Oh, my pillows were lumpy -- not the type I expect in a JW Marriott. On the up-side, the location is good, the view is the best in Lima, and the gym is really top tier for a hotel gym.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments with us through TripAdvisor.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the incident that you experienced with the internet connection. I truly understand your disappointment with our lack of immediate reaction. Rest assured that we will reinforce our responsiveness time with our entire staff to ensure a quick reaction during these types of incidents.

Again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services. This is an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,451
    560
    95
    29
    12
See reviews for
587
1,078
149
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is well located in Miraflores, with fantastic seaviews. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean. A major bonus of our stay here was that reception agreed to a late check out of 4pm.

Where I come from a hotel that has 5 stars usually has been awarded them for going over and above the basic requirements. I'm not sure how this hotel is 5 star. This is yet another anonymous hotel in a large hotel chain - they charge for Wifi in the bedroom, staff do not engage unless approached. Even in this hotel, we were not approached by a porter/bellboy to take our bags at arrival or departure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us through the Trip Advisor website. I would like to express our most sincere apologies for the incident that you experienced with no one handling your luggage at check in and check out, I truly understand your disappointment and I will make sure that we have more bellmen at our main entrance ready to serve and greet our guests once they arrive. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services. They are an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence.
Sincerely,
Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed on Marriott points but was still assigned an ocean facing room on a high floor. Check-in was super efficient and I was assigned a room even though it was only 11 am. The hotel is located directly across from Larcomar Shopping Centre in a safe neighborhood. A promenade along the cliff is perfect for morning jogs.



  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We read your review and we will like to thank you for your comments, are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you liked our facilities. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Best Regards,
Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last few months and have had nothing less then EXCEPTIONAL service. Every aspect of the hotel is great, but especially the staff and their willingness to do whatever it takes to ensure you have a happy stay.
The food at the restaurants, room service, bar is always good and the gym is the best hotel gym I have ever used.

If you are going to Lima, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmaniacNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was nice to hear our staff went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A nice big room with a magnificent view of the ocean--you can almost touch the paragliders sailing by the window! It's a good neighborhood with lots of restaurants nearby. We stayed at a number of hotels throughout Peru and this was one of the best.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrfishynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was nice to hear that the room was confortable for your needs. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed 2 days at the beginning of our recent trip. This hotels is excellent, service is the best, and the restaurant has a magnificent service and gourmet dishes. We spoke with the sommelier who is very knowledgeable in wines from Argentina, our favorite, and he had great recommendations.
Rooms are very comfortable and the concierge and front desk are very helpful. Highly recommendable for business or vacation.
Across the street is a very modern shopping center overlooking the Pacific Ocean, with great restaurants and attractions.
Walk towards the south and you will find a beautiful park with the statue of a kiss, and many phrases from Latin American poets about love.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marplalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We read your review and we will like to thank you for your kind comments, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you liked our location, specially when walking towards the “Love Park” with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. We look forward to your future visit!!!
Sincerely,

Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed in Lima for a day and a half after a Cusco trip, before returning to the US.

This ultra-modern hotel is located in Miraflores, a 40 minute ride from the airport, right on the Pacific coast.

Room was large and well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and a nice view.

The room service food was just average.

Service was friendly and English is widely spoken.

There is a "mall" just across the street with restaurants and shops. Be advised that the prices at the shops are 3 to 4 times higher than in Cusco for the same merchandise.

I'd stay at the JW again while in Lima, but would definitely venture outside of the hotel for food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwcharacters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsLima, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I do apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations with our Room Service offerings and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the Hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Karina Revilla
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Address: Malecon De La Reserva 615 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#3 Family Hotel in Lima
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#3 Spa Hotel in Lima
#6 Green Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Lima 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Lima
Marriott Hotel Lima
Marriott Lima
Lima Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing