We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #79 of 228 Hotels in Lima
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour with gadventures but we also paid for an additional night for $55 USD. We were kind of tricked on the website because we were 2 couples so we thought it was $55/person and 2 people would share a room but we ended up with 4 rooms the first night.

The rooms are not bad in size. Pretty minimalistic in terms of furniture. There are some rooms with newly renovated bathrooms. Some with newer tvs and some with older. Some rooms have carpet and some have tiles.

Some rooms face the street so it is very noisy in the morning because the Peruvians LOVE using their horns when they drive.

They give free wifi and also free breakfast which is two different types of bread with jam and butter and also served with tea/juice/coffee.

Some rooms face the courtyard so it's a bit more quiet. No elevator so you will have to drag your luggage up and down the stairs.

The location is great. Close to restaurants and also a grocery store (Metro). We ate at Pardo's chicken which is close and it was REALLY good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takenforgranted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    122
    98
    37
    16
See reviews for
35
100
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The location is good. I wasn't in the hotel much so the only expectations I had were to come back to a clean place that was safe and comfortable. The location is safe and we were walking aroudn at night without really needing to worry (not to say that it's smart to go running out without your brain, anywhere). The rooms were basic and that's fine by me because the cleanliness was acceptable and yes, a bit damp feeling. Not sure if that's because Lima is a coastal city. I think that because the building is using the old architecture, the dampness can come in but I did not find it particularly uncomfortable.

Breakfast was included in my stay and it was by no stretch, luxurious but it was sustainable to get me started for the day: coffee/tea, bread & jam/butter, yogurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is nice and rustic, a little dark but that's no problem for me. I've stayed twice, the first time I was ill from my travelling to Lima and they got me to a room and just let me rest. The second time I tried out the restaurant and they sorted me out a tour. The food was average to good, so perfectly happy with that. Breakfast was... Peruvian! Which I'm used to, and it was fine. Wifi throughout and wonderful service from every member of staff I met. Showers could do with keeping hot for longer but I like a long shower, that's probably more me being a spoilt Westerner!

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: One a bit further from the hotel reception makes sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackPackingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is basically a clean place to sleep in a good, safe location while you are in Lima. The rooms are basic, although a bit damp feeling. Cleanliness was about what you would expect in a basic room in Lima. The breakfast was just bread, jam, and coffee/tea, but it was enough to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank displacedandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Rooms were very basic...this hotel would resemble more of a motel based on North American standards; beds were clean however, the smell of mildew surrounded the room. Definitely needed to open windows to sleep. Please bring indoor flip flops or shoes if you are a little OCD on cleanliness.

FYI- this hotel stay was part of G Adventures (formerly Gap)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianChick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This a basic hotel in Miraflores. Breakfast was just coffee, juice and bread unless you paid extra. Beds were comfortable and washroom clean. Wifi was intermittent. Nothing fancy but location was good. Used it as a jumping off point for a Gadventures tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEricksom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
around the world
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Gave this hotel a "poor" rating due to the dirty rooms. Smelly rooms, dirty washroom, uncomfortable beds - in general dark and uninviting. Would not recommend staying here.
Breakfast was toast, butter, milk and coffee.
On the other hand, the courtyard was very pretty, and if you're staying at this hotel I would recommend going up to the roof - a nice place to enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#65 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#47 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#42 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel & Suites
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#59 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Property: Hotel La Castellana
Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing