We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not stay by choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 15 March 2014

In short, we were placed here as a tour, and we would definitely not come back ourselves.

Stayed here as part of a G Adventure tour group, for 2 nights total book ending the Inca Trail.

The rooms are musky, especially closet, not well lit. The wifi is spotty. One of our rooms had no signal in room, (you have to walk out in to lobby), and even when you can connect to router, you often can't get to internet. One night's room toilet drips too.

Had a disturbing episode with house keeping who tried to barge into our room at 1010am, despite that 1) check out is 12 midday, 2) DND sign is on, 3) we said (in English) we are still in the room. Did not feel terribly safe in the hotel.

Location is not bad, but there are plenty more hotels in the immediate vicinity to try.

Also, remember to bring your own shampoo.

I am glad they can survive as a tour agency hotel. But if avoid if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have used this hotel many times over the years when I take my groups to Lima Peru..
It has a great old fashion and a wonderful courtyard for relaxing.
The rooms are all very different so you might like some and not like some others.
The staff is helpful and friendly, most speak enough English.
The location is perfect and safe.. easy walking to shopping and restaurants in the Miraflores district of Lima.
As with most older hotels, no elevator for the 3 floors.. no air or heat, but in Lima you don't need these features.
I will continue using this place.

Room Tip: A number of rooms have balconies.. which are my favorite.. But you are in a downtown section so thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were at La Castellana as part of a tour, with a total of 3 nights bookending our trip.

The hotel is good for location and is sufficiently comfortable and clean.
If you're the type that walks most places, it puts you within minutes of a couple grocery stores, Miraflores, Parque Kennedy and lots of restaurant options, so that's a major plus for me.
The bed was firm, not terribly comfortable but still enough to sleep well. The room had a good amount of space. There was a mini fridge, safe, and closet. Bathroom was clean.

Courtyard was a nice place to meet for lunch or to gather up before heading out again.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a simple accommodation, or who is just in need of a well-located spot for a quick visit to Lima.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaeTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a G Adventures package to do the Inca Trail - the hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the outside, a very colonial looking building with a very cosy feel, nestled in the rather heavily tourists area of Miraflores.

The staff were pretty standard, and could probably do with being a bit friendlier. Myself and my partner are currently learning Spanish, so attempted to speak Spanish - clearly they didn't have the time to try and converse with us, choosing to respond in English, with something of a Sharp, snappy "here's your key, off you go". Perhaps they just experience a few too many 'gringos' and simply cannot be overly bothered...? Completely different experience with the dining room staff at breakfast, so kudos to them!

The room itself was very comfortable, however we had asked for a double bed and were given two singles; as a gay male couple this occasionally happens. I think a lady on reception tried to address the situation with some subtlety ("is your room ok - would you like to move?") well...yes, the room is fine, if you're asking if we would like a double bed, cut the cryptic cr@p and ask! As it happened, we stayed with our single beds - after unpacking, we could not be bothered with switching rooms!

The room was a great size, clean and with a ceiling fan which was essential.

Breakfast was basic; toast with butter and jam, but served by lovely and attentive staff. Coffee, tea and juice refills were seemingly unlimited but only if you ask - you'll not be offered another coffee.

The hotels location is great; Miraflores is a home away from home (apart from the excessive use of motorists horns!). There are so,e great cafés and bars nearby (there is a side street near the hotel with a selection of great restaurants - cafe de la paz is a must!)

Anyhow, this hotel was good enough for its purpose - we wouldn't really have wanted to spend any longer here, but as a stop on the way or cusco, it as sufficient.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BenW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here twice on the same trip as part of a G Adventures Inca Trail group.

Tips for your stay:

Adjust your expectations of service and amenities. Other reviewers have mentioned poor experiences. I will say that my interactions with staff were all fine, if a bit basic. This is a third world country, and this hotel is a budget lodging in a heavily toured district. You will not get the Hilton treatment at this location. If you feel entitled to something more, you should probably cancel your stay here and book somewhere else. I was happy with the level of service provided.

The first room I stayed in (on the upstairs floor to the right of reception as you walk in, towards the back) was a but underwhelming. Bathroom was weird, fixtures were dated and a little mildewy and and beds were a bit small. However, it was more than adequate for one night. The second room I had (to the left of the reception, third floor, back of the hotel) was actually very nice and had a huge bathroom and bed.

Hotel safe, hotel storage, room safe, and restaurant recommendations were all spot on and a pleasure. The breakfast is basic. Ask for more rolls if you are still hungry. They proprietor will happily bring more. The juice and coffee are excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms to the left of reception seem to be MUCH nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The room was normal, medium quality bed, but nice and quiet on the top floor. Great showers. Decent wi-fi connection. Very clean and very safe feeling. And, best of all, they were really helpful when I showed up without any reservation during a busy period, checking until they had a room at a fair price. Easy walking down a main street to the central area of Miraflores, too. And sort of charming. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love22saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights as part of the G Adventures Inca trip. Basic hotel with basic facilities. But did the job since all I needed was a place to crash at the end of the trip and before taking my flight back home. The worst part of the experience was the shockingly rude behaviour of the staff - especially one of the receptionists called Oscar [--]. He was truly obnoxious and made the overall stay rather unpleasant. I appreciate the language barrier but being in the hospitality business, you'd expect a certain level of behaviour and there was none of that to be seen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel
La Paz Apart Hotel
#80 of 230 in Lima
105 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel El Ducado
Hotel El Ducado
#85 of 230 in Lima
277 reviews
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#78 of 230 in Lima
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Atrium Miraflores Boutique Apart Hotel
Miraflores
El Farolito Hotel
El Farolito Hotel
#123 of 230 in Lima
31 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £46 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing