We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent to stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel El Olivar
Ranked #21 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Excellent location, in the financial district and close to restaurants. Delicious breakfast buffet. Extremely nice staff. Super comfortable and spacious rooms. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a pleasant, well-maintained hotel, well located across from the delightful park known as the Olive Grove (with centuries-old olive trees), a welcome green oasis in the middle of a hectic/chaotic city. The staff seemed particularly friendly. Our room was spacious and quiet (as we requested). The bed was top quality. And the bathroom was great. A plus is that there are 2 good restaurants in the hotel - El Olivar, on the ground floor (where a good buffet breakfast is also served), and Ichi Ban, one of the best Japanese restaurants in Lima, in the lower level. (Curiously, it is not advertised, but it's worth seeking out!)

The roof top pool is pleasant (although shallow), offering views over the Olive Grove park.

This Sonesta hotel is a category up from their one in Arequipa (which also has a great location, but I'd rate at 3 stars, vs. 4 stars for this one.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've been several times to this hotel and have remained loyal to it. The facilities are quite goods, rooms are ample and comfortable and it has a good restaurant at reasonable prices. Breakfast is a first class buffet type. Location is great, in the middle of San Isidro and in front of an old park with very old olive trees, in a quiet area, and with access to downtown Lima by taxi. Plenty of restaurants and shops around, and at walking distamnce from San Isidro Golf Club. A very good choice in Lima.

Room Tip: Better to chose a room oriented opposite to the street, although even these are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went there for business for two days. The area is very good, close to the Olivar park and many dinner choices at walking distance. The room was average size and clean. Breakfast was ok.

It's not that I didn't like it, just everything looked simply average to me. Probably more suited for vacation rather than business stays.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel. It is situated in the nice residential area of San Isidro. It is a modern hotel, restaurant, pool and spa. Our room had a comfortable bed, and jacuzzi bath. The only window was on to a light well, which wasn't an issue because we were only there one night, and it meant the room was very quiet. Breakfast was buffet style.
Our only gripe was the 'hotel taxis' they are more than twice the price of local taxis and they seem to have a set price charging structure. The first night we used one to go to a local restaurant 4 minutes £9, the next day 20 minutes also £9 - it's not the amount but the feeling of being ripped off.
Staff were very helpful with a number of 'issues' be asked them to help us with.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Olivar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you for the time you spent sharing your appreciation about our service and facilities with Tripadvisor visitors. Your comments motive us to keep working in order to provide an excellent service to our guests. As you mentioned, CMV - our official remise service - has a flat rate for districts, as this is a private service with comfortable armored cars, all - risks insurance and 24hrs availability, the costs are different fro regular taxis. We are sorry you felt ripped off with this service, we will share with CMV your comments in order to look for an evaluation of their rates. Thank you for your preference and we hope you visit us again in your next trip to Peru.

Kind regards;

Ingrid Medina C.
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had a very good time at this hotel, from 1/13/12 to 1/18/12. Location is great right on the olivar park (prime realstate area) the park is gorgeous w/ very old trees from colonial times.
The hotel (not new / not very old) is well kept, good size and very confortable, nice lounge area and very clean.
The room that I got first single, queen bed small and cozy w/ view of the park but noisy wall unit a/c; some rooms don't have central a/c in the original building;(old) then I was change to a king bed room very confortable and big w/ view of other buildings in the back (no view) but quite central a/c, seems to me is the new building. Rooms are very clean a true 4 star hotel every thing was well kept.
The only thing breakfast is not included wich is very odd, most of the hotels in Lima include breakfast.
I tried the restaurant twice, lunch and dinner...service was mix and so was de food nothing to rave about. At dinner the captain offer me a different sauce for my fish because I don't eat spicy food, when the waiter brought my order nothing was change same spicy hot sauce; so most of the time I ate out around the area in different good restaurants w/ better service and food.
The hotel is a great choice if you like quite areas...walking distance to restaurants, market, cafes, bars, groceries store etc. front desk staff very good service. I will recommend this hotel for business and leisure.

Room Tip: rooms on the front seem not to have central a/c noisy only wall units and view of the park some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Olivar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest;

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit and also for sharing your comments with Tripadvisor visitors. It is very important for us to know about our guest's comments, I will share them with all our staff in order to improove our services and provide a better service at our Restaurant. Our Maintenance Department is also working in our rooms to avoid any kind of problems with our equipments. Once again thank you very much for your comments, we hope you can visit us again and enjoy one more time our service and facilities.

Kind regards;

Ingrid Medina C.
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

the service was good, our room was clean, comfortable and big! breakfast it's ok... just the corridor smell really bad!! it seems old! it's not a bad hotel but it could be better!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QAM-Olivar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sonesta Hotel El Olivar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest;

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference and also for sharing your comments with Tripadvisor visitors. It is very important for us your comment s and be sure that we are working in order to improove all our areas. It was a total pleasure for us to have you as a guest and we hope you can visit us again and enjoy one more time our service and facilities.

Kind regards;

Ingrid Medina Condori
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Foresta Hotel Lima
#8 of 236 in Lima
883 reviews
San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
#12 of 236 in Lima
2,822 reviews
Los Incas Lima Hotel
#7 of 236 in Lima
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Swissotel Lima
Swissotel Lima
#9 of 236 in Lima
1,268 reviews
Aku Hotels
#70 of 236 in Lima
105 reviews
San Isidro
Novotel Lima
Novotel Lima
#34 of 236 in Lima
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel El Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel El Olivar

Address: Pancho Fierro 194 | San Isidro, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > San Isidro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lima
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lima
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#21 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £90 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel El Olivar 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most important business and residential district of Lima, with the view of the majestic Olivar Grove Park in San Isidro, is the Sonesta Hotel El Olivar Lima. The property is close to financial institutions and large corporations as well as shopping centers, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs. A warm, contemporary hotel, designed to meet the most demanding traveler, whether for business or pleasure. Just 25 minutes from Jorge Chavez International Airport. Enjoy the culture, tranquility, culinary excellence, high standards of service, tradition and hospitality that only our 5-star hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Hotel El Olivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel Lima
El Olivar Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing