We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lima
Ranked #58 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was comfortable with a lot of place to put luggages
There was no warm water on the evening and water at 25°C on the morning
There was no sound insulation and the street was very noisy
The breakfast was OK

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Varvou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first time in Peru, and we did not speak any Spanish. We did not have much time to plan, either. Naturally, there were a lot of things we were worried about, but everything from start to finish was perfect & we felt that the staff really took a good care of us. E-mail communications were prompt & smooth. Booking of our room & transportation services from & to the Lima airport was flawless: no issue with the price & driver showed up on time as promised both times. Room was a bit on a small side, but it was clean & we didn't spend too much in the room anyway since there was plenty to explore, especially since the location was so close to the Plaza de Armas. There were pubs and restaurants and all kinds of things around the area, & the neighborhood seemed a little rough & questionable when we first were driven through the area, but we felt reasonably safe walking around the area as long as we used basic common sense. Didn't hear too much noise from our room, either. Wi-fi worked just fine. We thought breakfast was pretty good/filling as well. There was a bit of a language barrier with a couple staff members, but we found that this was a consistent thing throughout our travel in Peru (we traveled to Ollantaytambo, Cusco, & Machu Picchu). For the price, Hotel Continental Lima exceeded our expectations, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lotfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Continental Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest, Lotfius

Thank you for taking the time on posting your experience at Continental Lima Hotel. We have read your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us. We do apologize for the inconveniences.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future in order to offer the best quality of our services.

Once again thak you for let us know your comments.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located at the central lima. Price is v reasonable comparing with Miraflores district hotel. Room condition and wifi signal are good. Breakfast have few choices, bakery, hams and fruit only. Coffee is not good, v bitter. Green Taxi fee from Lima airport to this hotel is 50 sol. The location is very good, you can go the two major plazas by walk and supermarket is easy to reach by 5mins walk.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lamlokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Continental Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear sir Lamlokki, Very kind of you to comment about your stay at the Continental lima Hotel. True, Our privileged location allows to be close to the many attractions of the historic center of Lima. Thanks for staying at Continental Lima Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From some other website to take advantage of discounts, otherwise, moderately priced. The hotel itself is in a good location and quiet if you get a room off the street. I am not sure how noisey street rooms are, but I have stayed there two different times and got an interior room, with window, off the street, and I liked it both times. The staff is very friendly and helpful and some English is spoken if your Spanish is not up to par. The rooms are very clean, and staff is always there to help if you need anything for the room or have a complaint. The included breakfast is good for Peru/most hotels have the minimum I have stayed at in Peru (if anything) and enough to eat. And being centrally located, there is enough tourist stuff to connect to, and the Metropalitano rapid ride bus station is about two blocks away if you want to go to Miraflores/Barranco or points in between. I will stay there again next year when I return to Lima. Over the years I have looked at and stayed in many hotels in Lima and surrounding area.

Room Tip: It is best to get a room on upper floors if the room is on the street side of the hotel. The streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Continental Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear michael,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at Continental Lima Hotel!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you enjoyed our service!

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Continental Lima Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hotel Continental was clean and tidy. As a single female travelling alone the hotel staff were very helpful in telling me what to do and what not to do. Michal Palomino Alvarado from customer service was brilliant. I booked a boat trip to the islands and he even took me to the Port in a taxi and met me off the boat (which was an hour late) and returned me to the hotel. I would recommend the hotel but unfortunately not the area to stay in for a single western female.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Continental Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Nina

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Continental Lima with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Continental Lima Hotel is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really like that hotel, because it is well situated, downtown Lima, 1 block from the main square, plaza Bolivar,,,and yet, it is quiet and you get to sleep at night,,,which is hard to find in a noisy city like Lima,,,The rooms are extra clean, and the staff is nice and helpfull...I recommend it ... It is hard to find a better place for that price...
P.S, make sure to book online... better deals...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean francois m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Continental Lima, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear jean francois m,

Thank you for your excellent comment!!

Our mission at Continental Lima is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy the city they are visiting.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are retired world travelers on a budget. We rate budget hotels. We expect some flaws for hotels in this price range in exchange for low prices.

This is the second time we are rating this hotel. The first time was two weeks ago. At that time we had rented a room for three nights. Our rate was $35/night. We gave this hotel an ok rating despite several flaws because the rate was reasonable. We made reservations to stay at this hotel again for two more nights. We made this reservation directly with the hotel front desk clerk.

We arrived at the hotel for our second stay and were told that our nightly room rate was more than double the rate of our previous stay. We were told that this is because we were staying only two nights instead of three. So, in essence, we paid more to stay two nights than we did for three.

We were not told by the day front desk clerk, when we made the second reservation that our rate would be different. We were not told of the 'special' three night rate. When we checked in for the second time we complained about the increase in rate. The night front desk clerk refused to reduce our rate or offer any compensation for the omission of information on the part of the clerk who originally took our second reservation. this is not a good way to treat repeat customers.

We would never stay in a hotel for $70+/night with all the flaws this one had. We recommend that anyone else who is quoted this rate look elsewhere. We now understand why so many reviewers were unhappy with this hotel. The street noise alone should give anyone second thoughts about staying here. You have been warned.

The noise problem in the rooms was irritating with the windows open and barely tolerable with the windows closed. This hotel has low flush toilets which means that you may have to flush four or five times to get them to do their jobs. The most irritating problem was the internet. This hotel has a non-standard login protocol that a lot of people, like us, were unable to access. So we had no use of our computer for the five nights we stayed there. They do have a computer room with three computers that guests can use but most of the time we could not get them to work and the keyboards are so worn out that you cannot read the keys. Many of the guests were complaining about this problem.

In conclusion, I would not recommend this hotel unless you can get a decent rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#83 of 236 in Lima
720 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Kamana Hotel
Kamana Hotel
#166 of 236 in Lima
211 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#169 of 236 in Lima
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
#97 of 236 in Lima
110 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Sheraton Lima Hotel & Convention Center
Cercado de Lima
Qorianka Hotel
Qorianka Hotel
#74 of 236 in Lima
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lima

Address: 196 Puno Street downtown | 400 Meters Walking Distance of the Plaza Mayor, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Lima 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental Lima, superbly located in the historic center of Lima. "City of Kings", is the perfect place for a unique and unforgettable experience. We show you the best of Lima. Make the most of your trip and adventure in the pre-Hispanic, colonial and contemporary Lima. All the fascinating world around Hotel. While we guarantee an unforgettable stay. Our spacious and comfortable rooms are designed to meet the different needs of our guests. The Continental Lima offers in each of its rooms; Toilette, Shower, Bath, Toilet, Toiletries, Desk, Telephone, Wake Up Service, Cable TV, Ironing Service, WIFI in room, hairdryer and safe (on request from reception), laundry service and Irons The Continental hotel has Insulation - Acoustic windows system ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing