We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lima Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lima Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This being our first time to Lima Peru we stayed @ Hotel La Castellana Hotel. A small cute hotel with charm. The one thing that stood out for me was one Hotel employee. His name is Renso. I think Renso must be the evening Manager. The thing I noticed about Renso was there were never any problems, only solutions. In the 4 nights on two occasions that we stayed here Renso would solve any guests or employees questions or problems. He took service to a higher level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    119
    96
    37
    15
See reviews for
34
97
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Someone else said this hotel is underrated and I agree. I had been dreading staying here as part of our a Gadventures trip and would have booked us into a different hotel if we hadn't had such an early start. Whilst simple/basic it is in a really great location, the rooms are spotless and the hotel spaces are all well maintained and very clean. The staff are pleasant and there was always someone on the desk. The only weak point is breakfast which is just toast and jam with orange juice and coffee - obviously adequate to get you going but an egg and cereal would have been nice.
Ultimately we got a good nights sleep and felt safe in venturing out from this hotel - I'd be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We have now soon travelled around the world, and to call this an average hotel is underrated. Yes, it is definately not a five star hotel, but the staff is excellent, they speak english, and the location is top notch! Could not ask for more, even in one of the safest neighbourhoods in Lima, Miraflores. Wifi not the best, but does the job. Stay away from room 6 as the parrot outside the window sounds like a woman been murdered:)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Birger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good location in Lima.Generally the hotel was perfect. I had a lovely big room but understand from friends that their's weren't so spacious. The breakfast selection could be better - maybe add some fresh fruit and the waiter needs to be friendlier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We checked into this hotel to start our tour of Cusco and we could not be happier it was only 42 AUD a night the staff were fantastic and we had a weeks worth of washing to do and there was a laundry right of the corner about 10 meters away.

The room and hotel was very clean with fans in every room and the rooms are well ventilated.

The beds are comfortable and pillows are fantastic it is very very quaint and quite hotel with a breathtaking court yard to relax and read a book or have a cerveza, it has all you want in a hotel, Wifi was ok with top floor being the best and the location.
It is close to the main area of Miraflores.

For the price i cannot complain rooms are a good size and showers have nice pressure, everything that is important here, they do very well.

The breakfast is limited to bread rolls, butter, jam and good coffee.

The staff speak English and are helpful.

If you are on a medium budget I highly recommend this hotel.

For other reviewers you have to remember this building is very old and well maintained so if the wardrobe is musky it's because there rarely used in regards to internet Lima has very poor internet services this hotel had the best connection and speed we had experienced in Lima and sacred valley.

One negative the rooms do have very poor lighting.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you do not like stairs ask for lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour, so not sure if this would be considered value for money by any measure... In any case, smell in the room was bad, echo from all other rooms, toilet flushed weird, etc. However, staff is nice and location is great, so if that if that is what u need, it is ok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxkarinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

In short, we were placed here as a tour, and we would definitely not come back ourselves.

Stayed here as part of a G Adventure tour group, for 2 nights total book ending the Inca Trail.

The rooms are musky, especially closet, not well lit. The wifi is spotty. One of our rooms had no signal in room, (you have to walk out in to lobby), and even when you can connect to router, you often can't get to internet. One night's room toilet drips too.

Had a disturbing episode with house keeping who tried to barge into our room at 1010am, despite that 1) check out is 12 midday, 2) DND sign is on, 3) we said (in English) we are still in the room. Did not feel terribly safe in the hotel.

Location is not bad, but there are plenty more hotels in the immediate vicinity to try.

Also, remember to bring your own shampoo.

I am glad they can survive as a tour agency hotel. But if avoid if you possibly can.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#67 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#47 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#42 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel & Suites
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#54 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Property: Hotel La Castellana
Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing