We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Castellana
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a room over looking the central couryard, very nice and quiet. Do not accept room number 1, unless you are a very sound sleeper, had this room the first night, they should turn it back into a storage location, as I am sure that this was it's original purpose. Close to restaurants, bars and shopping. Back in the day the hotel whould have had a certain charm, it still does in a faded way. The room was clean and rustic, but this is Peru. Breakfast was very basic, the coffee was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bikeorhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Castellana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Came here at the beginning and end of our G Adventures tour. Is in a good location in Miraflores within walking distance of the sea and the main square. About 30-40 mins away from the airport ($20 or 50 soles). Round corner from metro supermarket.

Staff were friendly enough and are helpful. We requested a double bed as we were on our honeymoon and we did get it when requested in person. Check in was very easy.

The rooms are ok size but very dark and dingy where the windows either face into a courtyard or another building. Electricity was constant and there was hot water in the showers. The room was basic but pretty clean.

Breakfast of bread, jam and butter with orange juice, tea and coffee included. Bag storage was free and secure.

Good basic hotel but we saw our friends' hotels which looked way nicer!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This being our first time to Lima Peru we stayed @ Hotel La Castellana Hotel. A small cute hotel with charm. The one thing that stood out for me was one Hotel employee. His name is Renso. I think Renso must be the evening Manager. The thing I noticed about Renso was there were never any problems, only solutions. In the 4 nights on two occasions that we stayed here Renso would solve any guests or employees questions or problems. He took service to a higher level.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Someone else said this hotel is underrated and I agree. I had been dreading staying here as part of our a Gadventures trip and would have booked us into a different hotel if we hadn't had such an early start. Whilst simple/basic it is in a really great location, the rooms are spotless and the hotel spaces are all well maintained and very clean. The staff are pleasant and there was always someone on the desk. The only weak point is breakfast which is just toast and jam with orange juice and coffee - obviously adequate to get you going but an egg and cereal would have been nice.
Ultimately we got a good nights sleep and felt safe in venturing out from this hotel - I'd be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have now soon travelled around the world, and to call this an average hotel is underrated. Yes, it is definately not a five star hotel, but the staff is excellent, they speak english, and the location is top notch! Could not ask for more, even in one of the safest neighbourhoods in Lima, Miraflores. Wifi not the best, but does the job. Stay away from room 6 as the parrot outside the window sounds like a woman been murdered:)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Birger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good location in Lima.Generally the hotel was perfect. I had a lovely big room but understand from friends that their's weren't so spacious. The breakfast selection could be better - maybe add some fresh fruit and the waiter needs to be friendlier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We checked into this hotel to start our tour of Cusco and we could not be happier it was only 42 AUD a night the staff were fantastic and we had a weeks worth of washing to do and there was a laundry right of the corner about 10 meters away.

The room and hotel was very clean with fans in every room and the rooms are well ventilated.

The beds are comfortable and pillows are fantastic it is very very quaint and quite hotel with a breathtaking court yard to relax and read a book or have a cerveza, it has all you want in a hotel, Wifi was ok with top floor being the best and the location.
It is close to the main area of Miraflores.

For the price i cannot complain rooms are a good size and showers have nice pressure, everything that is important here, they do very well.

The breakfast is limited to bread rolls, butter, jam and good coffee.

The staff speak English and are helpful.

If you are on a medium budget I highly recommend this hotel.

For other reviewers you have to remember this building is very old and well maintained so if the wardrobe is musky it's because there rarely used in regards to internet Lima has very poor internet services this hotel had the best connection and speed we had experienced in Lima and sacred valley.

One negative the rooms do have very poor lighting.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you do not like stairs ask for lower levels
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel El Ducado
Hotel El Ducado
#84 of 229 in Lima
271 reviews
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#74 of 229 in Lima
224 reviews
Miraflores
El Farolito Hotel
El Farolito Hotel
#124 of 229 in Lima
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel
La Paz Apart Hotel
#78 of 229 in Lima
104 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
#96 of 229 in Lima
189 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#194 of 229 in Lima
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Castellana

Address: Grimaldo Del Solar St 222 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Castellana Hotel
La Castellana Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing