We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pathetic Reservation Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Ranked #2 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic Reservation Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This Valentine's Day we were given a gift of a night at the Marriott by the director of our organization. He is an Elite member who travels extensively and enjoys treating those of us leading offices around the world with nights at various Marriott's from Singapore to London to Sao Paulo etc. He reserved for us a Prime Ocean View room with a king bed and as using his status for us to have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. When we checked in at 4:00pm we were told that they did not have an ocean view room with a king bed and that we would have to take two double beds and that as well we would have to pay extra for lounge access, we were also told that they would charge us for the bill and would not use the card used to make the reservation . So we checked in and got to our room and I sent a message to my director who had booked and paid for the room. He let me know about 2 hours later that he had called multiple times and that no one was answering the phone in reservations and that in every case all around the world where he booked there was never an issue with his paying the reservation without being present and that they would honor his status in giving his guests his benefits of internet and lounge access.

The night was a long one with very little sleep for my wife and myself. We laid down at 12:00am and found it very hard to sleep in the double bed together. We awoke multiple times to adjust the thermostat which was either hot or cold but never in between and were even awoken by noise in an adjoining room at around 4:00am which I couldn't believe that the walls would be so thin.

At check out today, we were charged for the room, lounge access, and had to wait in line for 20 minutes to check-out as the reception was understaffed. Overall our director has said he will never book in this particular Marriott again and we will not be recommending it to visitors. The reservations desk even had the audacity to say that when my director called the night before they were very busy so they could not answer the phone. Just a disgrace! What was supposed to be a great gift of rest and relaxation for us as a couple turned into an expensive sleepless night and a next day of back and neck aches.

We would not recommend this hotel if service is important to you. Yes, its has a nice view and location, but for a 4 star Marriott with a Trip Advisor award next to the desk where the reception tells me he is too busy to answer the phone, well that seems pretty pathetic for just the view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Matt,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. Being our goal the search for excellence as well as exceeding our customers’ expectations, we very much regret we have failed in both objectives with you. Beyond any explanations we can come out with regarding the unfortunate incidents you and your wife went through the past Valentine’s Day; the single fact that one of our guests was not satisfied while in our hotel is a huge concern for us. Please allow me to apologize for each and every detail which did not work properly to make your experience a wonderful one. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced, which are in any way representative of the quality of product and service we regularly offer to all our guests.
Please do come back and give us another opportunity to show you all we have to offer to you!
Thank you for bringing all those issues to our attention. We have a very important opportunity here to ensure that incidents of the nature described by you are not repeated in our property.
Again, thank you very much,

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,295
    526
    91
    26
    12
See reviews for
534
1,010
144
758
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, near a rocky beach in Lima, Peru. The hotel is a typical top level Marriott, with a very nice concierge room and exceptional customer service. It's located close to Kennedy Park, which is similar to Central Park in New York City. Staff are great at helping make plans and reservations

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Ruth

We appreciate your fantastic comments! Our main goal is to exceed our customers’ expectations. It is true that our great location is a unique feature our hotel has for the enjoyment of all our guests and customers. Thank you for your kind recognition of our service staff.
We hope you can come back soon and give us again the privilege of hosting your visit to Lima.

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We actually are staying at another great nearby hotel, but have been visiting the JW also each day. Do not miss Maycol and Luisiana at the JW Lounge. They are amazing. The service is friendly and they can give you great food, drink, and shopping advice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jamesonpleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear James,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We appreciate your kind recognition about our attentive and helpful staff and also for our Food and Beverage options.
Again, thank you!!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had to make a local call in Lima. Local calls are usually free at all the nice hotels I have stayed at. I contacted the front desk to transfer me to the Miraflores hotel where other members of my party were staying. We chatted for about 30 minutes planning out a few things. When I got my hotel bill, they hit me with a huge outrageous telephone charge... I HATE IT WHEN NICE HOTELS SOUR THE EXPERIENCE IN THE END OVER SUCH SMALL THINGS!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel, as well as for your compliments. We are sorry for the perception you have regarding your experience as we always strive and look for ways to exceed our customers’ expectations. Unfortunately we did not do it this time for which we extend our sincere apologies. We hope we can welcome you back any time soon. Again, thank you.

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I just wanted to share with others my wonderful experience staying at the J.W. Marriott Hotel in Lima. Every one from the Front Desk personnel, Bell Men, to our wonder house keeper Jessica Pipe, were extremely attentive and courteous.

The buffet was great in the dinning room with so many choices of different items. I would highly recommend anyone visiting for business or pleasure to stay at this wonder beach side hotel. If you are a member of J.W. Marriott frequent users program, the lounge at the 24 floor is a special treat for one of the best views of the Mira Flora bay.

Room Tip: Ocean Views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you very much! We appreciate your fabulous comments and your time to share with us your appreciation of our product and service. Our great location truly makes it for all our guests. Thank you for your kind recognition of our staff as well as for our Food & Beverage offerings. Rest assured we always look for ways to exceed our customers’ expectations! Again, thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you back very soon!!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent 2 week all around Lima and this was a great respite. The staff is very courteous, knowledgeable and very willing to assist in any way. Clean, modern, great view. we loved it. Internet in room is expensive, but is free in lobby! Oh well! would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in 814 (corner room all glass) and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your fantastic comments and the time you have taken to share with us your appreciation of our product and service. It is indeed very rewarding to hear opinions about our staff, our most valuable asset! Rest assured we always look for ways to exceed our customer expectations! Please stay with us again when you return to Lima,

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

After a very long and tiring flight from Australia, my wife and I stayed at this hotel. As you would expect from a Marriot the property is modern, very well maintained and run by very helpful and friendly staff. I expected to struggle a little as I cannot speak any Spanish but was pleasantly surprised. The locality is very relaxing with an expansive view of the Pacific across the road from the hotel. Although the sky was overcast for the duration of our stay, we had a pleasant view of the setting sun from our room.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John747_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter R, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Lima, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear John,
Thank you very mu
ch for your fabulous comments! We are very pleased with your appreciation of our product and staff service. You are right indeed when you point out our wonderful location, a unique feature our guests enjoy very much. During clear days the wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean is very enjoyable!
We hope we can welcome you back in our hotel in the not too distant future. We genuinely thank you for your preference!!

Walter Regidor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Casa Andina Private Collection Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Lima

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Address: Malecon De La Reserva 615 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lima
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#2 Spa Hotel in Lima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#3 Family Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Lima 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Lima
Marriott Hotel Lima
Marriott Lima
Lima Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing