We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is in decline and the pictures on the website are misleading.”
Review of Hostal El Carmelo

Hostal El Carmelo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Carmelo
Ranked #152 of 330 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
371 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“This place is in decline and the pictures on the website are misleading.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions but have found that the $30 airport pickup is ridiculous. A much nicer hotel picked me up for 30soles. Despite having stayed at this place a dozen nights in the past, they gave me a lousy room that didn't even have a window. The owner's son is always on the computer that is there for the use of guests and he is very rude. Very bad for business, they should buy him a laptop and send him to his room. In the past they never charged me a percentage for using my credit card. I arrived at 2 am and could not get cash as I was leaving for another flight at 6 AM and they demanded I pay an extra 6% to use it. This goes against the contractual agreement with the credit card companies. Whatever small fees they incur is the cost of doing business. While I know some places try and add this charge they are not paying anywhere near 6% processing fees anyway. Nicer hotels don't do this.

Room Tip: Don't use your credit card and make sure they don't put you in one of the cell-like rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Nothing fancy, but in good location (Miraflores) near the coast

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
371 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Really nice hotel, near the ocean and walking distance of Miraflores bar/restaurants! Very good for the money. Airport pick up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Please be advised that two hotel are mixed up in the previous reviews. El Carmelo mentioned in the first review is not in the same location than the second even though they have the same name.

El Carmelo in Miraflores, Lima has a great location. Walking distance to the plaza in Miraflores, El Parque Kennedy and the El Parque Del Amor but the hotel is not luxorious by any means.

It is the perfect base of operations if you only use your room to sleep in. It has confortable beds and it is clean. With the temperature in Lima being fairly temperate it does not have AC which to me is a disavantage because AC's muffles noise and refreshes the room. You have a choice of opening the window and there is no screen so noise and bugs can come in. However, bugs are not bad and the noise since it is in a side street is pretty tolerable.

The price is the best. It was $35.00 the night for a private "matrimonial bedroom. It included breakfast that consisted of fresh bread, fresh squeezed orange juice and wonderlful coffee.

Again, the price is great for what you get. But if you want luxury you better stay at the Las Americas.

The staff is very nice in Carmelo and they have a computer that they let you borrow if you want. They also arranged for my taxi driver and I was picked up at the airport without a hitch.

Again this is a bargain and very confortable but if you want luxury go somewhere else. Rain

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of AC, aged carpet and furniture
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2006

I stayed at the hotel El Carmelo when I first arrived in Peru 3 weeks ago and again 2 nights ago when I got back to Lima before heading back home.
* Great location only few steps from the sea front (good for joggers or for nice walks)
* 5 minutes walk from the centre of Miraflores with all bars and restaurants and shopping areas
* 10 minutes walk from commercial centre on the sea front
* clean hotel
* free use of internet for customers in the reception
* quiet and safe location
* and especially great welcome from all the staff!
Definitely will get back there on my next trip to Lima! Recommend for anybody that goes to Lima. I was travelling on my own and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Inesanakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Dazzler Lima
Dazzler Lima
#16 of 224 in Lima
1,110 reviews
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Imperial Inn Hostal
#54 of 305 in Lima
127 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Bella Miraflores
Casa Bella Miraflores
#65 of 224 in Lima
212 reviews
Hostal L'Baron
#152 of 224 in Lima
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Carmelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Carmelo

Property: Hostal El Carmelo
Address: Bolognesi 749, San Isidro | Miraflores, Lima 018, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 330 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal El Carmelo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Carmelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Carmelo Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing