We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One thumb up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Ranked #34 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One thumb up”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Amazing how you can get so many different opinions...Very ordinary hotel. Needs a good carpet cleaning service. We were put in what they call the "colonial" rooms which they don't have pictures of on the website for good reason. We were very soon moved to one more like the pictures. I'm certain this has to do with using booking.com so make sure to specify if you use that site. Maybe where they unload their "more" yucky rooms. Suggested I had requested colonial but absolutely nothing in my reservation to suggest that and in fact I had booked one of their large superior deluxe rooms that I'm convinced they really don't have. Breakfast was by order but this is their way to control quantity I'm sure. Left hungry everyday and I'm 115lbs. Bigs guys bring granola bars. Also got taken for a ride by the exchange rate. Wish I'd have seen the hopkins87 review prior to the trip. Would have got cash from the ATM to settle bill. Really folks the only thing we liked about this hotel was the location. We are walkers and you could easily get around Miraflores with a brisk stroll. But several other hotels to pick from in this area and I would give them a look. I was trying to save a few bucks and wished I hadn't.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesitposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    440
    131
    31
    17
See reviews for
141
371
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My advice is to book the middle or top rate rooms, as we passed the cheaper rooms on the way out and they are no where near the class of our middle room, for only $20 USD more.

Great nights sleep, great breakfast, great location.. Beautiful rooms with modern clean bathrooms.

My only gripe is that my partner and I were both sick for the night we were there. We asked for 1 hour more before check out the next morning which they allowed. We were about to walk out of the room at 12.05 when the staff phone the room and told us to hurry up.

Other than that, i would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Don't get the cheaper rooms. Pay a little more for a nicer room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My parents stayed here in November and thought the hotel was nice. When they went to pay, they were met with a shock that left a very bitter taste. All prices at the hotel (rooms, foods, and drinks) are quoted in dollars, and so it would make sense to be able to pay these costs in dollars. However, the unscrupulous owners of this place have decided to scam every single guest. If you wish to pay your bill in dollars, you can only do so in CASH. To pay with credit card (not uncommon when a hotel costs $100+ a night), you are given the privilege of charging the room in soles at their absurd exchange rate. At the moment, you can buy soles on the street at an exchange rate of about 2.55 soles for 1 dollar. In the hotel, they offer you the stupefying exchange rate of 2.8 soles for 1 dollar. In effect, the hotel increases the price by 10% for all guests wishing to pay with credit card. It doesn't matter if your bank account is in dollars or soles, because the hotel converts the hotel cost to soles at their rate before passing it through their point of sale. Of course, your complaints will be met with "we told you were we scamming you in the fine print" as the receptionist points at a small piece of paper noting this ridiculous exchange rate. The management obviously feels it is better to rob their guests than to raise the room rates a bit and charge a reasonable in-house exchange rate.

I've lived in Peru for the last year and a half, and this is the way people in the tourist industry treat their "guests." We are all walking dollar signs to them, oblivious to being overcharged a hundred dollars on a short stay. Because they assume we don't speak Spanish, they go for it. For those of you who have yet to travel to Peru, I would recommend avoiding this hotel. Don't let them take advantage of you.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The hotel scams you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
7 Thank hopkins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidWroughton, Owner at Antigua Miraflores Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
WRITER NEEDS TO STUDY FOREIGN EXCHANGE BASICS.
Based on TripAdvisor's own policies, this person should not be allowed to post a review since he wasn't a guest at the Hotel but we don’t mind clearing up this misconception or ignoring his slanderous comments. The exchange rate issue is something we deal with often but we have never so fallaciously accused. Obviously this person does not understand Foreign Exchange basics where there is always a low SELL rate and a much higher BUY rate, especially when credit cards are used. If one changes dollars into soles, as he said he did, you are “selling” dollars at the lower rate (2.56). If one pays a hotel bill that is listed in dollars, using a credit card, then you are “buying” dollars at a much higher rate, not to mention the fees and commissions the hotel gets hit with by the credit card company which is why we OBVIOUSLY encourage guests to pay with cash. I have worked in the hotel industry since 1991 and have traveled all over Peru and this is standard practice in hotels. In Europe they charge you a 7.5% commission just to sell dollars for Euros. The writer also doesn't understand that US Dollar has devalued against the Peruvian Sole OVER 25% which means that hotels receive in real terms that much less for the dollars they receive. The only thing that is “ridiculous” and “unscrupulous” here is this person’s review. I challenge him to call so we can show him with financial documents how wrong he is.
David Wroughton (hotel owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent one night at the Antigua in Miraflores. Had expected a ride from the airport which was not there when we arrived. Unfortunately our reservation made via the hotel website was "lost" somehow. We spent the night in a small room at the rear of the hotel. The hot water heaters in the patio were so loud that I got little sleep. No rooms were available for the rest of our stay so we moved on to another better hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A lovely old fashioned hotel and full of character with period furniture and quirky features such as old industrial implements made into lamps and clocks. It is the polar opposite of a boring, corporate boxy hotel. We stayed here twice and both times the rooms were spacious, airy (and definitely not smelly!) The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, as were most people we encountered on our trip. Breakfast was particularly good with enough choices to surely suit everyone's taste. The hotel is in a good spot for wandering down to the coast, the shops and restaurants. (We ate at Al Fresco both times and both were excellent meals, specially the Ceviche).

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: On our second stay we had a room in the old part of the building facing onto the courtyard (accessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here with Gate 1 tours for two nights. As soon as we entered our room which was #106 we noticed a very strong odour - we thought that someone had vomited in the closet! The room was quite large with a large bed and the bathroom was very modern and clean. The furniture was very worn looking and we had a nice double window that looked out onto a little courtyard. it was a very quiet room. The food in the restaurant was "ok" and reasonable. Most other people in our tour group also complained of the "bad smell" in their room.

Room Tip: room 106 was large with a king bed in a quiet location but they need to try to remove the strong unp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

What makes this hotel so nice is the staff that it's very helpful and very receptive. The rooms are very big but the furniture is very old. The room has a very strong moldy smell, so don't go for it if you have health problems that might be affected by the smell. The room also has a small fridge, a sink, microwave oven and silverware. That's good because you can buy things at the supermarket and heat it in the room, and save up money with the restaurants. Most of the rooms also have great wireless internet connection and they don't charge you for it. The breakfast is also included on the price of the room.

The location is very good, since it's not very far from the Larcomar Shopping Mall and it will cost you like 10 soles (5 US dollars) to grab a taxi from the hotel to the mall. The area where the hotel is located is not dangerous, so you can go for walks at night without worrying about it.

During the weekend there are a lot of travelers on this hotel, but during the weekdays there are a lot of businessman and international sales guys that stay there and also do business with clients all day long in the restaurant. So if you are either going for tourism or work, you will fit in nicely.

The negative thing about this place is that the hotel's restaurant is very expensive, so it's not worth it. The food of the restaurant is also not that great. The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so if you get one of the higher rooms you will have to go up the stairs with the luggage, unless you ask for help at the front desk. The hotel also doesn't have taxis in front that you can count on, so most of the times you need to wait for one of the staff guys to run out on the street and call one for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the ground floor. Since there aren't elevators in the hotel, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#27 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#59 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Miraflores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Miraflores Hotel

Property: Antigua Miraflores Hotel
Address: Av. Grau 350, Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Lima
#40 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Miraflores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antigua Miraflores; an authentic introduction to Peru’s rich cultural heritage. Enjoy the elegance and character of a turn of the century mansion with all the comforts and amenities of a fine hotel and the warmth and charm of a colonial B&B. Tasteful decor, attention to detail, and our staff’s attentive and friendly service will make your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antigua Miraflores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antigua Miraflores
Antigua Miraflores Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing