We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
686
499
154
31
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
499
154
31
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy intersection real plaza lounge staff nice hotel san isidro juan carlos peruvian food business trip business center junior suite very nice stay standard room rooms are spacious special thanks water pressure ceviche close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

A decent hotel, nothing special, quite pricey. Friendly staff, except in the restaurant: really not a cosy atmosphere, food choices limited, disappointing ceviche, too expensive for the quality. Breakfast buffet good though. Espresso machine in the room (nice to have), but about 1€ per capsule!
Not located in walking distance from the historic center (≈ 4 miles).
I ordered a taxi for the airport, but what was presented and charged (≈40€) was a limousine...

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSkeptik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliá Lima P, Director General at Hotel Melia Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Dear TheSkeptik,

Thank you for taking the time to write a sincere review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced while staying with us.

At the moment only The Level executive suites and rooms have unlimited coffee. However, our cheapest lodging packages only offer complementary coffee the first day.

Thank you again for your honest observations,

Mónica Lavín
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Our flight to Cuzco was cancelled, so the airline sent us here for the night. This was on 7 October 2018. The room was comfortable and nice. A buffet was made for our tour group of 15. 5 out of 15 people ended up with severe food poisoning. 1 lady had to be hospitalized. The rest of us needed strong antibiotics. It ruined our trip to Peru as we were due to walk the Inca trail in a couple of days. I am still recovering after 2 weeks. Stay here if you must, but never, ever eat the food. They have hygiene problems at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TMHolidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliá Lima P, Director General at Hotel Melia Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Mrs. TMHolidays18,

Thank you so much for sending your comments and suggestions through Tripadvisor website..

Please let us confirm that our kitchen staff works under the strictest health standards. We work with Hazard and Critical Control Point Analysis System, and we are constantly evaluated by institutions of our government.

We have done a thorough investigation of this case, contacting other guests who stayed on the same dates as you; and we can guarantee that the food and salad consumed at Meliá Lima hotel was in good condition.

Our staff and every guest who were not part of AVIANCA's layover group also dined on the same food and salad that you consumed and they did not have symptoms at all.

We have also contacted other people from the Layover group (86 people) who came with you and have not presented any type of symptoms, they are even very happy with the service.


We hope that this information will be useful.

Sincerely yours,

Mónica Lavín
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

i stayed here some years back at The Level (club floor), and again this time round, or so I thought. I booked to stay in a "The Level Junior Suite" for 4 nights and ended up on an another floor, and no club access, and when checking in, was told that I needed to pay more for club access. Being on business and to attend a trade fair in Lima, and probably not being at the hotel for most of the time, I did not think much of it.
Location and typical hotel bathroom amenities aside (which was still good), the suite I stayed in was recently renovated, and it felt much more functional, and no longer warm or luxurious. Case in point, the flooring was no longer carpeted, but covered by some vinyl material. The entire room had a clean feel, and seemed less inviting or comfortable. To be honest, it felt like a downgrade to a budget hotel. To add pain to injury, we were always told "hay un costo" (there is a cost) whenever we asked for replenishment of the coffee/tea/water in the room (coffee/tea was served one day, and the other days I was there, all of the coffee/tea disappeared, and only 1 mineral water bottle for all 4 nights!) etc. We felt like in a budget airplane where you had to pay for everything you wanted!
The breakfast, however, was great and delicious, as they served Peruvian cuisine, along with the typical American breakfast items. Then again, what can go wrong when you serve wonderful Peruvian food!
All in all, I would not stay in this hotel again. With some many other newer same-class or better hotels around, I would recommend you spend your money elsewhere.

Room tip: The Level rooms used to be the best; right now, stay some other hotel.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLEESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliá Lima P, Director General at Hotel Melia Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear JLEESingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

Please let me confirm you that our The Level rooms have unlimited coffee service in the room, in addition to three food services per day: breakfast, tea time and open bar. However, our cheapest accommodation packages only includes breakfast.

Our new rooms were designed looking for the wellbeing of our guests.The carpets in our rooms are made with an antiallergic material, which does not accumulate dust or moisture. Our pillows are made of fibre, gel touch and feather, our table lamps at night and our ceiling lights are made with an organic material that allows the care of the environment. The room has the highest technology and warm colors have been used to reflect even more sunlight during the day and generate a warm color with the play of lights at night.

On our website you can find different lodging promotions, however if you have doubts you can always contact us directly, we will be glad to answer all your questions.


Sincerely yours,


Monica Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Hotel Melia Lima was incredible with service, food, cleanliness and location. The room was cold and yes they need heat in the each room that can be controlled, but that was the least of my worries in such a lovely place with great people!

Briggitt at the front desk was wonderful and Hervert and Reze at the conceirge's desk were amazing!!

Room tip: In the winter months the evening can be cold in Lima and the rooms were chilly. I had to ask for a portable heater.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliá Lima P, Director General at Hotel Melia Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Marla G,

It warms our hearts to know that we created such a memorable experience for you and your family. We uphold the highest standards in regards to guest comfort and satisfaction. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Sincerely,

Mónica Lavín
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

A bit of a mixed experience...

I stayed twice within a week - the first time in a normal room and the second time on the exec floor.

The rooms are spacious and tick all the boxes I want as a business traveller - comfortable bed; good desk with accessible power and a chair to relax in. The bathrooms are ok, but nothing special - a shower in a bath, which is a bit dated.

The breakfast buffet in the downstairs restaurant had a good range, but somehow didn't manage to hit the spot for me and I struggled to find anything I really wanted to eat.

WiFi was annoyingly poor. It was ok when it worked, but plagued by patchy coverage within the rooms, disconnections and relatively poor download speeds. It was fine for email / social media, but struggled with downloading a 26mb powerpoint file.

Check in was frustratingly slow.

If the above sounds unenthusiastic, then it is.

However, things were much improved on the exec floor. The private check in on floor 9 was still slow, but at least came with the offer of drinks. The exec floor rooms come with a free bar between 18:00 and 21:00, which is freely and generously offered - wine, beer, Pisco and other spirits were available; and an evening buffet that provides more than enough food if you don't fancy exploring Lima at night.

The breakfast on the exec floor was also much more appealing. Partially, I think, because it was more focussed, but I also suspect that the offering was slightly better.

Overall, the standard room experience was a bit "meh", whereas the exec floor offered very good value for a relatively small additional cost.

A special mention for the exec floor lounge staff, who were very attentive.

Room tip: Book the exec floor
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z757AOphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliá Lima P, Director General at Hotel Melia Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Phillip S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a sincere review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced while staying with us. We hope that you do return with us soon so that we may once again deliver you the true five star experience that you deserve.

Mónica Lavín
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews